Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 02:52:19 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished  (Read 40749 times)

DocSavage

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Legend in my own mind
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« on: December 24, 2006, 08:07:08 AM »
When Windows starts, we see the desktop, making us think we can do something, when, in fact, all the "cagata" in the startup folder is still loading. Can you give me a green light to say "startup is finished now; get on with it!"
Of course, a display with a "gas gage/speedometer" indicator would be nice too.
dk
From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!

jacquesrober

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2006, 10:28:47 AM »
Second that. Great idea. I, am not always patient and I often start doing things before startup is completed, thus adding more delays.
JR

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,952
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2006, 10:33:17 AM »
Thats a really cool idea DicSavage.. (Welcome to the site by the way!)

I wonder if you could do it simply by have a program that runs at startup and checks for the first prolonged period of minimal cpu use.  Then announces itself, shows dialog, and exits.

Very very fun idea..  Would make a nice NANY challenge submission (http://www.donationc...dex.php?topic=6231.0).

If no one else does it by then, i will.

DocSavage

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Legend in my own mind
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2006, 11:55:43 AM »
Mouser,
I'm a little unsure of protocol here, are you saying I should move or copy my message over to the NANY forum?
dk
From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,952
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2006, 11:58:17 AM »
Nope - here is just fine..
I was just suggesting that one of the readers of this post might decide this is a good project to use for their NANY app.

This is one of those clever little useful ideas that is fun enough to code that it will get coded pretty soon.. now you just wait :)

There are other things that could be added to this:
For example when windows first starts up, the file system directories don't appear to be cached, so the first time you open start menu or browse program files is slow.. might be fun to add an option that would sort of pre-scan common directories in order to bring them into the cache, etc.  In other words just do some things ahead of time to make it so that when the program finally reported that your newly booted pc is "ready for action", it was all primed and fast.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2006, 12:00:30 PM by mouser »

DocSavage

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Legend in my own mind
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2006, 12:14:02 PM »
Kinda' like some of the ideas behind your FARR, right? Perhaps there is a way to have a persistent list of 'oft used programs, to "pre-cache" them...
It is so KEWEL to see someone grab something & run with it...(all I wanted was a little traffic light in the tray.) :Thmbsup:
dk
From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,122
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #6 on: December 25, 2006, 09:20:18 AM »
No need to code something new, just install Startup Delayer!
--> http://www.donationc...dex.php?topic=1399.0

That will give you a very good idea how far up Windows is *and* optimize it at the same time.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #7 on: December 25, 2006, 09:37:04 AM »
This task is probably a bit more complex than it sounds...

there are multiple sources for run-at-start apps: HKLM run entries, HKCU run entries, services, per-user start menu startup folder, and iirc some ini files somewhere as well. Also, when are those "started"? Once the exe is run, or after they're actually done reading from disk, initializing, etc? :)

brotherS: I wouldn't call that "optimizing", since it's symptomatic treatment... not saying it doesn't give a perceived improvement though, but it does mean it takes even longer before windows is fully booted :)
- carpe noctem

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,952
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #8 on: December 25, 2006, 09:53:06 AM »
f0dder i think it's important to distinguish doing this EXACTLY and doing this using heuristics that work well.

while it might be difficult to precisely tell the exact moment all startup programs were launched, it really shouldnt be too hard to use a few heuristics to make a very good estimate.

for example, registering a program that starts on startup and checks for 5 seconds of no new processes starting would probably do it just fine.  super easy, no muss no fuss, and likely very accurate.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #9 on: December 25, 2006, 10:01:04 AM »
for example, registering a program that starts on startup and checks for 5 seconds of no new processes starting would probably do it just fine.  super easy, no muss no fuss, and likely very accurate.
Would certainly work some places - but I've seen computers where some service (sometimes) take a while to load, postponing the rest of the system. It's hard coding up something that works reliably everywhere :(

My own solution is to not boot more than necessary, and go fetch a cup of coffee - system's usually ready and kicking when I get back :)
- carpe noctem

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #10 on: December 25, 2006, 10:34:49 AM »
sounds advice, f0dder. i hardly ever see my pc booting up but when i do i'm pretty disgusted with how long it takes. making a drink is just about the right time length.

tinjaw

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,927
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #11 on: December 25, 2006, 11:06:44 AM »
I already have a way to do this.
  • Turn on computer.
  • Take coffee mug from computer table to coffee maker.
  • Pour yourself a fresh cup of coffee.
  • Grab a doughnut. (optional, but good if you have lots of services that need to start up.)
  • Return to computer.

You computer should be all spun up by this time.  :Thmbsup:

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #12 on: December 25, 2006, 08:30:16 PM »
for my kid's pc, i use nircmd's infobox command with batchrun to put up with a small message box so that he doesn't click all over the place while the pc is loading..

DocSavage

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Legend in my own mind
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #13 on: December 26, 2006, 06:45:26 AM »
Here i am on a family trip- pecking away on my Palm Pilot- hiding in the kitchen - following this thread... thanks guys-it could have been a boring day!
BTW the coffee trip is my usual routine but I just knew you guys were NOT the 'if  it aint broke don't fix it' bunch,  / it is fun to watch you work.
From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #14 on: December 26, 2006, 11:46:44 AM »
 :) Try this one...

IdleRun - Run a program when the CPU is idle.

Features:
- Run a program or show a message
- Change settings using Settings in the tray menu
- Shows CPU usage in the tray

To show when Windows is finished loading, just place a shortcut to it in your startup folder!



You'll find the downloads and more info at 1 Hour Software by Skrommel.

Some have reported problems with dual core processors, please let me know!

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

DocSavage

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Legend in my own mind
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #15 on: December 26, 2006, 10:00:32 PM »
Skrommel,
This does not seem to work on my development machine, It flashes a box for a fraction of a second, then disappears. The icon is in the tray & I can open the options code.
(WinXP SP2, dual AMD Opteron 64, RAM 4 Gig, HDs accumulate to near a TerraByte)

Another network machine is being re built, I am just now getting SP2 for it, has single AMD Single core. I will try it on that machine in the morning.
dk
From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!

Jammo the OrganizedFellow

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 212
    • View Profile
    • OrganizedFellow
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #16 on: December 27, 2006, 01:27:46 AM »
@skrommel:
thanks for another amazing quick app!!
:)

@DocSavage:
thanks for the brilliant idea that lead to my new app!!
:)
As an aspiring web developer/designer, it is a constant struggle to cope with my ADHD + Hypomania/Bipolar Disorder.

The slow growth of my web dev projects is eclipsed by my patience, understanding and desire to learn AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE as I slowly progress.

X_____jamjammo_____

wreckedcarzz

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,623
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #17 on: January 01, 2007, 03:12:20 PM »
A little off-topic...
when I reboot my computer (when did I do that last again?) I time it with my watch- if my computers aren't up and running in a VERY tight time period, I go insane (and take an hour or so to optimize every spec I can).
I do this in various ways with some basic tools (and some common sense), here are my startup times if anyone wants to know:

My laptop (Windows XP Professional w/SP2) boots up in about...
From shutdown/restart - 30 seconds MAX
From standby - 15 seconds MAX

My desktop (dual-boot Windows XP Home w/SP2 or Debian Linux Knoppix 5.0.1 HD install - booting Windows) boots in about...
From shutdown/restart - 45 seconds MAX
From standby 10 seconds MAX

So by the time I press the power button on either computer and sit down the computer is ready to work or play full-on.
(Now downloading Skrommel's new app (IdleRun) to see if that gives me a way for my computers to ding at me so I stop timing  :))
-Wreckedcarzz

DocSavage

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Legend in my own mind
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #18 on: January 01, 2007, 04:24:02 PM »
I have used it on three macnines for several days now & it works just fine. I have fiddled around with the "settings" file. I changed the parameters & changed the message to "do something!" just for fun. This little app does exactly what I had in mind.
dk
From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!

jacquesrober

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #19 on: January 09, 2007, 08:08:50 PM »
Hello, Skrommel,
Just downloaded "Idle Run". It installed easily in the tray and showed  -(minus) 97%. I clicked on settings,,, I am not into programming and cannot set anything. I came back 5 minutes later, and the tray icon was not there anymore but the space for it existed and showed -92%. Reinstalling the .exe did not bring back the tray icon. I have a dual processor (AMD 64x2 dual core 4600+). ??? I would love a negative CP usage. Is this what you referred to as possible problems with dual core processors?
jr
JR

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #20 on: January 09, 2007, 09:46:53 PM »
 :( Yep!

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #21 on: January 10, 2007, 08:53:03 AM »
Skrommel: try adding a call to SetThreadAffinity to your AHK script and limit it to run on a single CPU core, that might solve the negative timings.
- carpe noctem

DocSavage

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Legend in my own mind
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2007, 07:02:00 PM »
Skrommel,
What is an AHK script & where do I find it. Is it in there under the hood somewhere?
dk
From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #23 on: January 10, 2007, 08:19:07 PM »
What is an AHK script & where do I find it. Is it in there under the hood somewhere?
for a moment, i thought you were being sarcastic.. :)
AHK script contains instructions that translates into action when it is executed. for portability, the script is compiled into an exe. that's why, if you noticed, there are two download images at Skrommel's page - one for ahk script, the other for the exe..

more info here: http://www.autohotke...com/docs/Scripts.htm


DocSavage

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Legend in my own mind
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: an indication that "start-up" is finished
« Reply #24 on: January 11, 2007, 03:51:25 AM »
OK, 'm gittn' ther. Baby steps, one at a time. Forgive my sarcasm, it was meant light-heartedly.
BTW, for my dual processor (not dual core) machine, I set the threshold level at
 -90% & IdleRun seems to work OK.

'm off to learn some secrets of AHK.

dk
From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!