topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 12:04 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Map to command line  (Read 4287 times)

isuru

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Map to command line
« on: December 11, 2006, 02:23 PM »
Hello

I've used FARR for a while and absolutely love it. Is there a way to map it directly to the command line console?
I would like it to act as an external command line which can also recognize my aliases. So basically, if i type in something like:
netstat -e >C:\temp.txt

it should process the command as it is given. This is of course, without me having to setup additional aliases. Is there a way to do this? I've tried searching but to no avail.

Thanks
Izzy


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Map to command line
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2006, 03:08 PM »
there is a built in alias called "run" that should work (though i cant remember if we tried it with parameters.
but basically you would type:

run netstat -e >C:\temp.txt

in the find+run editbox.  but maybe you were asking for something else?


isuru

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Map to command line
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2006, 04:47 PM »
I am aware of the 'run' alias, unfortunately this wasn't what I was looking for (it doesn't seem to work with parameters either).

What I'm looking for is a way to generalize the command prompt onto the FARR interface. To give you an idea of what I'm talking about, a similar program SlickRun does the same thing. It has aliases, aka 'magic words', on top of a general command line interface.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Map to command line
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2006, 05:07 PM »
Wi tha regular expreion in the form:
^r (.*)
and a result in the form
Run $$1|$$1
, you should be able to do anything you can do with the run box, i think. You'd only have to type "r " followed by the command. Possibly, it'll close the command box right after, not allowing you to read anything, so i'd suggest using a "result" in the following form:
Run $$1|cmd /k $$1

isuru

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Map to command line
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2006, 12:18 AM »
Thank you  :) I'll work with this for now.

Hopefully a direct command line would be a feature in a future release  :D