Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 04, 2015, 11:34:33 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs  (Read 61359 times)

Betsy

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 46
  • I love Colorado!
    • View Profile
    • Dying for Answers
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #25 on: January 14, 2007, 07:56:52 PM »
I just downloaded Barnacle, and an error window of some kind keeps popping up.  The message is in German, so I can't read it.  It says "Fehler beim Erstellen des Fenster-Geratekontexts".  Can anyone advise me?

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #26 on: January 15, 2007, 11:29:40 AM »
 :tellme: I think it means something like "Failed to get the windows device context".

What operating system are you using?

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

Betsy

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 46
  • I love Colorado!
    • View Profile
    • Dying for Answers
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #27 on: January 15, 2007, 11:50:56 AM »
:tellme: I think it means something like "Failed to get the windows device context".

What operating system are you using?

Skrommel

Windows XP.

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #28 on: January 15, 2007, 02:48:22 PM »
 :tellme: German XP, or is there something in there you don't know about?

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

Betsy

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 46
  • I love Colorado!
    • View Profile
    • Dying for Answers
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #29 on: January 15, 2007, 03:42:47 PM »
:tellme: German XP, or is there something in there you don't know about?

Skrommel
Not German anything as far as I know.  I have no idea why this German message popped up.  It began when I installed Barnacle, and continued popping up every couple of seconds until I deleted Barnacle.  Very strange.

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #30 on: January 15, 2007, 03:51:44 PM »
 :tellme: Did Barnacle work at all?

My Windows is Norwegian, AutoHotkey is English, where does the German come from?

Could I convince you to start XP in Safe Mode? (Start your computer and press F8 every second until a menu appears, choose Safe Mose) Does Barnacle work now?

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

Betsy

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 46
  • I love Colorado!
    • View Profile
    • Dying for Answers
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #31 on: January 15, 2007, 06:19:11 PM »
:tellme: Did Barnacle work at all?

My Windows is Norwegian, AutoHotkey is English, where does the German come from?

Could I convince you to start XP in Safe Mode? (Start your computer and press F8 every second until a menu appears, choose Safe Mose) Does Barnacle work now?

Skrommel

As I said, I had to remove Barnacle in order to stop the error window from constantly popping up.  I had downloaded Barnacle and was getting ready to move it to the programfiles like the instructions told me to, but I never got the chance.  That's when the window started appearing.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #32 on: January 15, 2007, 06:23:03 PM »
Might be some other application that messes up - what other "always-on" applications/services are you using? Would be especially useful if you can think of one that might be done by a german company :)
- carpe noctem

DeXXus

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #33 on: January 27, 2007, 05:36:15 AM »
This Delphi Visual Component looks like a source for that type of message:
http://www.mswil.ch/...FConsts.pas&sc=1
Quote
SWindowDCError = 'Fehler beim Erstellen des Fenster-Gerätekontexts';
« Last Edit: January 27, 2007, 05:37:57 AM by DeXXus »

bliss

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 19
  • la la la-la
    • View Profile
    • bLisTeRinG soft
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #34 on: January 31, 2007, 04:14:08 AM »
Boo hoo! I'm missing out on all the fun. Could it be because I'm running win98se? If so, couldn't we make it work anyway? Maybe it's the way AHK thinks w98se can't see the middle mouse button (it can with intellipoint). I've downloaded the .ahk file but it'd probably be quicker if you did it.

The symptoms are:
   no errors (if it really won't work, there probably should be)
   no buttons, but the extra bar space is visible.
   no classid etc displayed after choosing 'show info'

If I really have to I'll look at the script myself, but I'm kinda busy trying to get my shutdown button to erase all those index.dat's.


   
Am we there yet?

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #35 on: February 02, 2007, 02:10:39 AM »
 :tellme: Does AutoHotkey's Window Spy tool work?

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #36 on: February 04, 2007, 08:21:05 PM »
skrommel, can i make a single button available for all programs? and also make it aligned with the existing toolbar, instead of a new toolbar?

bliss

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 19
  • la la la-la
    • View Profile
    • bLisTeRinG soft
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #37 on: February 05, 2007, 04:08:23 PM »
:tellme: Does AutoHotkey's Window Spy tool work?

Skrommel

Yep, it works fine. :)

Am we there yet?

bliss

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 19
  • la la la-la
    • View Profile
    • bLisTeRinG soft
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #38 on: February 06, 2007, 03:52:58 AM »
Quote
The symptoms are:
   no errors (if it really won't work, there probably should be)
   no buttons, but the extra bar space is visible.
   no classid etc displayed after choosing 'show info'
I edited the notepad.ini and deleted all but one button. Also  pointed it to the right place (in w98) for the icon...

Still no buttons.
Could it be the middle mouse button references? I could go thru and delete them from the ahk file. What do you think?  :tellme:



   
Am we there yet?

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #39 on: February 06, 2007, 12:30:24 PM »
 :tellme: @lanux128: I'm planning global buttons. No, toolbars are harder to control, as they are owned by the application. But it is doable...

@bliss: Does the extra bar change color if you tell it to? If so, it could be the icon loading...

All operating systems support GIF, JPG, BMP, ICO, CUR, and ANI images. On Windows XP or later, additional image formats such as PNG, TIF, Exif, WMF, and EMF are supported. Operating systems older than XP can be given support by copying Microsoft's free GDI+ DLL into the AutoHotkey.exe folder (but in the case of a compiled script, copy the DLL into the script's folder). To download the DLL, search for the following phrase at www.microsoft.com: gdi redistributable. - Quoted from the AutoHotkey help file.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2007, 12:34:47 PM by skrommel »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #40 on: February 06, 2007, 08:20:56 PM »
it's okay, Skrommel. i can manage until then.. :)
btw, can you figure out why in the screenshot, the toolbar's background is white, instead of #EBE9ED?

my ini file is like this:
[Settings]
class=Metapad
color=#EBE9ED

barnacle-scrnshot-1.png

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #41 on: February 07, 2007, 01:51:23 AM »
 :tellme: Try removing the #.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #42 on: February 07, 2007, 07:23:14 PM »
sheesh.. :o that did the trick, must remember to rtfm.. ;)

binaryshadow

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • http://binary.ifastnet.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #43 on: February 09, 2007, 12:08:32 PM »

Image deleted by poster - Sorry i just realized that the image i had made was an uncensored version of RTFM i hope i did not offend any members, and if i did i apologize for that.
                                                             http://binary.ifastnet.com
« Last Edit: March 15, 2007, 06:34:05 PM by binaryshadow »

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #44 on: February 20, 2007, 08:03:21 PM »
 :) Minor updated to Barnacle.

- 20070221 - v0.991: Now working with menuless windows. Corrected toolbar lengths.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

phillfri

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #45 on: February 23, 2007, 04:49:16 AM »
This looks like a great tool for workgroup level administrative enhancements.

Can the Barnacle images and toolbars folder be placed on a network drive so all workgroup users can obtain access if they install the executable on their computer? What would happen in that scenario if a user didn't happen to be on the network. Would Barnacle cleanly abstain from running or producing error messages?

Does Barnacle work with Office 2007 programs? The 2007 version of MS Office changes the concept of toolbars and totally and precludes any programming of the right mouse button click menu. This would seem to be a viable alternative. 

moongoon

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #46 on: February 23, 2007, 09:26:28 AM »
Looks like a very cool program.  Just as an aside, the icon images don't appear for me.  I'm using Win 2k SP4 with the reference GeForce FX 5200 drivers on DirectX 9

Steps to Reproduce Error (With above PC setup):
1. Download Barnacle to Desktop.
2. Launch Barnacle.
3. Open NOTEPAD from Start -> Run

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #47 on: February 23, 2007, 07:20:53 PM »
 :) @phillfri: So far it's hardcoded, but I'll put it in the ini later. But the source code is available. Office 2007 has dropped menus all together, and Barnacle can't even extract the proper window dimensions. So there's yet another Windows standard down the drain... I'll look into this...

@ moongoon: I've not tested W2K, anyone got it working?

Just uploaded Barnacle v0.992, adding System Menu selection, for minimizing and maximizing and more.

Skrommel



Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

rcollette

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Is is possible to do this in subwindows?
« Reply #48 on: March 14, 2007, 07:12:31 PM »
This is way cool, I was able to add a menu to the Lotus Notes Designer.

But now I am going to be greedy.   Do you think it might be possible to add a menu to a pane/class within the main window?   This sub pane is recognized by SnagIT, which can highlight the frame and capture the full contents of the proprietary text editor within the NotesSubProg4 class by scrolling the editing window.  The NotesSubprog4 class is also seen and highlighted by MS Spy++.

Pertinent Information is below:

Here is the active window information:
>>>>>>>>>>( Window Title & Class )<<<<<<<<<<<
(Untitled) - Script Library - Lotus Domino Designer
ahk_class NOTES

>>>>>>>>>>>>( Mouse Position )<<<<<<<<<<<<<
On Screen:   912, 141  (less often used)
In Active Window:   916, 145

>>>>>>>>>( Now Under Mouse Cursor )<<<<<<<<
ClassNN:   NotesSubprog4
Text:   
Color:   0xD8E9EC  (Blue=D8 Green=E9 Red=EC)

>>>>>>>>>>( Active Window Position )<<<<<<<<<<
left: -4     top: -4     width: 1288     height: 1002

>>>>>>>>>>>( Status Bar Text )<<<<<<<<<<

>>>>>>>>>>>( Visible Window Text )<<<<<<<<<<<
Icon Bar Host
Icon Bar Host
Icon Bar Window
Icon Bar Window
Icon Bar Window
Icon Bar Window
Icon Bar Host
Icon Bar Host
(Untitled) - Script Library
Test - Design - Script Libraries
New LotusScript Library
New Javascript Library
New Java Library
Recent Databases
View

>>>>>>>>>>>( Hidden Window Text )<<<<<<<<<<<
Paste
Help
Paste full text
Test - Design - Script Libraries

>>>>( TitleMatchMode=slow Visible Text )<<<<
Domino Objects for LotusScript and OLE

>>>>( TitleMatchMode=slow Hidden Text )<<<<
(Options)
LotusScript
Client
Domino: Classes

cracksloth

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs
« Reply #49 on: April 07, 2007, 06:27:39 AM »
i am particularly interested in skrommel's work managing mdi applications and simulating an mdi in applications that do not support it natively.  i assume that this could be used as a universal tab bar for switching between instances of virtually any program?  or hell, i guess you could even collect non-related programs together in a single tab bar.  this type of task grouping would be *very* helpful to me.  i agree that such a prog should be released as a separate prog but maybe you could borrow a good deal of code from barnacle.  skrommel, you are always amazing!