Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 26, 2016, 05:29:38 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI  (Read 10868 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,251
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« on: March 29, 2005, 04:45:08 AM »
Here's a preview of the new ProcessTamer Configuration GUI in action.
It's a separate program from the main resident tray tool so it takes up no resources during normal operation.

It's main purpose is obviously to help you configure ProcessTamer and create rules, but it will also let you view and change priorities on the fly quicker than through task manager, etc..





You can see that the new gui has 2 tabs, one is configuration of options and explicit override rules,
and the other acts as a kind of quick-access task manager where you can manually change priorities or kill processes.

note that this gui for configuring is a completely separate exe that is invoked when needed, so that the main program running in the tray remains super small and efficient.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2005, 01:14:23 AM by mouser »

tenseiken

  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
    • Boredom Solutions
    • Donate to Member
Re: Preview picture of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2005, 10:14:01 AM »
Wow.  That's a big leap forward from what we have now.  I'm looking forward to seeing it in action.
-John

Ozzy1

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • Acino
    • Donate to Member
Re: Preview picture of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2005, 10:46:33 AM »
Looks really good!  :up:

If rou are gonna make it multi-langual I'll sign up for making the norwegian translation.

Regards,


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,251
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Preview picture of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2005, 10:50:06 AM »
thanks ozzy! that's a great idea -
i will look into how to make it multilingual, i know some of the tools for doing it but i've never done it.
this seems like a good project to start with.

trigger

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Preview picture of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2005, 12:02:03 AM »
Well, if you find a rather do-able way of doing it, I'll look into the dutch translation.

Peter

Jibz

  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,119
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2005, 02:26:19 AM »
Looks great :up:.

tenseiken

  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
    • Boredom Solutions
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2005, 04:02:15 AM »
It keeps getting better and better.  Keep up the good work, mouser.
-John

Ozzy1

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • Acino
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2005, 04:27:16 AM »
Suggestion:
Can you make a prefs-button for witch window that will be opened first?
Sett it to Prosesses and it will open when opening, and Configuration for the other.

If you want the user to use it as a change priorities-tool it should open the prosesses-window first.
If it mainly should be used as a config-tool, the configuration window should open first.

By giving the user the prefs for this, that different user can deside what to use it for...

My suggestion anyway  ;)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,251
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2005, 05:04:58 AM »
it remembers which panel you last had open - i think that will take care of that issue,
though i suspect that the most useful thing will be leaving it on the process window most of the time.

VaMPiRiC_CRoW

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2005, 05:10:22 AM »
The GUI seems very nice :)

ahlun

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2005, 09:27:06 PM »
Thanks for providing this great product
I would like to help you with Chinese translation :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,251
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2005, 10:50:45 PM »
thanks ahlun, i would definitely appreciate your help with the translation.
i will try to look into translation soon, it will be fun.

bit

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 686
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2014, 11:22:10 PM »
Here's a preview of the new ProcessTamer Configuration GUI in action.
It's a separate program from the main resident tray tool so it takes up no resources during normal operation.

It's main purpose is obviously to help you configure ProcessTamer and create rules, but it will also let you view and change priorities on the fly quicker than through task manager, etc..





You can see that the new gui has 2 tabs, one is configuration of options and explicit override rules,
and the other acts as a kind of quick-access task manager where you can manually change priorities or kill processes.

note that this gui for configuring is a completely separate exe that is invoked when needed, so that the main program running in the tray remains super small and efficient.
I just installed ProcessTamer, and have high hopes for fewer BSODs and lock-ups.
I already set them to high priority, but why would I want to click on 'force high priority' for ProcessTamer and the 'front end' PT GUI themselves?

bit

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 686
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2014, 05:35:26 PM »
Any idea why Process Tamer won't self-start in Win7?
I checked the box for it to start on boot and also entered my DC key, but it won't do that.
Nice program! :Thmbsup:

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2014, 06:11:26 PM »
These last two post might constitute the hardest bump in Doco history.

bit

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 686
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2014, 06:41:28 PM »
These last two post might constitute the hardest bump in Doco history.
^??
My Norton Startup Manager says ProcessTamer is on its 'start on boot' list, but PTs 'front end' says it's not running at boot, and I have to manually click the Desktop icon to make its icon appear in System Tray.

Stephen66515

  • Animated Giffer in Chief
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 3,111
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #16 on: December 02, 2014, 06:47:08 PM »
These last two post might constitute the hardest bump in Doco history.
^??
My Norton Startup Manager says ProcessTamer is on its 'start on boot' list, but PTs 'front end' says it's not running at boot, and I have to manually click the Desktop icon to make its icon appear in System Tray.

He means...you just bumped a 9 year old post...Well done for missing the big red warning sticker telling you this topic is old as hell lol

bit

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 686
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #17 on: December 02, 2014, 09:20:38 PM »
These last two post might constitute the hardest bump in Doco history.
^??
My Norton Startup Manager says ProcessTamer is on its 'start on boot' list, but PTs 'front end' says it's not running at boot, and I have to manually click the Desktop icon to make its icon appear in System Tray.

He means...you just bumped a 9 year old post...Well done for missing the big red warning sticker telling you this topic is old as hell lol
^Oh! Well that's a load off my mind.
I thought I'd done something wrong or verboten somehow.
'Once I thought I was wrong, but my computer was mistaken'.

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,044
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #18 on: December 03, 2014, 09:56:30 AM »
Maybe this thread should be flagged as "CLOSED"? Or is it not yet in fact a closed issue?

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #19 on: December 03, 2014, 10:05:05 AM »
Maybe this thread should be flagged as "CLOSED"? Or is it not yet in fact a closed issue?
ah...no big deal.  It was a fun resurrection.

bit

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 686
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #20 on: December 03, 2014, 04:44:08 PM »
Why close it when I still have a question?
My Norton Startup Manager says ProcessTamer is on its 'start on boot' list, but PTs 'front end' says it's not running at boot, and I have to manually click the Desktop icon to make its icon appear in System Tray. My OS is Win 7 32-bit.

Stephen66515

  • Animated Giffer in Chief
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 3,111
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #21 on: December 03, 2014, 04:52:05 PM »
Why close it when I still have a question?
My Norton Startup Manager says ProcessTamer is on its 'start on boot' list, but PTs 'front end' says it's not running at boot, and I have to manually click the Desktop icon to make its icon appear in System Tray. My OS is Win 7 32-bit.

Because this was a topic from 2005...about the GUI of PT...wouldn't asking your question in your own thread have been a better idea?...chances are, mouser doesn't receive notifications for a topic THIS old anymore...so your chances of getting an answer to a question that has nothing to do with this old topic, is minimal...

bit

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2013
  • **
  • Posts: 686
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: New (3/31/05) preview pictures of new ProcessTamer GUI
« Reply #22 on: December 03, 2014, 05:39:59 PM »


Because this was a topic from 2005...about the GUI of PT...wouldn't asking your question in your own thread have been a better idea?...chances are, mouser doesn't receive notifications for a topic THIS old anymore...so your chances of getting an answer to a question that has nothing to do with this old topic, is minimal...
[/quote]Okay. Tnx. :)