Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 28, 2014, 01:28:22 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the Practical Guide to DonationCoder.com Forum Search Features
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Emptiness instead of the forum content  (Read 6135 times)
gri
Participant
*
Posts: 95


Space Human

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: December 25, 2006, 10:17:25 PM »

After megasmf.com hosting account was suspended
the first post is not actual.
But not the rest topic posts.


Yesterday I have had a chance
to try connecting to my forum from another computer..

The connection was done
but instead of the forum
I watch the empty white screen in the browser window.

The pages of other forums I see as usual from that other computer.

Also I see my forum from my computer as it is expected.

What may be a reason
of my forum ~hide-and-seek~ playing
             with other computer ?

Here is the board index page
of my forum http://gri.megasmf.com/vitation/index.php .

Are here anybody
who see empty screen instead of my forum content ?
 
The forum is smf 1.1.1 utf-8.
The computer
    which have shown the emptiness instead of my forum
has Windows XP and Internet Explorer.

Which settings of IE may influence the effect ?
« Last Edit: March 19, 2007, 01:06:18 AM by gri » Logged

Your Gritoadmixes to Gri | Your Gritoadmixes to App103 | ~Gri to App103~
First Human banned by Simple Machines of the Earth
CodeTRUCKER
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,027



Bush Flying... where I'd rather be.

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2006, 12:15:30 AM »

Why the strikethroughs?
« Last Edit: September 26, 2010, 01:33:32 AM by CodeTRUCKER » Logged

I applaud those that refuse to commit "intellectual suicide."

Truth, unlike opinion, tradition, etc. will always be able to stand on its own.  Truth is not a static, but a living entity and will perpetually impart life; therefore, any "truth" that does not or can not impart life can not be Truth.

I am persuaded the only reason bad men have succeeded is not because good men have done nothing, but that good men did not do enough.

An Open Letter to My Friends


Notice: - Unless stated otherwise, I receive no compensation for anything I post here.
app103
That scary taskbar girl
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 5,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2006, 01:07:11 AM »

If you have the forum hosted with a hosting company and not on one of your home pc's ignore all of this, it doesn't apply to you.

Is the forum being hosted on a pc behind the same router as the one you were using while trying to access it?

In other words, are you hosting the forum yourself on one of your pc's?

If this is the case, don't use the domain name...it may not work.

This is a common issue when hosting from a home pc.

You might have to use the IP of that pc on your LAN in which your forum is hosted on instead of the domain name.

This would not be your external IP that the rest of the world would connect to...not the IP you have your domain name pointing to.

This would be the IP that is assigned to that pc on your LAN, which is different. (Check your router to see what it is.)

I run a web server on my home pc for various reasons. My daughter can't connect to it using the domain name I have set up for it. She must use this pc's LAN IP address instead.

It would look similar this for you:

http://192.168.1.48/vitation/index.php

(replace the LAN IP with the one for that pc which is hosting the forum)

This isn't an IP the rest of the world can connect to...only those on my LAN, those on my side of the router. The rest of the world on the other side of my router can access through my domain name.

See if this works for you.
Logged

CodeTRUCKER
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,027



Bush Flying... where I'd rather be.

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2006, 01:42:17 AM »

Ah!  my apologies, Gri.  I misunderstood what you meant.
You said it right... I read it wrong. Sad
What I thought you were saying was you saw the forum framework,
but nothing else...
just blank white where the links should have been.
Hope my advice didn't waste your time.
As for me, it's been a good day... I learned something!  Thmbsup 
« Last Edit: September 26, 2010, 01:31:22 AM by CodeTRUCKER » Logged

I applaud those that refuse to commit "intellectual suicide."

Truth, unlike opinion, tradition, etc. will always be able to stand on its own.  Truth is not a static, but a living entity and will perpetually impart life; therefore, any "truth" that does not or can not impart life can not be Truth.

I am persuaded the only reason bad men have succeeded is not because good men have done nothing, but that good men did not do enough.

An Open Letter to My Friends


Notice: - Unless stated otherwise, I receive no compensation for anything I post here.
gri
Participant
*
Posts: 95


Space Human

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2006, 03:24:38 AM »

Merry Cristmas !

If you have the forum hosted with a hosting company
and not on one of your home pc's
ignore all of this, it doesn't apply to you.


My forum is located at the remote hoster server now.
Thank you.
I will need these your cautions
when (and if) I will have my home server.

Ah!  my apologies, Gri.  I misunderstood what you meant.
You said it right... I read it wrong. Sad
What I thought you were saying was you saw the forum framework,
but nothing else...
just blank white where the links should have been.
Hope my advice didn't waste your time.
As for me, it's been a good day... I learned something!  Thmbsup 

I see no one element of my forum.. from that other computer.
The only symbols which intimate on my intentions
is the url in the browser adress line selector.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2006, 03:27:13 AM by gri » Logged

Your Gritoadmixes to Gri | Your Gritoadmixes to App103 | ~Gri to App103~
First Human banned by Simple Machines of the Earth
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.038s | Server load: 0.06 ]