Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 10:02:07 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?  (Read 38208 times)

Bubel

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #25 on: August 08, 2014, 06:58:46 AM »
Can I bump the thread? I have the same question that webdude posted.

stisev

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #26 on: April 29, 2015, 04:41:50 AM »
skwire,
You, mouser and NirSoft are really my heroes of these small pieces of software.

The best app I found so far (and I have searched!) is PangoBright for dimming, which works pretty much perfectly, except 1) no settings savings (thus can never be portable) 2) No hotkeys. 3) Development dead + no way to contact author


I want to bump what Bubel and webdude both asked for two and 'tritto' their request.


Here's what DimScreen needs:

1. A new cool icon for the system tray (to replace the hotkey screen)
2. Menu dimming (as requested above)


This is a great app and helps me immensely post eye-surgery :]
The hotkey support is an absolute GODSEND for me to control via Eventghost!

Thank you!!

user_bd

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #27 on: May 11, 2015, 05:18:15 AM »
:) Try this one.

DimScreen - Dim the whole screen.

Features:
- Change the brightness by selecting a % in the tray menu.
- Doesn't work properly with video windows.



You'll find the downloads and more info at 1 Hour Software by Skrommel.

It's far from perfect, slowing things down, and things are popping through, but it could work for example in night time navigation apps.

Skrommel

i get random high cpu usage upto 25% by dimscreen.clicking the tray icon fixes it. any solutions mate?

Epamitut

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #28 on: September 08, 2015, 07:19:56 PM »
Hi DimScreen forum.

I report system slowdown using DimScreen (official). :(
High load of CPU, eg: in Firefox, and DimScreen executed.

Summary:
Operative System
         Windows XP Professional 32-bit SP3
      CPU
         AMD Athlon II X2 240   39 °C
         Regor 45nm
      RAM
         2,00GB DDR3
      Motherboard
         MSI 760GM-P34(FX) (MS-7641)
      Graphics onboard
         E2040 (1600x900@60Hz) : Monitor
         700MB ATI Radeon 3000 Graphics (MSI) (driver installed)

               
« Last Edit: September 08, 2015, 11:41:08 PM by Epamitut »

endives

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
DimScreen is not functioning like a program Help please
« Reply #29 on: February 17, 2016, 08:21:56 AM »
Hi I just downloaded Dimscreen and "ran it" and it immediately darkened my screen/ But I don't know how to turn it off, how to change the brightness, it doesn't open like a program where it shows the program, settings, etc. It just says run and keeps screen dark.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,335
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Can DimSaver become DimScreen?
« Reply #30 on: February 17, 2016, 10:03:39 AM »
Hi I just downloaded Dimscreen and "ran it" and it immediately darkened my screen/ But I don't know how to turn it off, how to change the brightness, it doesn't open like a program where it shows the program, settings, etc. It just says run and keeps screen dark.

I just started using this lately on my win. 7 laptop.

The programme shows in the system tray (right-hand end of the taskbar).
Once you find it (you can hold the mouse over each icon to figure out which one it is), right click for options.


EDIT// it is a portable app so there's no install. Once you find it you might want to close it down and then move it to an appropriate folder, as opposed to running it from your download folder. (I use a 'Portable' folder on my D drive.)
Tom
« Last Edit: February 17, 2016, 10:11:17 AM by tomos »