Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 10:11:08 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should  (Read 7919 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,412
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« on: August 11, 2005, 03:22:33 PM »
password corral,
http://www.cygnuspro....com/freeware/pc.asp

freeware(donationware)

found via http://www.lifehacker.com


vamp07

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2005, 11:07:17 PM »
Roboform is just so powerful in this area. I have never seen anything that even gets close. Aside from all it features it keeps each login it saves in an individual file. This means that if you need to sync several pc's (laptop, desktop etc) with the same roboform data it is trivial since it is not all kept in one big file that may change on both ends before the next sync happens. Add to that palm compatability, pocket pc compatability. Easily maintains numerous identities on and on and on.....
« Last Edit: August 30, 2005, 11:09:15 PM by vamp07 »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,412
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2005, 11:43:07 PM »
roboform is a great app, i agree.

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2005, 02:22:59 AM »
KeePass - The Open-Source Password Safe

Open-Source: 'cus others could re-check the source for security leaks,
so this soft should be a little bit more secure.

http://keepass.sourceforge.net/

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2005, 03:11:53 AM »
Another vote for RoboForm - it also gets better all the time with new bits and bobs added (like its customisable search engine in the current version).

Actually the application is so good it is one reason why Opera will never become a regular use browser for me (however good it is).

RoboForm works great in Internet Explorer and Mozilla based browsers (inc. Firefox and Netscape).

Also so far updates and upgrades have been free after the initial purchase of the Pro version.

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2005, 04:19:20 AM »
Passpack by DS Software (Dariusz Stanislawek)
http://members.ozema...etv/freezip/freeware

Not so many features but tiny - the .EXE is less than 15K - no-install, fast and free

--
Robert Bull

vamp07

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2005, 07:41:39 AM »
I have so many passcards that the other day I was looking for one that I was not sure I had/existed. I figured it must have a search function although I did not see it (it's right there on the toolbar in the form of a searc box). Thanks for the pointer You just made me feel really dumb...

I totaly agree about opera which I bought, used it allot and loved it till I discovered roboform. Add to roboforms virtues that it seems to work with any program that uses the ie engine to display pages. After antivirus, roboform tends to be the second app I install after I reinstall a machine.



Another vote for RoboForm - it also gets better all the time with new bits and bobs added (like its customisable search engine in the current version).

Actually the application is so good it is one reason why Opera will never become a regular use browser for me (however good it is).

RoboForm works great in Internet Explorer and Mozilla based browsers (inc. Firefox and Netscape).

Also so far updates and upgrades have been free after the initial purchase of the Pro version.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2005, 07:49:50 AM »
Add to this that RoboForm is now available in a form that can be used with USB sticks ...

Nighted

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 572
  • Meat Popsicle
    • View Profile
    • Nighted@deviantART
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2005, 02:03:32 AM »
Hi! I use a password manager also. I don't need an auto filler as I use Firefox and it does that job well. Anyway I use it to save passwords from software, forums, email accounts, whatever.

The one I use is called Oubliette. The author also has a few other excellent open source apps.



http://www.tranglos.com/free/index.html
I`m a firm believer in the philosophy of a ruling class, especially since I rule.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,412
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2005, 02:34:45 AM »
ps. tranglos.com is best known for their keynote program, a favorite of several people on this forum.

mitzevo

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 462
  • Control is power
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2007, 11:53:09 AM »
I use KeePass & RoboForm.

RoboForm is pretty much web based (i.e., for website logins) &
KeePass is pretty much a general password manager (but can also be used for websites ;D)

also they are both capable of storing text, things such as reg numbers, and other stuff - encrypted of course :)
The clock is running. Make the most of today. Time waits for no man. Yesterday is history. Tomorrow is a mystery. Today is a gift. That's why it is called the present.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2007, 11:58:54 AM by mitzevo »

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 677
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2007, 12:00:17 PM »
KeePass for my accounts and I even use it to login to websites. Also with KeePass you can attach files into each entry.
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

edbro

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2007, 12:21:41 PM »
I love Keepass but I have been copying all my stuff over to Evernote. Why? Because I can encrypt text notes in it and I always have it running.

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,397
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Do you use a password manager? if not, maybe you should
« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2007, 03:31:41 PM »
Another vote for roboform and an agreement that Opera will never make it to my default browser because of the fact that roboform cannot add support to opera due to opera's restrictions.