Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 27, 2014, 05:55:05 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Free DonationCoder.com Member Kit: Submit Request.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 ... 35 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Latest FARR v2.00.140 ALPHA PREVIEW Release - Aug 15, 2007  (Read 332191 times)
cnewtonne
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 115

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #325 on: February 22, 2007, 09:29:22 AM »

Mouse,
can you please help me understand FARR behavior here...

I created an alias 'sys' defined as follows...

  • RegExp: ^sys (\d+)
  • Results:

LOGOFF $$1 secs | c:\windows\system32\shutdown.exe -i -l -t $$1
----------------------------------------
REBOOT $$1 secs | c:\windows\system32\shutdown.exe -r -f -t $$1
----------------------------------------
SHUTDOWN $$1 secs | c:\windows\system32\shutdown.exe -s -f -t $$1
----------------------------------------
above INTERACTIVE | c:\windows\system32\shutdown.exe -i
----------------------------------------
ABORT above | c:\windows\system32\shutdown.exe -a

Then I wanted to use the new alias search feature (note that this alias accepts an arguments i.e. number of seconds. These are the scenarios [/li][/list]

  • typing 'sys' behaves as expected as seen here

  • typing 'sys log' also works as expected

  • typing 'sys shutdown' does not narrow it down to that entry

[/list]

My questions are ...
1- Does does FARR combine both alias search and accepting arguments if both exist?
2- Why did not typing 'sys shutdown' behave just like the others did?

Thank you
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #326 on: February 22, 2007, 10:30:11 AM »

Version 2.00.54 is now up at same url, it's a bugfix for the last version, which broke some of the alias functionality.

ps.: alias search filtering/scoring does *not* work with regular expression aliases; however i did think of a way to add it if people really want it, though it's a bit complicated because typing extra stuff can invalidate the regex or else get captured in it.  alias filtering/scoring is meant more for non-regular expression aliases.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #327 on: February 22, 2007, 10:31:37 AM »

Quote
what would happen if you have multiple aliases sharing same 3 to 4 letters

try it on v2.00.54 - it will now partially match against all aliases and show you hints for all of the aliases (but not activate their contents).
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #328 on: February 22, 2007, 10:33:44 AM »

Note: The last few releases of FARR seem to "wake-up" noticably slower than previous releases for me; This will be fixed before final release.
Logged
scorcho
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #329 on: February 22, 2007, 10:39:06 AM »

is there any chance, or a way (if i'm dumb) of configuring FARR's pop-up dialog to respond to control+control as the the hotkey? i've used this extensively whilst i had google desktop installed, and it's instinctive for me.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #330 on: February 22, 2007, 10:42:41 AM »

scorcho,

We had debates about this.. In the end i decided that the best solution for such needs was to write a super tiny super efficient helper tool that lets you use combo keys like double-tap control or double-tap right shift, etc., to trigger any other hotkeys on your system.  It's called "TapTap Hotkey Extender" and it's perfect for those who want to trigger FARR with such special combos, or trigger any other function on their computer:

http://www.donationcoder..../Mouser/TapTap/index.html
Logged
usfree74
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #331 on: February 22, 2007, 02:31:09 PM »

Can I get a download link?

Thanks
Logged
mja
Charter Member
***
Posts: 14

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #332 on: February 22, 2007, 04:23:59 PM »

Just noticed one thing with 2.00.54 with respect to ordering of aliases within the alias groups. In the Alias/Group tab my aliases appear in the following order:

Google $$1 |http://www.google.com/search?ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=$$1
GoogleGroups $$1 |http://groups.google.com/groups?ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=$$1&sa=N&tab=wg
Google Desktop $$1 | http://127.0.0.1:4664/search&s=...............
Google Local $$1 | http://local.google.com/local?s...........
GoogleNews $$1 |http://news.google.com/news?q=$$1

In the FARR launch window when I type the alias for the group they appear in the following order:
1 - GoogleNews
2 - Google
3 - GoogleGroups
4 - Google Local
5 - Google Desktop

Is this expected behaviour? In the previous versions they always appeared in the order that they were entered in the options.
Logged
hornsts
Participant
*
Posts: 21


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #333 on: February 22, 2007, 04:51:08 PM »

The new improvments are really great.  Thmbsup

I've tested the new "Search Template"-feature in v2.00.54 and find it extremly useful. But there is one point, where I'm not sure, if this is caused by a missing parameter, by design, incomplete implementation or a bug.
I used the example (dosearch +audio .mp3 $$1) for my music collection. When I do a normal search with "+audio .mp3 $$1", FARR shows the results until result limit. When I use the search template, then all results are shown without limitation.

Is there a modifier like +ALL or -ALL override/force result limits?
If there is none, wouldn't it make sense to have one instead of using context menu "search for all matches"?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #334 on: February 22, 2007, 07:29:11 PM »

mja - thanks for pointing that out! i will change it so that it uses default ordering UNLESS you type exta words to filter+score.



Quote
Is there a modifier like +ALL or -ALL override/force result limits?
If there is none, wouldn't it make sense to have one instead of using context menu "search for all matches"?

very good idea, adding to my todo list.
Logged
scorcho
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #335 on: February 22, 2007, 07:42:40 PM »

scorcho,

We had debates about this.. In the end i decided that the best solution for such needs was to write a super tiny super efficient helper tool that lets you use combo keys like double-tap control or double-tap right shift, etc., to trigger any other hotkeys on your system.  It's called "TapTap Hotkey Extender" and it's perfect for those who want to trigger FARR with such special combos, or trigger any other function on their computer:

http://www.donationcoder..../Mouser/TapTap/index.html
thanks mouser! i discovered the utility before reading your response, and it's been working great!
Logged
cnewtonne
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 115

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #336 on: February 23, 2007, 09:37:21 AM »

this just keep getting better and better. I really do not remember having so much fun beta testing an app like this on.

Nothing major, but I checked out ver55 and I see that you fixed the ordering of results to match the alias definition. Thank you for that.

I also see that you now added these hints for content that appear in the name column and count in  'location'. Wouldn't it be more helpful if you display the hints the other way around. The location column is normally wider and therefore can display more content than the name.
Logged
cnewtonne
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 115

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #337 on: February 23, 2007, 10:34:31 AM »

Mouser,
I was able to get the alias action kwords to work 2 releases ago but not any more. This is what I'm doing...
1- group alias name: kill
2- regexp: blank (left it empty)
3- results: kill $$1 | c:\program files\FindAndRunRobot\Scripts\kill.exe "$$1"
4- typing '+kill notepad' does not initiate any search.

The help topic indicated the alias name should appear with '+' sign. I did that and FARR searched for notepad but it did not execute the kill.exe with file name as argument. Instead, it simply launched notepad.

What am I missing?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #338 on: February 23, 2007, 10:53:47 AM »

what you are saying *should* work, but it may be the placement of kill at the front that is confusing it.
if you do: "notepad +kill" does it work as expected?
if so i'll try to fix the problem with it not working on first word.
Logged
jdmarch
Charter Member
***
Posts: 185

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #339 on: February 23, 2007, 11:30:18 AM »

mouser, sorry I've been out of the loop for the past 6 weeks, so this is my first update since early January. The new alpha has a nice clean look, except that FWIW, I do not like Fade-in, and disabled it immediately. (To me, Fade-in works for an informational popup, but as a response to my urgent summons, it is just a bad excuse for tardiness! smiley Of course YMMV.)

One issue: when "check full path for multi-word even without \" is enabled, and there are multiple words in the search input field, the first word seems to be ignored. The fact that nobody has spotted this may indicate that this is not a very popular option, but I appreciate it!!

Thanks!
Logged
cnewtonne
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 115

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #340 on: February 23, 2007, 12:05:29 PM »

It does not work either way '+kill notepad' or 'notepad +kill'.
Two releases ago, I used this feature and it worked just fine. I created an alias 'vi' with results pointing to 3 different file editors followed by $$1. When I typed '+vi application.log' I saw the 3 editors and when clicking on any, FARR showed 'file_editor.exe application.log' as expected.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #341 on: February 25, 2007, 07:21:41 AM »

cnewtonne, can you try the latest (2.00.56) and see if it fixes yuor problems and the dir search problems?

jdmarch - excellent work finding that, i'll have it fixed this week.
Logged
hornsts
Participant
*
Posts: 21


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #342 on: February 25, 2007, 07:36:25 AM »

I normally use Alias Action Keywords like cnewtonne at the beginning.
In 2.00.56 Alias Action Keywords only work, when used at the end.
Logged
pomj
Participant
*
Posts: 8

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #343 on: February 27, 2007, 01:32:35 AM »

hmmm. I think the CTRL+Enter way of launching multiple programs is broken again or is it just my system?
Logged
hornsts
Participant
*
Posts: 21


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #344 on: February 27, 2007, 03:13:59 AM »

Regarding Alias Action Keywords I have to add something.
In 2.00.56 Alias Action Keywords only work, when used at the end and when the path doesn't end with a backslash (e.g. C:\Test or C:\test\test.txt). Otherwise the alias is ignored.

BTW:
To avoid interference (I haven't tested this to much, but I believe it could be a problem) with alias also used in file- or foldernames, I currently use < as a prefix for my aliases. I've also tried other "forbidden" characters for file- and foldernames, but \, : or / are used in a path, * is used by FARR and ? or | didnt't work as desired. So is there a drawback for < or >?
Logged
wreckedcarzz
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,620



Happy wolfie ^_^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #345 on: February 27, 2007, 05:17:19 PM »

Hey mouser jw if I could get a link to the new ver beta.
Thanks!
Logged

New website! With a fancy domain name and everything! *gasp*
http://www.wreckedcarzz.com/
ecaradec
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 408



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #346 on: February 28, 2007, 03:53:24 AM »

Considering the \ azerty issue, I used microsoft keyboard layout creator to remap the key to §. I remove some dead keys too to make the keyboard be more programmer friendly. This make working with FARR nicer.
May be its too last for queries, but could it be possible to have farr complete the path to target when a shortcut is a link to a directory ?

Emmanuel
Logged

Blog & Projects : Blog | Qatapult | SwiffOut | FScript
ecaradec
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 408



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #347 on: February 28, 2007, 04:43:27 AM »

When I change the scoring of a result to a number with a . like 100.0 or 200.0 (I test this on launch history and aliases groups ) the scoring is set to 0. Only integers works : 100 or 200 is ok.
I did not really understand how aliases are supposed to work. Should I define a group beginning with a + ? I have the v2.00.55 of FARR and may be it is broken. I did try to get a new version from my old link but it is still the 2.0.55. Do I need to ask you mouser for each new version ?

Thanks.

Emmanuel
Logged

Blog & Projects : Blog | Qatapult | SwiffOut | FScript
hornsts
Participant
*
Posts: 21


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #348 on: February 28, 2007, 10:59:08 AM »

I can (again) confirm, that editing of an alias results in the loss of the score, when you don't change the score to a value witout a period.
If you run the installer it says it is 2.00.55, but after install you see 2.00.56 in the about box.
Don't use a + at the beginning of a group name, cause + has a special meaning in searches. Maybe you have to check your RegEx, when alias is not working. Just look a the definition of the default aliases.
Logged
jake78
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 48

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #349 on: February 28, 2007, 04:47:56 PM »

FARR won't center the main window on the screen, it used to work before 2.00.54. I'm now using 2.00.56.
Anyone that has the same problem?

// Jacob
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 ... 35 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.047s | Server load: 0.13 ]