Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 01:49:21 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: DONE: Replacement Power Options applet  (Read 35784 times)

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #25 on: January 18, 2007, 05:43:13 PM »
np, couldn't sleep anyway - long live insomnia ;)

EDIT: why do you use the loop thing to construct the idletime variable, instead of just doing DllCall("Kernel32.dll\GetSystemTimes", "*UInt64", idletime, "*Uint64", dummy1, "*Uint64", dummy2) and getting it directly?
- carpe noctem
« Last Edit: January 18, 2007, 05:47:44 PM by f0dder »

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #26 on: January 18, 2007, 06:03:03 PM »
Right it allows my computer to go to sleep (and hibernate after a couple of hours) - the proof of the pudding will be to see what happens when I load the CPU for a long period - I'll try that tomorrow.

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #27 on: January 18, 2007, 06:33:31 PM »
 :)
Quote
why do you use the loop thing

I missed that information in the excitement, f0dder! So you've been reading the AHK manual, have you?

The code isn't mine, I pretty much borrow everyone else's work.

I've posted your findings on the AHK forum. Maybe you should post your final GetCpuLoad code there?

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2007, 06:36:03 PM by skrommel »

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #28 on: January 18, 2007, 06:45:14 PM »
 :tellme: f0dder, was the SetAffinity required?

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #29 on: January 18, 2007, 06:52:03 PM »
I'm not sure the SetAffinity() is required - can't remember if GetTickCount() is affected by the TSC weirdness. Heading off to bed, so don't have time for testing either right now :) - don't think it's necessary in this case, though.
- carpe noctem

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #30 on: January 19, 2007, 09:11:08 AM »
Right it allows my computer to go to sleep (and hibernate after a couple of hours) - the proof of the pudding will be to see what happens when I load the CPU for a long period - I'll try that tomorrow.

Hmmm ... the pudding just burst.

To keep my system busy I ran a stress tester (the nVidia stress test which stresses most system components in a continuous loop) for 2 hours but LowToSleep didn't manage to keep the computer awake ? CPU usage was continuously high throughout.

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #31 on: January 19, 2007, 02:01:54 PM »
 :tellme: My problem was the oposite... How does LowToSleep v1.5 work?

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #32 on: January 19, 2007, 06:15:37 PM »
I haven't left it long enough to see if it hibernates but it still turns off the screen and hard discs (set up in Power Options Applet), which it shouldn't do, so I suspect it will still hibernate at the appropriate time.

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #33 on: January 20, 2007, 01:14:39 AM »
 :tellme: Hmmm... On my FSC Amilo laptop it behaves like it should. Could there be different power save implementations depending on brand?

Try lowering the idleduration=30 or =1 to test it, and see if that makes a difference.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #34 on: January 20, 2007, 05:59:55 AM »
Nope - changed it to 1 and it made no difference.

Here is my Power Options applet:

po.jpg

The battery options are because I have a USB UPS which WinXP recognises as a battery.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2007, 06:01:34 AM by Carol Haynes »

CodeTRUCKER

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,060
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #35 on: January 20, 2007, 08:12:15 AM »
Seems like something else is going on.  Have you tried moving your mouse at the right time?
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 05:23:53 PM by CodeTRUCKER »

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #36 on: January 20, 2007, 09:59:10 AM »
I think that is pretty much what the script does (see the MAKENOISE subroutine) except that I think it is done by keyboard activity rather than mouse.

Trouble is it doesn't seem to work for me.

CodeTRUCKER

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,060
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #37 on: January 20, 2007, 10:26:28 AM »
I'm still waiting to see if mine will give up.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 05:22:15 PM by CodeTRUCKER »

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #38 on: January 20, 2007, 08:18:51 PM »
 :tellme: I've added mouse noise to LowToSleep v1.6.

Please delete your existing ini file before running.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

CodeTRUCKER

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,060
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #39 on: January 20, 2007, 11:08:24 PM »
Works on my end.  Maybe you shoud try it again.  Are you running XP in an emulator, say on a Mac?
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 05:20:44 PM by CodeTRUCKER »

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #40 on: January 21, 2007, 05:36:54 AM »
Thanks I'll give it a go.

No I am just running 32 bit Windows XP Pro natively.

MerleOne

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 949
  • 4D thinking
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Replacement Power Options applet
« Reply #41 on: December 16, 2010, 08:18:19 AM »
Hi,

I just want to report that LowtoSleep, which I use all the time, is being detected as malware by yesterday's Avast 5 signatures.  I was able to exclude it from detections, and informed Avast, but they didn't acknowledge what I sent them.

Hope this get resolved soon.
.merle1.