Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 05, 2015, 09:22:04 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01  (Read 10940 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« on: November 26, 2006, 01:57:52 PM »
Ok this new release of 2.28.01 may have some rough edges but it has some significant new stuff.

Most prominent is a complete emailing system.  You can use mapi or a built-in smtp mailer, and add as many people you want to the sendto menu for very quick and easy emailing of screenshots.

Let me know if you like it, and any issues you find.

russell.williams

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2006, 03:19:38 PM »
I still get the problem of the copied to clipboard images being reduced by 50%.

And though it shows "Don't Auto Save Captures" it still creates a c:\temp (screenshot folder) file:
         32,999 Screenshot - 11_27_2006 , 4_17_42 PM.png

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2006, 03:31:49 PM »
russel are you sure its not just your image viewer showing them at 50%?
i dont see any way that it could be reducing image size by 50% when copying to clipboard.  can you tell me the procedure you're using to copy to clipboard and then view the clipboard contents?

i will check into the temp file issue.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2006, 05:43:25 AM »
Early alpha with some improvements to object handling efficiency which i am nervous to release officially but very much welcome beta testers:

http://www.donationc...ScreenshotCaptor.exe

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,303
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2006, 09:50:08 AM »
You have overcome a quirky thing that used to occur. Adding text to an image, then selecting it, then selecting the number in the "Text Size" box and typing a replacement number created an error condition -- fixed. 

Nothing to do with this release but:
1) The 'cross' cursor is invisible against the grey background colour of my screen. ("Change the background!", I hear you say.) This is true of, say, SnagIt (but that also uses a light coloured pointer, ajacent to its 'cross', to help people who insist on strange background colours).
2) With two monitors, if I use the sytem tray to start 'Grab selected region' I can only grab from the monitor that's hosting the system tray. If I trigger the same 'grab' by hotkey I can grab from the monitor on which the cursor happens to be, but not from the other (this is the same for me in earlier versions).
...and so the universe metes out another punishment...

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2006, 10:08:42 AM »
glad to hear i fixed that text font size error finally :up:

as for #2 - one fix is to use redbox mode to capture regions.  it has pros and cons (select red box mode for region capture in options).

as for #1 - i will look into it.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,303
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2006, 02:12:41 PM »
Quote
Quote
With two monitors, if I use the sytem tray to start 'Grab selected region' I can only grab from the monitor that's hosting the system tray. If I trigger the same 'grab' by hotkey I can grab from the monitor on which the cursor happens to be, but not from the other (this is the same for me in earlier versions).
Mouser: one fix is to use redbox mode to capture regions
  • I can't move the redbox from one monitor to the other. Or, actually I can but it vanishes into some cosmic bit bucket never to be seen again.
  • I can stretch the redbox across monitors (the visible 'half' is extending, not moving) but the 'half' on the second monitor is invisible.
  • If I move the redbox completely off of one monitor it's inaccessible thereafter. Subsequent operations don't bring it back, so I killed the .ini file to reset the redbox position to default. So, SC positions the redbox properly, it simply doesn't show up (on the monitor from which it was NOT started).
  • If I make a redbox capture on the monitor where it's invisible (by crtl-clicking) it makes a capture but the "You have captured...what now?" requester is hung and it'll hang any other window that's open, too, until I kill SC via task manager.
I'll try to see what else I have running that could be manipulating monitor 'screens'.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2006, 02:14:43 PM »
i wish i understood why red box capture works on some people's multi-monitor setups and not others..  works perfect on mine.  i'll look into it.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,303
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2006, 03:45:58 PM »
Quote
i wish i understood why red box capture works on some people's multi-monitor setups and not others..  works perfect on mine.  i'll look into it.
Well, here's the deal. Since Veign is displaying astounding generosity in providing the prizes of the century one is prompted to chip in with some more motivation. I have $1.74 DonationCredits left and, if you can fix this by tea time today, it's ALL yours!


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2006, 03:47:46 PM »
question:

does redbox capture display the same behavior no matter what monitor you are on when you trigger the hotkey?

i.e. is it always visible on CURRENT monitor, or always visible on a specific monitor.

also: what operating system are you using?

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,303
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2006, 04:21:58 PM »
OS is XP Pro
  • I just turned off UltraMon and redbox works for region capture (sorry about that, I thought I'd tried it).
  • Region capture not using redbox works only on the screen from which it's started, UltraMon or not, which is what I had tried previously, and where we began.
  • Interestingly, although I can't begin a non-redbox region capture on a screen from which it's not launched, i.e. by moving the cursor to the point I desire on the other screen, I CAN stretch the selection onto the other screen. This is true from whichever screen I begin the operation.

So, since you've led to a solution of this redbox thing before teatime I guess $1.74 is yours  :)
I don't really want to stop UltraMon to perform a screen capture, though.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2006, 04:29:18 PM »
that is fascinating regarding ultramon, especially since i also use ultramon!
what versoin # of ultramon do you have? i have 2.6.23.

maybe its one of the options?
do you have ultramon adding icons to your windows? maybe try messing with the options.  ultramon also lets you set exceptions for windows - that might solve it :)

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,303
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #12 on: November 28, 2006, 06:36:46 PM »
Quote
i have 2.6.23
I too.
Quote
set exceptions for windows - that might solve it
It did. That solved the redbox issue. My fault for assuming that because turning off UM for one issue made no difference the same would hold true for the next issue.
I wonder why SnagIt is immune to this.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #13 on: November 29, 2006, 01:45:27 PM »
v2.28.05 uploaded, with minor tweaks to the 2.28 series.
i'm very happy with the new SendTo emailing menu - anyone using it yet?  Did you know you can send multiple screenshots in one operation?  You can also switch between smtp or mapi mode, depending on whether you want to use your standard email client or the mailer built-in to sc.  Would be happy to hear some feedback on it.

gregland

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
    • L'Apirine du Web
    • Donate to Member
Re: Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2006, 05:52:26 AM »
Hello Mouser...
I have some problem with Sendto menu...
http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/1065/tempimgbo8.jpg
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01


I can't use MAPI because I used DreamMail (No MAPI)...

Is there a Way to correct this !

Thanks

PS : Is there a Way to remove no Rounded corner ? (Do you know if it will be soon ?)
http://img510.imageshack.us/img510/8841/screenshot1512200612472aq5.jpg
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
        http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/8199/tempimgik2.jpg
Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
GregLand
French WebMaster & Programmer
_______________________________________
L'Aspirine du Web
« Last Edit: December 17, 2006, 10:48:22 PM by gregland »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #15 on: December 15, 2006, 11:50:26 AM »
rounded corner (transparency) is on my list, i will bump it to the top as i think we all want that working.

i'm not sure what the 504 error is all about - have you configured the smtp info in the same way that your mail client is set up?

gregland

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
    • L'Apirine du Web
    • Donate to Member
Re: Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #16 on: December 15, 2006, 12:09:48 PM »
Yes... all is configured correctly...
Ok for the Rounded corner... I will wait...
GregLand
French WebMaster & Programmer
_______________________________________
L'Aspirine du Web

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2006, 08:00:53 PM »
gregland:
found this on the net, it tells something about the error codes.. will be useful when trouble-shooting.

email-smtp-errors.png

P.S. i like error 554.. :D

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #18 on: December 17, 2006, 08:01:43 PM »
lol

gregland

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
    • L'Apirine du Web
    • Donate to Member
Re: Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #19 on: December 17, 2006, 08:20:06 PM »
Thanks lanux128
There is no error... (look at attach)
I don't understand... (what does it mean ? : A command parameter is not implemented)
GregLand
French WebMaster & Programmer
_______________________________________
L'Aspirine du Web
« Last Edit: December 17, 2006, 08:22:16 PM by gregland »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #20 on: December 17, 2006, 08:44:19 PM »
your configuration looks ok to me.. i will test the mail sending feature some more and see if i can find more reports of similar troubles.. hopefully it's something simple i'm doing wrong since it's a brand new feature.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2006, 10:34:09 PM »
aye, from the screenshot, it looks ok to me. btw, does the smtp server has any restrictions on sending binaries or a quota on message size, etc.?

for further trouble-shooting, try-out an alternate program so that we can narrow it down to either SC or the SMTP server.. here's my post on using an alternate app - http://www.donationc...45.msg36606#msg36606.


gregland

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
    • L'Apirine du Web
    • Donate to Member
Re: Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #22 on: December 17, 2006, 10:47:19 PM »
No, there's no quota...
I found a solution, by the sendto menu in the SC windows...
GregLand
French WebMaster & Programmer
_______________________________________
L'Aspirine du Web

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #23 on: December 17, 2006, 10:55:05 PM »
nice work, gregland. :Thmbsup:
good to hear that SC is self-healing.. :)

gregland

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
    • L'Apirine du Web
    • Donate to Member
Re: Commentary on ScreenshotCaptor - 2.28.01
« Reply #24 on: December 17, 2006, 11:10:23 PM »
SC is Great...
GregLand
French WebMaster & Programmer
_______________________________________
L'Aspirine du Web