Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 29, 2014, 05:49:07 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Free DonationCoder.com Member Kit: Submit Request.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: TPClock - v1d - December 19, 2006  (Read 19116 times)
TPReal
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 120



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: December 19, 2006, 10:59:15 AM »

TPClock - v1d - December 19, 2006
Bugfix after v1.
Description
The program is a substitute for Windows clock in the notification area (tray). Needs some training to use.
The colours are adjustable. Looks good also on XP view, and in Win9X. "Normal" time can be displayed in hint of TPClock.
Screenshot

(The thing between Thunderbird and ZoneAlarm, of course. Now the seconds are displayed on top so it's 17:21:54)

* TPClock.zip (313.8 KB - downloaded 2579 times.)
« Last Edit: January 02, 2007, 12:08:50 PM by TPReal » Logged

Arjen
Charter Member
***
Posts: 93



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2006, 05:23:27 AM »

Is this a "binary clock" like this one?

Interesting - I suggest you include a training feature, in which you are presented with a random time in binary format and you have to say what time it is!

When I click "Info" I get the error message: "System Error. Code 1410. The class already exists."


« Last Edit: December 20, 2006, 05:31:52 AM by Arjen » Logged
TPReal
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 120



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2006, 01:19:37 PM »

Yeah, it's a binary clock but better in my oppinion because why the hell encode single digits? I don't like BCD encoding. And it's too easy to read the time when single digits are encoded smiley

About the training feature - best training is using the TPClock (and turning off the normal windows clock, and the hint, or else you'll probably turn out to be too lazy to read the time from the leds).

I just checked that the most often used programmers' excuse works this time: on my computer, the error message does not show up smiley But there's nothing interesting instead of it, just the message: Binary Clock by TPReal.

TPReal.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2007, 08:21:06 AM »

I just got around to trying this now.. love it  Kiss
this is definitely the l33t tool to impress and mystify your friends.

ps.
i get same error when invoking about box.

ps2.
on start it shows an empty form on screen which has to be minimized in order for it to dissapear - would be nice to have this fixed so the program can be happily run at startup.
Logged
TPReal
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 120



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2007, 02:29:30 PM »

Wow, thanks for the kind words Jesse :-)

About the about box, I've investigated the case and come to a conclusion that the error message appears only when I compile the project so that it doesn't need C++Builder specific libraries. All functions like ShowMessage, InputQuery,... give this error. No idea why. Now I simply removed the Info item from the Menu, it wasn't very helpful.

As for the form visible when starting, on my machine it doesn't appear, no matter how I compile the project, but I corrected it (in a Left=-500;-like way but for me it works smiley ).

(New version posted in the first post.)

TPReal.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2007, 02:41:57 PM »

I think the -500 thing might be the cause of the problem -
since i have a multimonitor setup, -500 seems to put it floating on the other monitor smiley

How about simply do an Application->Minimize() after it starts?
Logged
app103
That scary taskbar girl
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 5,117



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2007, 02:53:47 PM »

look in the object inspector at the form's properties.

try setting WindowState to wsMinimized
Logged

TPReal
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 120



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2007, 03:08:53 PM »

For me the first problem is - why the heck the form is visible, no matter if it's Visible or not, if you catch my drift. So when I set the form to be wsMinimized, at startup I can see the window "flying" from its original position to the Start bar, and then disappearing. I didn't want to have this effect, that's why I set Left=-500;, and really I didn't think about the case with multimonitor setup smiley
Now you have here another ultra-elegant solution - Top is like 5000 and the form is wsMinimized smiley so the window flies from the area under the screen so you don't see it.
Buf it you guys know a method to hide the only form of an app, that would be the best solution probably.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2007, 03:12:15 PM »

Delphi and C++ Builder do not like their main form to be invisible, that's why you are having the troubles, but it can be done.  I'll try to find the technique i use a little bit later if you don't find it yourself on google GROUPS (usenet), that's where i find most of these tricks out (search for Delphi not C++ Builder).
Logged
TPReal
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 120



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2007, 03:29:36 PM »

:-) Couldn't be any easier:
Application->ShowMainForm=0;
Thanks, I never used Google Groups, seems useful.
Time to review all my projects and change to this method tongue
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2007, 03:33:55 PM »

I'm afraid it's not that simple TPReal,
Here's the dreaded effect I see at startup:



I've seen that effect before when trying to hide main forms into the system tray before - there is a way to solve it i just have to go into my code and remember it, if you continue to get stuck.
Logged
TPReal
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 120



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2007, 03:44:46 PM »

Hmm, strange what you say. Now I put the form somewhere on the (visible part of) screen, set its Visible to false, state to wsNormal, and set ShowMainForm to false, and do nothing special in the constructor, and it works perfectly. It also removes the application from the Alt+Tab list.
Could you check if you get the effect you described with the currently uploaded version? If yes, then I give up and wait for your method smiley
TPR.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2007, 04:05:57 PM »

Works like a charm - bravo!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.04s | Server load: 0.22 ]