Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 20, 2014, 12:56:28 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the full one-year retrospective report on DonationCoder.com.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Discrepancy between GUI and tray  (Read 4777 times)
longrun
Charter Member
***
Posts: 149

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: April 02, 2005, 01:33:11 PM »

I'm confused by an apparent disconnect between what's going on among the tray app, the GUI, The Windows Task Mgr, and a utility called FreeMeter. For example, for the last several minutes the tray has said winlogon.exe was being tamed, but the GUI said it was using 0/0 CPU. Also, FreeMeter usually shows a far higher CPU rate than the percentages in GUI. FreeMeter sometimes is consistently at 100% but the GUI shows very low CPU utilization  and nothing is tamed even after a long wait. This is even after adjusting the slider control almost halfway.

What accounts for the wide discrepancy? In the end what I care about most is whether my system is bogged down, but this is puzzling.

I'm using v2b6; might b8 be different?


Logged
longrun
Charter Member
***
Posts: 149

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2005, 01:58:24 PM »

Just now the tray said AutoSave.exe was being tamed. The app wasn't doing anything, the GUI said 0/0, and the log indicated that opera.exe had been tamed and untamed (which makes sense, since Opera is the app that often bogs down).
Logged
longrun
Charter Member
***
Posts: 149

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2005, 02:00:45 PM »

Just confirmed this quirk. Started CPU eater. The tray says AutoSave.exe was being tamed, while the log correctly said CPUEater.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2005, 02:18:02 PM »

ah ok, the tool tip in the tray seems to report the wrong programs sometimes; i am going to work on fixing the tooltip today.

thanks longrun.

looks like that log feature is helping out already smiley
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2005, 02:20:33 PM »

btw you can see the effects of the slider by watching the different between Instand and Average CPU readings.  the more to the left, the more AVG will rapidly track Instant.

draggin a window around the screen quickly will increase cpu usage temporarily and help to demonstrate differences.
Logged
ahlun
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2005, 09:28:17 PM »

Hi, thanks for providing such nice software.
I would like to ask if I can help with the chinese translation job smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.027s | Server load: 0.04 ]