Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 19, 2014, 11:12:32 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: MS Word2000?  (Read 4010 times)
chrisk
Charter Member
***
Posts: 49

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: February 20, 2007, 04:01:42 AM »

hi all,
has anybody out there had success "taming" MS Word2000?
would much appreciate to hear which settings work.

thank you for help and advice,
chrisk
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,807



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2007, 04:47:28 AM »

has anybody out there had success "taming" MS Word2000?
would much appreciate to hear which settings work.

Anything in particular? I use the Office2000 suite at home, without too many issues  Wink

- Perry
Logged

chrisk
Charter Member
***
Posts: 49

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2007, 05:26:58 AM »

well, simply:
when W2K jacks up CPU to 100%, no "force to xyz"  setting of ProcessTamer seems to do anything at all.
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2007, 08:54:54 AM »

When does word2k jerk up to 100%? O_o

It's one of the leanest word processors (with that capacity) I've used, it even ran fairly well on a pentium-mmx-200/64meg ram... I've seem some initial slightly-high usage when opening a document (spellchecking?), but apart from that...?

Describing when this happens might help finding a solution smiley
Logged

- carpe noctem
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,717



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2007, 10:33:57 AM »

 Grin
Word 2k does jump to 100% on my computer, for the lammest reason ever. Suddenly, the ms installer had a problem when i installed a program recently. The installer would try to install office every time i ran that program. I used a program to remove the install files of office, and now every office program uses 100% of processor..  Grin Grin
Logged

f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2007, 05:41:42 PM »

Grin
Word 2k does jump to 100% on my computer, for the lammest reason ever. Suddenly, the ms installer had a problem when i installed a program recently. The installer would try to install office every time i ran that program. I used a program to remove the install files of office, and now every office program uses 100% of processor..  Grin Grin
Nasty.

Did you use any of those cleaning programs? Some of them mess up Windows Installer stuff badly, especially for office (and other apps) that can install features on demand...
Logged

- carpe noctem
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,717



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2007, 05:48:18 PM »

Yeah, good thing i don't need word anyways, only to check stuff people send me in emails Wink
No, i used one of those "microsoft installer fixers", which can be found in this thread.
Logged

chrisk
Charter Member
***
Posts: 49

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2007, 04:54:47 AM »

hi all,
...well, i have, quite honestly, simply never looked into it in detail, just learned to live with it (can't be bothered to fiddle around with billy gates' stuff...in the worst cases, i simply switch over to OpenOffice).
so, sorry, i'm still wondering whether maybe one of the other ProcessTamer users _has_ some settings for MS Word2000 which work.
thanks for any advice,
chrisk
Logged
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,958



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2007, 05:36:12 AM »

My experience of Office installers (2000, 2002 and 2003) is that if things get screwed there is only one real solution and that is to reinstall Windows and Office from scratch on a clean partition. No amount of fiddling ever seems to make a bad Office install better IME.

Best advice I can give is to do a reinstall and make sure you get a snapshot image before you do anything else so that you can always quickly install again in the future.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.034s | Server load: 0.01 ]