Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 04, 2015, 02:53:45 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: MS Word2000?  (Read 4227 times)

chrisk

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
MS Word2000?
« on: February 20, 2007, 04:01:42 AM »
hi all,
has anybody out there had success "taming" MS Word2000?
would much appreciate to hear which settings work.

thank you for help and advice,
chrisk

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: MS Word2000?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2007, 04:47:28 AM »
has anybody out there had success "taming" MS Word2000?
would much appreciate to hear which settings work.

Anything in particular? I use the Office2000 suite at home, without too many issues  ;)

- Perry

chrisk

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MS Word2000?
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2007, 05:26:58 AM »
well, simply:
when W2K jacks up CPU to 100%, no "force to xyz"  setting of ProcessTamer seems to do anything at all.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: MS Word2000?
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2007, 08:54:54 AM »
When does word2k jerk up to 100%? O_o

It's one of the leanest word processors (with that capacity) I've used, it even ran fairly well on a pentium-mmx-200/64meg ram... I've seem some initial slightly-high usage when opening a document (spellchecking?), but apart from that...?

Describing when this happens might help finding a solution :)
- carpe noctem

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: MS Word2000?
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2007, 10:33:57 AM »
 ;D
Word 2k does jump to 100% on my computer, for the lammest reason ever. Suddenly, the ms installer had a problem when i installed a program recently. The installer would try to install office every time i ran that program. I used a program to remove the install files of office, and now every office program uses 100% of processor..  ;D ;D

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: MS Word2000?
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2007, 05:41:42 PM »
;D
Word 2k does jump to 100% on my computer, for the lammest reason ever. Suddenly, the ms installer had a problem when i installed a program recently. The installer would try to install office every time i ran that program. I used a program to remove the install files of office, and now every office program uses 100% of processor..  ;D ;D
Nasty.

Did you use any of those cleaning programs? Some of them mess up Windows Installer stuff badly, especially for office (and other apps) that can install features on demand...
- carpe noctem

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: MS Word2000?
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2007, 05:48:18 PM »
Yeah, good thing i don't need word anyways, only to check stuff people send me in emails ;)
No, i used one of those "microsoft installer fixers", which can be found in this thread.

chrisk

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MS Word2000?
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2007, 04:54:47 AM »
hi all,
...well, i have, quite honestly, simply never looked into it in detail, just learned to live with it (can't be bothered to fiddle around with billy gates' stuff...in the worst cases, i simply switch over to OpenOffice).
so, sorry, i'm still wondering whether maybe one of the other ProcessTamer users _has_ some settings for MS Word2000 which work.
thanks for any advice,
chrisk

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,969
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: MS Word2000?
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2007, 05:36:12 AM »
My experience of Office installers (2000, 2002 and 2003) is that if things get screwed there is only one real solution and that is to reinstall Windows and Office from scratch on a clean partition. No amount of fiddling ever seems to make a bad Office install better IME.

Best advice I can give is to do a reinstall and make sure you get a snapshot image before you do anything else so that you can always quickly install again in the future.