Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 16, 2014, 04:23:43 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the Practical Guide to DonationCoder.com Forum Search Features
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished  (Read 37191 times)
DocSavage
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 62


Legend in my own mind

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: December 24, 2006, 08:07:08 AM »

When Windows starts, we see the desktop, making us think we can do something, when, in fact, all the "cagata" in the startup folder is still loading. Can you give me a green light to say "startup is finished now; get on with it!"
Of course, a display with a "gas gage/speedometer" indicator would be nice too.
dk
Logged

From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!
jacquesrober
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 39


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2006, 10:28:47 AM »

Second that. Great idea. I, am not always patient and I often start doing things before startup is completed, thus adding more delays.
Logged

JR
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,353



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2006, 10:33:17 AM »

Thats a really cool idea DicSavage.. (Welcome to the site by the way!)

I wonder if you could do it simply by have a program that runs at startup and checks for the first prolonged period of minimal cpu use.  Then announces itself, shows dialog, and exits.

Very very fun idea..  Would make a nice NANY challenge submission (http://www.donationcoder....um/index.php?topic=6231.0).

If no one else does it by then, i will.
Logged
DocSavage
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 62


Legend in my own mind

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2006, 11:55:43 AM »

Mouser,
I'm a little unsure of protocol here, are you saying I should move or copy my message over to the NANY forum?
dk
Logged

From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,353



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2006, 11:58:17 AM »

Nope - here is just fine..
I was just suggesting that one of the readers of this post might decide this is a good project to use for their NANY app.

This is one of those clever little useful ideas that is fun enough to code that it will get coded pretty soon.. now you just wait smiley

There are other things that could be added to this:
For example when windows first starts up, the file system directories don't appear to be cached, so the first time you open start menu or browse program files is slow.. might be fun to add an option that would sort of pre-scan common directories in order to bring them into the cache, etc.  In other words just do some things ahead of time to make it so that when the program finally reported that your newly booted pc is "ready for action", it was all primed and fast.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2006, 12:00:30 PM by mouser » Logged
DocSavage
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 62


Legend in my own mind

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2006, 12:14:02 PM »

Kinda' like some of the ideas behind your FARR, right? Perhaps there is a way to have a persistent list of 'oft used programs, to "pre-cache" them...
It is so KEWEL to see someone grab something & run with it...(all I wanted was a little traffic light in the tray.) Thmbsup
dk
Logged

From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!
brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: December 25, 2006, 09:20:18 AM »

No need to code something new, just install Startup Delayer!
--> http://www.donationcoder....um/index.php?topic=1399.0

That will give you a very good idea how far up Windows is *and* optimize it at the same time.
Logged

Thank you.
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: December 25, 2006, 09:37:04 AM »

This task is probably a bit more complex than it sounds...

there are multiple sources for run-at-start apps: HKLM run entries, HKCU run entries, services, per-user start menu startup folder, and iirc some ini files somewhere as well. Also, when are those "started"? Once the exe is run, or after they're actually done reading from disk, initializing, etc? smiley

brotherS: I wouldn't call that "optimizing", since it's symptomatic treatment... not saying it doesn't give a perceived improvement though, but it does mean it takes even longer before windows is fully booted smiley
Logged

- carpe noctem
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,353



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: December 25, 2006, 09:53:06 AM »

f0dder i think it's important to distinguish doing this EXACTLY and doing this using heuristics that work well.

while it might be difficult to precisely tell the exact moment all startup programs were launched, it really shouldnt be too hard to use a few heuristics to make a very good estimate.

for example, registering a program that starts on startup and checks for 5 seconds of no new processes starting would probably do it just fine.  super easy, no muss no fuss, and likely very accurate.
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: December 25, 2006, 10:01:04 AM »

for example, registering a program that starts on startup and checks for 5 seconds of no new processes starting would probably do it just fine.  super easy, no muss no fuss, and likely very accurate.
Would certainly work some places - but I've seen computers where some service (sometimes) take a while to load, postponing the rest of the system. It's hard coding up something that works reliably everywhere Sad

My own solution is to not boot more than necessary, and go fetch a cup of coffee - system's usually ready and kicking when I get back smiley
Logged

- carpe noctem
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: December 25, 2006, 10:34:49 AM »

sounds advice, f0dder. i hardly ever see my pc booting up but when i do i'm pretty disgusted with how long it takes. making a drink is just about the right time length.
Logged
tinjaw
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,926



I'm so glad breakbeat techno isn't an illegal drug

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: December 25, 2006, 11:06:44 AM »

I already have a way to do this.
  • Turn on computer.
  • Take coffee mug from computer table to coffee maker.
  • Pour yourself a fresh cup of coffee.
  • Grab a doughnut. (optional, but good if you have lots of services that need to start up.)
  • Return to computer.

You computer should be all spun up by this time.  Thmbsup
Logged

 
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,089



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: December 25, 2006, 08:30:16 PM »

for my kid's pc, i use nircmd's infobox command with batchrun to put up with a small message box so that he doesn't click all over the place while the pc is loading..
Logged

DocSavage
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 62


Legend in my own mind

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: December 26, 2006, 06:45:26 AM »

Here i am on a family trip- pecking away on my Palm Pilot- hiding in the kitchen - following this thread... thanks guys-it could have been a boring day!
BTW the coffee trip is my usual routine but I just knew you guys were NOT the 'if  it aint broke don't fix it' bunch,  / it is fun to watch you work.
Logged

From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: December 26, 2006, 11:46:44 AM »

 smiley Try this one...

IdleRun - Run a program when the CPU is idle.

Features:
- Run a program or show a message
- Change settings using Settings in the tray menu
- Shows CPU usage in the tray

To show when Windows is finished loading, just place a shortcut to it in your startup folder!



You'll find the downloads and more info at 1 Hour Software by Skrommel.

Some have reported problems with dual core processors, please let me know!

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
DocSavage
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 62


Legend in my own mind

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: December 26, 2006, 10:00:32 PM »

Skrommel,
This does not seem to work on my development machine, It flashes a box for a fraction of a second, then disappears. The icon is in the tray & I can open the options code.
(WinXP SP2, dual AMD Opteron 64, RAM 4 Gig, HDs accumulate to near a TerraByte)

Another network machine is being re built, I am just now getting SP2 for it, has single AMD Single core. I will try it on that machine in the morning.
dk
Logged

From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!
Jammo the OrganizedFellow
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 212


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: December 27, 2006, 01:27:46 AM »

@skrommel:
thanks for another amazing quick app!!
smiley

@DocSavage:
thanks for the brilliant idea that lead to my new app!!
smiley
Logged

As an aspiring web developer/designer, it is a constant struggle to cope with my ADHD + Hypomania/Bipolar Disorder.

The slow growth of my web dev projects is eclipsed by my patience, understanding and desire to learn AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE as I slowly progress.

X_____jamjammo_____
wreckedcarzz
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,620



Happy wolfie ^_^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: January 01, 2007, 03:12:20 PM »

A little off-topic...
when I reboot my computer (when did I do that last again?) I time it with my watch- if my computers aren't up and running in a VERY tight time period, I go insane (and take an hour or so to optimize every spec I can).
I do this in various ways with some basic tools (and some common sense), here are my startup times if anyone wants to know:

My laptop (Windows XP Professional w/SP2) boots up in about...
From shutdown/restart - 30 seconds MAX
From standby - 15 seconds MAX

My desktop (dual-boot Windows XP Home w/SP2 or Debian Linux Knoppix 5.0.1 HD install - booting Windows) boots in about...
From shutdown/restart - 45 seconds MAX
From standby 10 seconds MAX

So by the time I press the power button on either computer and sit down the computer is ready to work or play full-on.
(Now downloading Skrommel's new app (IdleRun) to see if that gives me a way for my computers to ding at me so I stop timing  smiley)
-Wreckedcarzz
Logged

New website! With a fancy domain name and everything! *gasp*
http://www.wreckedcarzz.com/
DocSavage
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 62


Legend in my own mind

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: January 01, 2007, 04:24:02 PM »

I have used it on three macnines for several days now & it works just fine. I have fiddled around with the "settings" file. I changed the parameters & changed the message to "do something!" just for fun. This little app does exactly what I had in mind.
dk
Logged

From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!
jacquesrober
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 39


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: January 09, 2007, 08:08:50 PM »

Hello, Skrommel,
Just downloaded "Idle Run". It installed easily in the tray and showed  -(minus) 97%. I clicked on settings,,, I am not into programming and cannot set anything. I came back 5 minutes later, and the tray icon was not there anymore but the space for it existed and showed -92%. Reinstalling the .exe did not bring back the tray icon. I have a dual processor (AMD 64x2 dual core 4600+). ??? I would love a negative CP usage. Is this what you referred to as possible problems with dual core processors?
jr
Logged

JR
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: January 09, 2007, 09:46:53 PM »

 Sad Yep!

Skrommel
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: January 10, 2007, 08:53:03 AM »

Skrommel: try adding a call to SetThreadAffinity to your AHK script and limit it to run on a single CPU core, that might solve the negative timings.
Logged

- carpe noctem
DocSavage
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 62


Legend in my own mind

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2007, 07:02:00 PM »

Skrommel,
What is an AHK script & where do I find it. Is it in there under the hood somewhere?
dk
Logged

From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,089



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: January 10, 2007, 08:19:07 PM »

What is an AHK script & where do I find it. Is it in there under the hood somewhere?
for a moment, i thought you were being sarcastic.. smiley
AHK script contains instructions that translates into action when it is executed. for portability, the script is compiled into an exe. that's why, if you noticed, there are two download images at Skrommel's page - one for ahk script, the other for the exe..

more info here: http://www.autohotkey.com/docs/Scripts.htm

Logged

DocSavage
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 62


Legend in my own mind

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: January 11, 2007, 03:51:25 AM »

OK, 'm gittn' ther. Baby steps, one at a time. Forgive my sarcasm, it was meant light-heartedly.
BTW, for my dual processor (not dual core) machine, I set the threshold level at
 -90% & IdleRun seems to work OK.

'm off to learn some secrets of AHK.

dk
Logged

From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.065s | Server load: 0 ]