Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 04, 2015, 06:15:38 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template  (Read 7036 times)

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,086
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template
« on: August 14, 2005, 10:26:02 AM »
Thanks for such an famos screenshot app  :)

May i suggest this:

Make the "Filename prefix" in the main window 'stand alone' from the template

- In template i have " Screenshot - %date% "
- in the "Filename prefix" i wrote NewApplication_

so i get an file name like "NewApplication_  Screenshot - DATE.gif"
instead of "NewApplication_ 002.gif"

So i suggest an new format sign %T% to use the template format
with  Filename prefix too, if one want this.
So "NewApplication_ " gives me "NewApplication_ 002.gif" only, what is nifty to quickly change the prefix,
and
"NewApplication_ %T%" will gives me "NewApplication_  Screenshot - DATE 002.gif"

But i don't like to have to add the template for standard
or that i must go to the settings and modify the template.

Just modifying the Filename prefix would be much more nifty.

How do you see that point ?

best regards
stefan

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2005, 11:25:50 AM »
yes i understand.
i will add the %T% field and an option to make it do what you say.

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,086
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2005, 12:30:35 PM »
Thanks.

Just to make that clear:

1.)
If the "Filename prefix" field is empty
==> use the template from Edit | Preferences | Templates

ELSE

2.)
If the "Filename prefix" contain something like an name part and / or an %placeholder%
==> use this only and include no template

ELSE

3.)
If the "Filename prefix" contain something like in 2.)
AND you want to use the template part
==> use the palceholder %T% in the "Filename prefix" field
to include the template too

ELSE

4.) if the "Filename prefix" field AND the template is empty
use "ScreenshotCaptor_%num%" for default filename part.

just thought.
stefan

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2005, 12:36:38 PM »
i was thinking also like this, in template we can have a field for prefix like %FilePrefix%

IF template has %FP% in it, then combine them and use that.
so if prefix = "myapp" and template = "Screenshot - %FP% - %date" then filename would be "Screenshot - myapp - Aug 14,2005"

ELSE
If the "Filename prefix" field is empty
==> use the template from Edit | Preferences | Templates

ELSE
2.)
If the "Filename prefix" contain something like an name part and / or an %placeholder%
==> use this only and include no template

ELSE
3.)
If the "Filename prefix" contain something like in 2.)
AND you want to use the template part
==> use the palceholder %T% in the "Filename prefix" field
to include the template too

ELSE
4.) if the "Filename prefix" field AND the template is empty
use "ScreenshotCaptor_%num%" for default filename part.


i think that gives most freedom, but we should probably rename it from FILE PREFIX to something like
FileQuickName or FileTitle

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,086
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2005, 01:12:55 PM »
i was thinking also like this, in template we can have a field for prefix like %FilePrefix%

IF template has %FP% in it, then combine them and use that.
so if prefix = "myapp" and template = "Screenshot - %FP% - %date" then filename would be "Screenshot - myapp - Aug 14,2005"

ELSE
IF prefix contain %T% AND template contain %FP%
MsgBox "syntax alert"  :)

Quote
ELSE
If the "Filename prefix" field is empty
==> use the template from Edit | Preferences | Templates

ELSE
2.)
If the "Filename prefix" contain something like an name part and / or an %placeholder%
==> use this only and include no template

ELSE
3.)
If the "Filename prefix" contain something like in 2.)
AND you want to use the template part
==> use the palceholder %T% in the "Filename prefix" field
to include the template too

ELSE
4.) if the "Filename prefix" field AND the template is empty
use "ScreenshotCaptor_%num%" for default filename part.


i think that gives most freedom, but we should probably rename it from FILE PREFIX to something like
FileQuickName or FileTitle

Than it's better the template and the prefix is the same and both are "mirrowed" and called just template  :)

The now called prefix field would be for quick access (and overwrite the template)
and the template is for menu driven compilations.

 :-\   isn't it ?

Stefan

---------

Maybe an drop down box for recent templates (for prefix and template field)
 (stored in the INI) would be nifty too ?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2005, 01:22:17 PM »
IF prefix contain %T% AND template contain %FP% then explode computer :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2005, 01:25:21 PM »
i think some people will want to use the quick name (file prefix) to OVERWRITE the template.
other people will want to use a template always but use the quick name to ADD some info.

for example, i like to have date on my files always, so i would like template to specify date and i use file prefix to add custom name to file.

but i think we can satisfy all desires if we do what we said here, which is to OVERWRITE by default, but if user wants they can add %QuickName% in template or %T% in the quick name and then it will combine them.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2005, 12:38:00 PM »
done.
see the latest experimental new-license version (http://www.donationc...ndex.php?topic=713.0)

(im not putting this in member download section yet because license keys are not easy to make yet, so this is just for experimentalists)

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,086
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2005, 12:59:45 PM »
Many thanks mouser  :up:

FYI

       the help talks about an uppercase T
but %t% works only with an lowercase t.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2005, 01:03:35 PM »
thanks let me fix so it works with both

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,086
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2005, 02:04:46 PM »
FYI
iam just testet


About %capturemode%

%capturemode% for "current screen" gives me the text "screeen" (3 e's)
%capturemode% for "active window" give me "object"
%capturemode% for "Selected Region" gives me "activewindow"
%capturemode% for "fixed Region" gives me "region"
%capturemode% for "specific object" give me "screeen" too


another test:

Active Window give me activewindow
Selected Region gives me activewindow too
Active Window again give me region
Selected Region from window and task bar gives me screeen
Selected Region from window gives me region

------------

BTW, the "ScreenshotCaptor.exe"
has no entrys for "Companie name" "Description" and "Version"
I see nothing in the properties or with Sysinternals ProcessExplorer.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Make the "Filename prefix" 'stand alone' from the template
« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2005, 02:43:39 PM »
thanks for the report - i will fix.