Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 02, 2014, 06:40:32 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Error with BDS 2006 concerning Indy 10... Help!  (Read 4523 times)
Renox
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 58


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 22, 2007, 06:09:30 PM »

I have a brand new install of Borland Developer Studio 2006 with a registered copy of Borland C++ Builder 2006. I go to create a new VCL form project and it opens. I add a component under the section of 'Indy Clients'; the component name is 'TIdFTP'... I compile it with defined properties or the default ones and it says, "Please specify the location for the header file"... Okay, no biggie I find the file entitled, "IdExplicitTLSClientServerBase.hpp" under the folder 'Indy 10'... It accepts that but when I go to compile it, it gives me an error saying, "#error Indy 10 does not currently support C++Builder" that was generated in the 'IdWinsock2.hpp' file as part of the coding supposedly... I have no idea why this is happening and I need to fix it because I need to use the "Passive" ftp property on this component for a FTP application ASAP... Plz, let me know if you have any solutions to this because I need to fix this as soon as possible. Thank you for your time!  cheesy
Logged
tchikien
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 34


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2007, 08:52:58 PM »

Quote
"Indy 10 does not currently support C++Builder"
.
Reinstall/modify your BDS installation, you must choose indy9 when asked to use indy with C++ Builder.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,294



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2007, 12:52:21 AM »

tchikien is exactly right (it does tell you this during install but it's easy to miss).

(ps. you might be able to download the latest Indy10 and build it for c++ builder yourself with a bit of work).
Logged
Renox
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 58


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2007, 06:32:43 AM »

ugh... another hour installation lol... j/k! TY guys for the help... Do you know if I will still be able to use the same components and everything or no?
Logged
Renox
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 58


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2007, 06:28:56 PM »

Okay... so I tried a fresh install with Indy 9 so that it would cooperate with Borland C++ Builder 2006... I registered the product... I opened BDS 2006... I Started a new VCL Project with a default form... I went to the same "Indy Clients" category and dropped another TIdFTP component and I get more errors... ON A FRESH INSTALL! I even went as to uninstall any earlier versions of the BCB to see if they were conflicting... I have rebooted several times... I, for the life of me, cannot figure this out... I have used google groups to see if anyone else has had this problem... I have found no information anywhere on how to fix it... So, I am at my desperate stage atm... Is there recommendations that you guys have yet? or any ideas as to why it might not work? Here is a screenshot of what happens when I compile the default form with 1 component that I just dropped onto it:
Logged
Renox
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 58


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2007, 09:11:15 PM »

Nevermind... I called Borland earlier and got them to help me fix it... They had to write a Hotfix for it... Oh well... It works now! That's all that matters!
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,294



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2007, 04:40:32 AM »

cool.

In general the error you get is easily handled, and you're going to see it again and again with other components.
It's nothing to panic over.

Sometimes a component is not configured to add ALL of its header file directories autoamtically.  So take note of the header file it can't find (IdBaseComponent.hpp), and go find it in the component directory, then open up the Project Properties, go to the directories tab, select Include directories, and ADD the directory containing the header file.  All done.
Logged
SkyIDE
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 244


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2007, 04:55:58 AM »

I am glad you solved your problem and I am sure Borland Technical Support was extremely helpful. Those guys are top notch!! They will never let you down. I don't know any other company so keen to help its customers.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.025s | Server load: 0 ]