Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 24, 2014, 10:24:28 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 ... 35 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Latest FARR v2.00.140 ALPHA PREVIEW Release - Aug 15, 2007  (Read 324928 times)
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,177



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #575 on: May 21, 2007, 09:14:58 AM »

thanks john, i should have a new alpha out this week with some fixes including this one.
Logged
jsturtridge
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 8


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #576 on: May 23, 2007, 03:11:57 AM »

I know it's late for new feature requests - but I find myself typing a lot of command strings multiple times.  I use FARR as my main launcher (for programs, files and websites) and it would be really handy if as well as FARR doing its search of files, folders, aliases, it also searched its own history.

So say yesterday I opened a PowerPoint file and I want to open it again today - it would display both the matching files (as it normally does) and yesterday's entry so I can launch it again quickly.  As an alternative - you might want to introduce an alias like +hist which searches the history and matches the next string with something in the history.

Thanks again for a really great launcher.

Jon.
Logged
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #577 on: May 23, 2007, 03:21:50 AM »

It already does search its own history smiley Have a look at the Launch History tab. Maybe you'll want to increase history related entries in the Heuristic Scoring section of the advanced options. This way matches from your history will get more priority.
Logged

jsturtridge
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 8


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #578 on: May 23, 2007, 04:07:48 AM »

Ah gotcha - but it doesn't work with aliases (or at least one in particular) ... ??  Sad

For example: I type http://news.bbc.co.uk and it finds the alias "surf" and quite rightly launches the news.bbc.co.uk webpage - hooray.  So I start typing "http://news" again and I would expect it to find the "http://news.bbc.co.uk" that I typed in earlier - but it doesn't find anything.

Am I missing something or is there a restriction about which type of history is searched?

Jon.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2007, 04:20:06 AM by jsturtridge » Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #579 on: May 23, 2007, 07:42:10 AM »

Actually, good thing you mention history.
I think that this bug related to searching in farr's history still presists...
Logged

cnewtonne
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 115

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #580 on: May 24, 2007, 08:36:26 AM »

Mouser,
I wanted to see if this is doable in the current release of FARR. Most apps that provide a search-as-u-type feature, provide an option where user can control the delay between end of typing and start of search in ms. This delay is basically ms that pass where KB is idle. This way I do not have to be racing along with FARR and sometimes stepping on each other's toes.

What do you think?
Logged
jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #581 on: May 26, 2007, 01:54:43 PM »

Jesse,

I continue to face problems with the latest FARR V2.00.82 Alpha!

As mentioned previously, I have installed this on both the PC's at home and at work.
Since I do not have any issues with this version of FARR at work, I will confine myself with the problems I face on my home PC.

After installation ( I exit from the tray first as adviced) the application runs without any hitch for a couple of days.
I turn off the PC each day before going to bed.
A few days later when I start the PC, I find FARR icon missing in my system tray!

Even if I try to run it from Start/Programs, FARR does not start.
I have to painfully uninstall, manually remove some folders and files related to FARR (Some are unable to be removed),
restart the PC and install the program all over again.
Then after a few days, FARR is again missing from the system tray.

No idea what is going on!

I've tried Launchy and othere similar programs but FARR is 'Farr' away the best!  smiley
I love this program and would appreciate any one's help in resolving this issue.
I am now using the stable version v1.13.01 and would like to use the latest Alpha
Thanks in advance!

Jay
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #582 on: May 26, 2007, 02:19:00 PM »

jnulu, use the TaskManager to see if Farr is already running but fails to appear on the screen, that may provide some clues..

Logged

jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #583 on: May 26, 2007, 04:12:09 PM »

I just checked the Task Manager and found it to show that I am running the Alpha version 2.00.82, when I know that I am running only the stable version v1.13.02. To double check, I right click on the FARR icon in the tray and choose 'About' which confirms that I am running the stable version v1.13.02.
A few seconds later, with the FARR window open, I check the Task Manager once more.
And find there are no entries for FARR in the Task Manager window!!  huh

Jay
« Last Edit: May 26, 2007, 04:23:59 PM by jnulu » Logged
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #584 on: May 26, 2007, 05:42:58 PM »

Are you running Vista? It can preload programs as it analyses your daily usage. Maybe it detected you use farr2 and preloads it which causes problems for farr1. If you're not using Vista then this is not the case.
Logged

jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #585 on: May 26, 2007, 06:13:02 PM »

No, I'm running Windows XP Professional version 2002 with Service Pack 2
Thanks for your help, 'justice'!
Regards

Jay
Logged
jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #586 on: May 27, 2007, 08:15:14 PM »

I decided to try and install the Alpha version once more.
Accordingly I exited the current stable version from the tray, and installed the Alpha version.
I checked the Task Manager and found two instances of FARR running!
Here is the screen shot:



Yet there is no icon of FARR in the system tray!
Clicking on Start/Programs/FARR does not do anything  Angry

Please help!!

Jay
Logged
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #587 on: May 28, 2007, 02:59:18 AM »

Farr won't start if it is already active. Instead it will try and activate the farr window. So all the problems you are having is becaues you have a hidden farr running.

Now there can be several reasons why this is the case:
* more than one user is logged on and more than one is running farr.
* I have had some problems before when I merged the startup of all users with the current user startup. Have you fiddled with startup disble/enable software?

Also diagnose the problem: reboot your computer, making sure farr does not start up immediate, is farr running in the task manager? 0 or more?
start farr. How many instances are running now? 1 or more?
restore farr to boot with your pc if you had set this up before these tests. now restart your pc again: how many instances of farr are running? 1 or more?
start farr. How many instances are running now? 1 or more?

This will diagnose if there is a configuration problem on your pc or if it is a farr bug.
Logged

jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #588 on: May 28, 2007, 11:35:59 AM »

I am running FARR on my PC at work and on my PC at home.
When I am at home, the PC at work is turned off, and when at work, the PC at home is turned off.
I am the only user for both PC’s. I am the Administrator for the PC at home. I have a Guest account
which is permanently turned OFF.
In effect, only one account is being used at any given time.

There is no problem using the Alpha version of FARR on the PC at work.
And there's no problem using the stable version of FARR on the PC at home.

I have not fiddled with the software - I don't know how!  Grin

PC at home running the stable v1.13.02:

When I start the PC with FARR set up to simultaneously start, there is only one instance of it running in the Task Manager.
FARR icon is also present in the system tray.
Right clicking on the icon, the ‘About’ shows that I am running v1.13.02

I then reset FARR not to start at the PC’s next boot up.
The PC is then restarted.
There is no icon in the tray and there is no instance of it running in the Task Manager.

So far everything is good!

PC at home running the Alpha v2.0.0.82:

I exit FARR v1.13.02  from the system tray,
On checking, find that there is no instance of it running in the Task Manager.
The Alpha version of FARR is then installed.
After installation, I find the FARR icon is NOT present in the system tray.
However, the Task Manager shows me that I am running one instance!
Finding FARR is NOT set up to start up in Start/Run/msconfig/startup, I check
the startup entry check box and then restart the PC once more.

Here’s what is happening after I restart the PC:

The msconfig /start up shows that the entry for starting up FARR is checked.
Task Manager shows one instance of FARR running.
But still no icon of FARR in the system tray.

I truly appreciate all your help and hope I've answered all your queries.
Thanks again!

Jay
« Last Edit: May 28, 2007, 11:53:41 AM by jnulu » Logged
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #589 on: May 28, 2007, 01:06:29 PM »

Great that sounds good. The thing is I am not sure if you should run both the alpha and the stable on the same computer. A lot of things have changed. Maybe someone else can say for definite.
Logged

jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #590 on: May 28, 2007, 03:07:40 PM »

Not sure if I explained my problem clearly enough 'justice'.

As adviced by Mouser, I exited the stable version from the tray and only then installed the new Alpha version
So how is it possible for me to be running both the versions?

Besides, the same procedure was followed for installing the Alpha version on the PC at work without any problems so far.

Thanks!

Jay
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #591 on: May 29, 2007, 01:54:41 AM »

try this jnulu, uncheck the start-up option in Farr and in msconfig.. then rename the farr folder and restart.. upon restarting, check if there are any instances of Farr.. if there is none, then you can re-install either the alpha or v1 version.. smiley

Logged

jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #592 on: May 29, 2007, 12:34:22 PM »

I have absolutley no problems with v.1.13.02 on my home PC.
It's the Alpha version that is causing all the problems!  undecided
Appreciate your continued help!
Regards

Jay
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #593 on: May 29, 2007, 08:00:57 PM »

so, did the steps i mentioned help you to solve the problem? also before renaming the Farr alpha's folder, you may have to kill any farr processes with the TaskManager.. smiley
Logged

jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #594 on: May 29, 2007, 08:48:42 PM »

Hi 'justice'!

As adviced, I unchecked the startup checkbox in both the FindandRunRobot and in msconfig.
I renamed the FindandRunRobot folder in the Program Files and restarted the PC
Finding that there were no instances of FindandRunRobot running in the Task Manager, I installed the Alpha version.
The program installed without a hitch and thereafter I ran it without any problems.
I restarted the PC once again. The program continued to work perfectly!
  smiley
Hooray, looks like you've solved the problem!  Cool
Will keep you posted after a few days.
Regards....and thanks a milliion!

Jay
Logged
gottadoit
Charter Member
***
Posts: 45

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #595 on: May 29, 2007, 10:06:32 PM »

One thing that would really be quite useful would be to allow a little icon bar to be displayed between the search field and the results list, this could be used for displaying the contents of the quick launch toolbar as a quick shortcut to get to items (when they are not already in the history list)
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #596 on: May 30, 2007, 03:02:49 AM »

gottadoit, Farr already allows you to specify your own programs in a toolbar.. you do this from the Options dialog (see pics)..



« Last Edit: May 30, 2007, 03:04:38 AM by lanux128 » Logged

justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #597 on: May 30, 2007, 04:24:56 AM »

The program continued to work perfectly!
Good to hear! It was definately two versions of FARR conflicting with each other, the reason behind it is still unclear. Good luck.
Logged

jnulu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 36


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #598 on: June 03, 2007, 08:57:40 PM »

Hi 'justice'!

After a week of running the Alpha version without any problem, I found the FARR icon missing
once again in the tray, after starting my PC this morning.
However the Task Manger showed FARR to be running.
I unistalled the program and have gone back to the stable version v1.13.02.

The Alpha version link that Mouser emailed me a month ago, no longer works, so am unable to install it anymore.
I have emailed Mouser for another link, but in the meanwhile, grateful for any further ideas.
Thank you!

Jay
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,177



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #599 on: June 03, 2007, 09:04:42 PM »

does the break key still bring up farr?
it sure sounds like maybe your windows is just hiding inactive icons.
if the break key works to bring up farr, then don't worry if its not shown in the tray.
on the other hand, if farr wont return to screen on break key and is essentially hung up, then that's a whole different matter that needs to be fixed.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2007, 09:07:35 PM by mouser » Logged
Pages: Prev 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 ... 35 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.055s | Server load: 0.23 ]