Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 29, 2014, 07:55:32 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the Practical Guide to DonationCoder.com Forum Search Features
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: Grayscaled area of desktop  (Read 2984 times)
mateek
Charter Member
***
Posts: 68


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 15, 2007, 01:28:46 AM »

I have a program that is resident on my desktop, and a section defies the transparency settings the program provides.  I've set the font to a nice subliminal gray, but the icon, albeit small, is still distracting.  I imagine programming a section of the desktop to show in grayscale and then hidden when an active window opens.   An easier way might be to just create a slight increase in transparency in the set area.  The icon is 16X16 and might not even be noticed when the active window opens over it.  Would this be a worthwhile project for the programmers there?  Would I be the only beneficiary?  The program tells me my todo lists, etc., but could be useful for system monitors I've seen on some desktops, or a weather program with a stupid smiling sun, or something like that.
Logged

Stop war: GetAnd.   Mobile edition: AndAnd.
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2007, 11:26:18 AM »

 smiley Have you tried ResHacker at http://www.angusj.com/resourcehacker? Using this tool you should be able to change the icon.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
mateek
Charter Member
***
Posts: 68


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2007, 01:37:53 PM »

Thanks skrommel, but Reshacker didn't work on this one.  It's an icon attached to Outlook, and I found security built in, probably because they deal with emails, which I don't use it for.  I've got basically every icon in my startmenu switched with Reshacker, so I'm very familiar with it. 
Logged

Stop war: GetAnd.   Mobile edition: AndAnd.
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2007, 01:42:04 PM »

I'm not sure if it could solve it, but why don't you just hide the icon?
(i don't think i fully understand your problem)
Logged

mateek
Charter Member
***
Posts: 68


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2007, 01:47:14 PM »

It's like in an active desktop widget.  The little 16X16 picture isn't on the front desktop, it's on the background.  Sorry for the ambiguity.
Logged

Stop war: GetAnd.   Mobile edition: AndAnd.
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2007, 02:51:44 PM »

 smiley Actually, it should be no problem making this, if you can identify the window. Try using AutoHotkeys spy tool and see if it can get the name and class of the window it's over. If so, I can get the image, turn it greyscale, and paint it back.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
mateek
Charter Member
***
Posts: 68


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2007, 03:21:34 PM »

Thanks for your help!

Just clicking on the Desktop I get (I doubt you want this, but I'm clueless in this stuff):
>>>>>>>>>>( Window Title & Class )<<<<<<<<<<<
Program Manager
ahk_class Progman

By clicking near the on-screen display I get:
>>>>>>>>>>( Window Title & Class )<<<<<<<<<<<
DeskTask
ahk_class TFrmDeskTask

Is that enough information?

The program locks in position on the background, and when you unlock it that icon (or two or three depending on your preferences) is the drag facility.  Will that be affected? 

I went to their forum, and requested a new feature of an added separate transparency bar for the icons, but in the meantime, I'd love your solution.

I miss my old desktop, but a new used computer this month didn't work with the setup I spent many hours working on.  Your program will get me through the withdrawl.
Logged

Stop war: GetAnd.   Mobile edition: AndAnd.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.034s | Server load: 0.17 ]