Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 24, 2014, 09:54:17 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2010! Download 24 custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE: Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs  (Read 54774 times)
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 05, 2007, 09:18:20 PM »

 smiley I need beta testers!

Barnacle - Add toolbars to your favorite programs .

Features:
- Barnacle is a global, programmable toolbar that fits inside any window.
- Change icons, add tooltips, left-, right- and middleclick actions.
- The actions can be keypresses, menu selections, button clicking and window actions.
- To find out more, choose Help in the tray menu.



You'll find the downloads and more info at 1 Hour Software by Skrommel.

It's actually a dream come true, so I post a bit early. Anyone care to test it and make an english Calc.ini and Notepad.ini? And there's lot's more icons out there: http://www.geocities.com/clipart03/OfficeIcons.zip.

Skrommel
« Last Edit: January 09, 2007, 06:39:15 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2007, 09:19:59 PM »

wow
Logged
tinjaw
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,926



I'm so glad breakbeat techno isn't an illegal drug

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2007, 10:43:19 PM »

This is really neat Skrommel.

Here are English versions of calc.ini and notepad.ini

* Calc.ini.english.txt (0.94 KB - downloaded 701 times.)

* Notepad.ini.english.txt (2.18 KB - downloaded 731 times.)
Logged

 
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2007, 01:13:28 AM »

 smiley Great! Thanks, tinjaw!

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,093


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2007, 08:42:51 AM »

Kjempeidé!!

Excellent idea, skrommel! This tool might just become a classic, great enhancement to a lot of applications!

Testing it as I write this Thmbsup
Logged
urlwolf
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,784



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2007, 02:45:03 PM »

This is a very good idea, I agree. Incredible what ahk can do.
I didn't even think that was possible.
Congrats skrommel.

The ahk source dies becuse it cannot find barnacle.rtf; running the exe version will create one, and the the source runs fine. Not sure if this is a bug.
Logged
allen
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,166



Powered by Beard

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2007, 04:52:28 PM »

Do you play Kingdom of Loathing Skrommel? I swear that icon is ripped right from the glyph for my favorite in game familiar tongue
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2007, 05:10:13 PM »

 smiley No, but there's much fun to be had with Office 2003!

Seriously, I am a bit unshure about the legality of the icons. I want to put them on the site so everyone can make their own toolbar, and share the ini files with the rest of us. It would really help if all had the same base icons.

tellme What do you think, mouser?

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
tinjaw
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,926



I'm so glad breakbeat techno isn't an illegal drug

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2007, 05:25:39 PM »

Unless they are part of a distributable package, it is a flat out no. If they are in, say a freely downloadable program, like Word Viewer or something, you can provide a link for people to download it, but you can distribute it yourself.

I would suggest using something like the Tango icons, or the ones from Open Office.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2007, 05:28:44 PM by tinjaw » Logged

 
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2007, 05:59:26 PM »

i think a video demo of this program in action might help demonstrate it's usefullness.  maybe josh can make one.
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2007, 07:13:58 PM »

 smiley Pondering over the icon dilemma, I found I couldn't load the png files of the Tango icons. But thanks to this, tinjaw, I found a much better solution for loading the icons!

Using AutoHotkeys image functions, it took me 30 minutes to accomplish what I used 3 days to do poorly in API!
Now Barnacle can use any available ICO, CUR, ANI, EXE, DLL, CPL, SCR, GIF, JPG, BMP, PNG, TIF, Exif, WMF and EMF files, and I don't really need to distribute a huge icon library!

Life is grand! Will post new version tomorrow.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
tinjaw
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,926



I'm so glad breakbeat techno isn't an illegal drug

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2007, 12:58:18 AM »

that's great news skrommel  thumbs up
Logged

 
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2007, 10:11:00 PM »

 smiley Try Barnacle v0.99!

Changes:
- 20070108 - v0.99: Added support for more image types and embedded icons. Fixed a bug showing the wrong toolbar when hovering over an inactive window.

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
tinjaw
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,926



I'm so glad breakbeat techno isn't an illegal drug

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2007, 03:47:27 AM »

I've seen how you made the changes to the architecture for the selection mechanism. That makes it less dependent on language. And the new way of using icons is well done too.
Logged

 
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: January 09, 2007, 04:13:36 AM »

So, what can you do with it? Is it like a "macro under a button" toolbar so you can do things that took 10 clicks from a menu in 1 click?
Logged

skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: January 09, 2007, 06:09:54 AM »

 smiley The next version will feature a more elaborate macro language, but so far you can only have one action pr button, or rather one action pr mouse button. But you can use AHK to make a program to be run...

Skrommel
« Last Edit: January 09, 2007, 06:17:23 AM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: January 09, 2007, 06:17:55 AM »

i've been holding out but i'll show my ignorance now (forgive me)...

can we use this to add buttons to things like photoshop or anything that has a title/menu bar?

if so then i think it's amazing - i just need to figure out how to do so.
Logged
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: January 09, 2007, 06:37:56 PM »

 tellme Oh, was my description that unclear?

Yes, with Barnacle you should be able to add your own userdefinable, programmable toolbar to any window, or rather inside any window. And a different one for every app. With your own icons and tooltips, and your own left-, right- and middle mouse actions.

I've also made a tab bar for multi document windows (MDI), but I'm not shure if it should be made into it's own program, or included in Barnacle. It could also be made to collect non MDI programs...

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,158



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2007, 12:43:36 AM »

This is nice stuff for Photoshop!
Donation on the way.

Quote
from the ini file: Menu,1&,3&         Activates the 1st menu item, then the 3rd menu item.
Please would you tell me how many choices are currently possible for the sub-menu? I mean in the example above could the 3& be 14&?

Is it possible, or might it one day be possible to get the menu to dock within the titlebar?

TO ALL READERS
Anyone interested in Photoshop (CS2) icons can find a link to what they need on this site: http://www.ambress.com/photoshop/index.htm.


Logged

Chris
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: January 10, 2007, 01:20:02 AM »

 smiley I think it supports unlimited number of menuitems 1&,9999&, but the AHK help file says six separate submenus 1&,2%,3%...6&.

By dock with the title bar, do you mean to be placed on the title bar, next to the min, max and close buttons? I originally made Barnacle as a movable toolbar, but decided it would be better to integrate it inside a window.

Skrommel
« Last Edit: January 10, 2007, 01:28:04 AM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: January 10, 2007, 03:12:07 AM »

i apologise for deliberately not understanding your initial description of 'barnacle', skrommel.

i think i'm just frustrated because i don't know how to create a toolbar. i'll make the effort later to try and figure it out. i'm just being lazy at the moment.
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,158



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: January 10, 2007, 10:13:41 AM »

Quote
Skrommel: I think it supports unlimited number of menuitems 1&,9999&, but the AHK help file says six separate submenus 1&,2%,3%...6&.
Thanks.  I was getting an odd behaviour due to something else.  I should get into AHK but, if I do, it'll mean dumping the macro software that I've used for years...and reconstructing all of my macros (I sure hope I commented those properly!)  I don't want more than one such utility running.

Quote
Skrommel: By dock with the title bar, do you mean to be placed on the title bar, next to the min, max and close buttons? I originally made Barnacle as a movable toolbar, but decided it would be better to integrate it inside a window.
Sorry, I wan't being clear.  Yes, I do mean placed on the title bar. 
There seems never to be enough screen space with image-editing software, no matter how much monitor real estate is available.  With Photoshop in standard screen mode the title bar is mainly wasted space.  For most applications, though, I think the integration into a window is preferable and it certainly works well with Photoshop in full-screen modes.
In a perfect world I guess Barnacle would toggle between the way it is now and being movable.

Thanks for your interest! 
Logged

Chris
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2007, 11:00:20 AM »

 smiley That's actually a great idea! It's just painted on anyway.

And mouser, there really should be a Post your toolBarnacle forum, sorted by application or something, so everyone could share their hard work! Or maybe I should add an Upload toolbar to Barnacle's menu?

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
briandorsey
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: January 10, 2007, 06:02:22 PM »


I've also made a tab bar for multi document windows (MDI), but I'm not shure if it should be made into it's own program, or included in Barnacle. It could also be made to collect non MDI programs...

Skrommel

Ooo! I've always wanted a way to put groups of applications into a tabbed window. Especially things like command prompts, etc.

I think that the ability to collect whole programs into tabs would be a useful tool.

Take care,
  -Brian
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: January 10, 2007, 08:30:36 PM »

skrommel, let me know your ideas on what you'd like set up.
I can set up a special forum section in your area for it, or we can make a wiki for it, or whatever you like.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.052s | Server load: 0.08 ]