Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 01:44:03 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: fit to witdth in firefox? (Opera feature)  (Read 2578 times)

urlwolf

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,797
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
fit to witdth in firefox? (Opera feature)
« on: January 28, 2007, 11:58:46 AM »
Hi,
You know this Opera feature, Fit to width:"automatically shrinks a web page to the current width of the browser. No more scrolling to the left and right. ". I can't find something equivalent for firefox. Do you know if there is a plugin for this?

Also:
search keywords: I never use the extra search field. I just type a keyword like g for google and start adding the phrases I am looking for. Other keywords I use are gg (google.de), a (amazon) auk (amazon.co.uk), imdb (selfexplaining), dict (dict.leo.org) or w (wikipedia). Add your own.

Can you do that in FF?

AndyM

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 616
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: fit to witdth in firefox? (Opera feature)
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2007, 01:19:38 PM »
Quote
automatically shrinks a web page to the current width of the browser. No more scrolling to the left and right.

I would like something like this also.

dk70

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 269
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: fit to witdth in firefox? (Opera feature)
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2007, 06:10:09 PM »
Firefox 2 cant zoom like Opera or IE7. Firefox 3 should fix this, dont know if current test versions are ready. Much requested feature so they better get it working.

Keyword searching is covered though http://kb.mozillazin...ing_keyword_searches for most searches all you have to do is rightclick in any search form, like the one on top of this page. Save those special bookmarks in a quicksearch folder or similar.

A few extensions can list keywords in sidebar or popup window, Ive used one of those, Keywordbar or something. However Smartbar is more useful http://forums.mozill...ewtopic.php?t=513292 Also limits need for organizing keyword bookmarks. If you use many searchengines try SmartSearch http://www.pitt.edu/...firefox/smartsearch/ read whole description.

urlwolf

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,797
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: fit to witdth in firefox? (Opera feature)
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2007, 05:23:13 AM »
thanks dk70,

it seems that smartsearches are not working if you use the delicio.us bookmarks plugin (which I do)...
hmm, let me try it in a portable version of ff with no plugins...
It works, a pity. I like the del.icio.us plugin too much.

dk70

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 269
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: fit to witdth in firefox? (Opera feature)
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2007, 05:37:15 AM »
Get a replacement but perhaps hard if you mean the big one from Yahoo https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/3615/ Breaking smartsearch or any build in features has to be a bug unless replaced with something better.

Dont think too much of the lousy points for Yahoo extension - just shows it is going through development, see "all previous releases at bottom". A fix is probably on the stairs.

Just create a new profile to test for extension mess. Sometimes they interact in mysterious ways. Have to disable one by one or better the opposite on new profile.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2007, 05:47:15 AM by dk70 »