Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 25, 2014, 12:29:17 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2010! Download 24 custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Latest FARR v2.00.140 ALPHA PREVIEW Release - Aug 15, 2007  (Read 330270 times)
johi
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #700 on: July 06, 2007, 06:39:33 AM »

feature request: for the alt+#, shift+# and ctrl+# give an option to insert the number instead of launching an item with the "digit keys launch..."-option enabled
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #701 on: July 06, 2007, 10:22:55 AM »

Properties menu item should do exactly what Shell Context Menu -> Properties does.  Seems to work for me here -- maybe there is some cases where it's not working? If anyone can figure out more clues on when it doesn't work let me know.

Search for all matches -- i'm actually removing this from the menu, but you can get the same results by adding +sall to your search string.  It only has an effect when your search results have more than the number of results you have configured to display.  So for example you might normally show only the top 9 results, but when you use +sall you could get a hundred..
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #702 on: July 06, 2007, 10:27:03 AM »

johi, that's actually a pretty good idea.
Logged
Veign
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 993



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #703 on: July 06, 2007, 03:18:28 PM »

Small issue with the option window and overlapping buttons when the window is expanded.  See image



* option_buttons.jpg (62.87 KB, 713x508 - viewed 275 times.)
Logged

Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,680



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #704 on: July 06, 2007, 08:27:20 PM »

I am not a regex expert, and so it took me a while to understand why my alias list blanked out... It's the "√Ę" character. But, strangely, the "eot√Ęsp" doesn't cause any problems. Anyhow. If someone knows why...

P.S. Mouser, by the way : since you fixed the "farr hanging" bug, I haven't got one BSOD. It could be just coincidence, but doesn't seem like it... ( 98% of the time, BSODs happened while using FARR) I am now a VERY happy camper.
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #705 on: July 06, 2007, 08:35:18 PM »

well i'm very happy to hear that regarding bsod.

if you send me the alias file and a description of how to reproduce the problem i shall have a look (mouser@donationcoder.com)

ps. thanks for the report veign, its been fixed in the new version i have not uploaded yet.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #706 on: July 07, 2007, 04:52:11 PM »

v2.00.125 is now up with a lot of bugfixes.
bugfixing will continue on the way to official public release this month.

note1: the updater will find and install this update for you.
note2: this version comes with all of taichi's new amazing plugins, as well as plugins from me and hamradio.
Logged
rssapphire
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 58


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #707 on: July 07, 2007, 10:24:44 PM »

v2.00.125 is now up with a lot of bugfixes.
bugfixing will continue on the way to official public release this month.

Sadly, I have to report that the bug that has the FARR window remaining on the screen (collapsed back to just the search edit line without results) after selecting a result with the mouse is back in .125. ohmy
Logged

RetroRoleplaying -- Tabletop Roleplaying Games Before D20
Software Gadgets Blog -- Interesting Software, Mostly Free
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #708 on: July 07, 2007, 10:38:17 PM »

after double clicking to launch a result?
does it matter if you are launching a file result or an alias?
remind me again the details please
« Last Edit: July 07, 2007, 10:42:21 PM by mouser » Logged
brahman
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 132


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #709 on: July 08, 2007, 05:06:03 AM »

Hi,

great work, Mouser! Thmbsup

One thing I am missing (I believe it was in previous releases) is the tooltip when f.e. the full name of the file does not fit in the column.

It is important, because I work with very long names for my Start Menu shortcuts, which explain in detail what the many sw do best.

Thanks. smiley

Brahman
Logged

Regards, Brahman
rssapphire
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 58


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #710 on: July 08, 2007, 07:18:44 AM »

after double clicking to launch a result?

Exactly. I double-click to launch a result and FARR doesn't go away completely. If shrinks to just the search area (and will not accept any input into the edit line, even though the cursor there is flashing away)

Quote
does it matter if you are launching a file result or an alias?

Aliases that launch something have the problem.  The run alias, for example.

Quote
remind me again the details please

I hit alt-space to bring up FARR. I type text and double-click on Textpad in the result window.



Textpad opens as expected, but the FARR window does not go away, it just shrinks, shedding the results, and just showing the edit line for entering a search term. The cursor is flasshing in the edit line, but you can't actually type anything. You can manually close the window -- which seems to be the only way to make it go away.

Logged

RetroRoleplaying -- Tabletop Roleplaying Games Before D20
Software Gadgets Blog -- Interesting Software, Mostly Free
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #711 on: July 08, 2007, 07:23:04 AM »

And to confirm, it was fixed in the previous release you had?
Logged
JeffC
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #712 on: July 08, 2007, 09:00:30 AM »

I have just installed and am now running version .125 alpha.  I am getting similar behaviour - when I double click on a name in the main display the Find and Run application goes to the small window and stays - I have to press the close 'X' in the upper right corner of it's window.  It launches the program correctly, and I do NOT get this behaviour when I use a function key to launch or cursor down to the program name and press ENTER.

I first noticed this behaviour several releases ago - assumed it was something I was doing wrong (It usually is - on the computer and in life!) and was only a minor annoyance in a fabulously useful program.  I had the impression that .122 stopped this behaviour, but still got it on 1 or 2 occasions (and I wasn't paying attention to how I was launching the programs on those occasions; I was a BAD tester - I was actually enjoying using the program) but it's behaviour that is certainly there now on my machine.

I am running XP Pro SP2 if that's of any use.

Jeff Cranford
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #713 on: July 08, 2007, 09:02:59 AM »

i changed a couple of things that could have revived this problem, but the absolute easiest way for me to fix it is if someone knows an older version that doesn't exhibit this behavior.
Logged
JeffC
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #714 on: July 08, 2007, 09:06:23 AM »

I will dig up my backup USB drive and see if my obsessive nature has led me to back up some of the earlier alpha versions and I will try uninstalling the current version and see if I can find a version that doesn't do this on my machine.

Jeff
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #715 on: July 08, 2007, 09:08:42 AM »

What is really very weird is that on the version previous to the last one, i was observing that wrong behaviour, and now farr is perfect...
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #716 on: July 08, 2007, 09:10:59 AM »

i can provide the previous version if rssapphire thinks it was working before this one.
Logged
JeffC
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #717 on: July 08, 2007, 09:24:53 AM »

I was able to find back versions: I had .60, .62, .78, .82, .108, .117, .122, and .125.  ALL of the versions keep Find and Run Robot running on the taskbar when I double click on the program name in the main file area.  However, there WAS a difference in behaviour between versions .82 and .108.  Prior to version .108 when I double click, FARR's window goes to the small window briefly, jumps back to the larger size with the filenames below and THEN runs the program I selected.  From version .108 on it just shrinks to the edit box and then runs the program.

Hope this helps.  I'm going to reinstall the most recent version again now - I'm addicted.

Jeff.
Logged
rssapphire
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 58


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #718 on: July 08, 2007, 11:04:53 AM »

i changed a couple of things that could have revived this problem, but the absolute easiest way for me to fix it is if someone knows an older version that doesn't exhibit this behavior.

I'm pretty sure it was .120 or .121 that worked fine as that's when I posted a message that the problem was gone. There were several autoupdates after that before I had to select an item other that the first one, so I'm not sure when it actually broke again.  (I have FARR set to give highest scores to a directory of shortcuts to my most used programs and files so most of the time what I want is the first item and I just hit enter.)

Logged

RetroRoleplaying -- Tabletop Roleplaying Games Before D20
Software Gadgets Blog -- Interesting Software, Mostly Free
brahman
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 132


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #719 on: July 11, 2007, 01:48:10 PM »

Hi Mouser,

thank you so much for adding the tooltips so quickly.

Works beautiful! Helps a lot to keep the window small yet see the whole thing.

Great!  Thmbsup

Regards,

Brahman
Logged

Regards, Brahman
Liquidmantis
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 64


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #720 on: July 12, 2007, 11:06:45 AM »

Quote
@Mouser - I accidentally discovered that it seems possible to load two instances of FARR simultaneously, or at least, end up with two FARR icons in the system tray.  Should it trap that?

yep, on my todo list.

Wait!  Please make it an option to have multiple instances if you do "fix" it.  I run FindAndRunRobot.exe locally on my systems but have FindAndRunRobotUSB.exe autorun from my utility program flash drive for portability.
Logged
jack99999
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 20

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #721 on: July 13, 2007, 08:34:20 AM »

this is mostly super stuff. thanks!

i do have a problem with the incremental searching.

i get times then the list update takes ages. the problem seems to be most evident when i type a couple of letters, such as 'ho', and then realise i got it wrong, so i delete the 'o'... i then have to wait about 10 seconds for a screen update.

it feels as though i should be able to set something that says 'don't do incremental searching below a threshold of n characters' and then i could set it to 3 and everything would be fine.


jack
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #722 on: July 13, 2007, 08:56:00 AM »

jack, what version are you using?
Logged
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,889



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #723 on: July 13, 2007, 08:56:08 AM »

Try changing some of the parameters in the highlighted area in the screenshot. These are my settings to speed FARR up (don't load results > 9 cos you can't see them anyway etc.) and they make FARR a bit faster than the default settings.
Logged

brahman
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 132


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #724 on: July 13, 2007, 10:12:23 AM »

Hmmm.....

what is the "extended results list"?  embarassed

If I set "max entries to reply in normal results" to 9, that's all I ever get to see.

In the Help, Results Window Operation there is a screen shot which shows "search for all matches" but not so in my context menu.I thought that may be a way to display more results on demand, but it is not there.

What have I misconfigured?  huh

Regards,

Brahman
Logged

Regards, Brahman
Pages: Prev 1 ... 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.048s | Server load: 0.32 ]