Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 12:53:42 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Feature Request: Automatically add border  (Read 5370 times)

zridling

  • Friend of the Site
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 3,292
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Feature Request: Automatically add border
« on: August 11, 2005, 09:03:59 PM »
I continue to be impressed with Screenshot Captor's agility and processing speed. One feature I'd kill to have with it is the ability to add a border. Nothing fancy, just a black 1-pixel border. Perhaps the whole palette could be offered, but 1-2 pixels would replace what I do with SnagIt right now.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Feature Request: Automatically add border
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2005, 09:09:00 PM »
sure ill add that, i love easy requests.

so you want border around entire image option? or around selected region?

did you try the shadow around image option? it's quite attractive :)

zridling

  • Friend of the Site
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 3,292
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Feature Request: Automatically add border
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2005, 09:51:52 PM »
Yes, I did, but at 1,1,1 setting, it seems like it's 1.5-2 pixels thick. And if I zero those values — Radius, Offsetx/y — the shadow is thick on the bottom and right sides, like a shadow should look! But a simple border would fix this.

KEYBOARD SHORTCUTS (Pretty please?)
(1) A keyboard shortcut is needed for the Add Border feature as well! ALT+B or CTRL+B perhaps?

(2) Consider adding a keyboard shortcut for the File > Save Image As option. Maybe ALT+A or CTRL+A.

(3) One last (small) thing: the Preferences dialog does not close with the ESC key, assuming I want to cancel my changes. That would be nice, though not necessary.

zridling

  • Friend of the Site
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 3,292
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Feature Request: Automatically add border
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2005, 09:57:23 PM »
Here is a couple of screenshots to illustrate exactly.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2005, 10:02:16 PM by zridling »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Feature Request: Automatically add border
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2005, 01:15:47 AM »
heh - were there supposed to be some screenshots?

zridling

  • Friend of the Site
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 3,292
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Feature Request: Automatically add border
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2005, 01:21:44 AM »
Yea, it was linked in the word "Here" above. Here it is:
http://www.anova.org/target/dcc/screenshotcaptor.htm

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Feature Request: Automatically add border
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2005, 01:39:41 AM »
my bad. damn eyes are not what they used to be.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Feature Request: Automatically add border
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2005, 09:08:59 AM »
i will add this in next release.