Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 10:14:01 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: How to add shortcuts?  (Read 6154 times)

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 6,763
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
How to add shortcuts?
« on: October 29, 2006, 04:44:58 AM »
I have started out somewhat carefully, because I really am an IT anaphabet and don't understand IT-English.

This is my first LaunchBar:
MyFirstLaunchBar.jpg
The tree is showing the content of (Win2K) Start > Programs, and Start > Programs > Aux. (:'Tilbehør'), and Start > Programs > Aux > System Tools.

Start > Programs is okay; all the programs are listed.
Start > Programs > Aux. > System Tools, is okay too.
But Start > Programs > Aux is most certainly not okay!

Notice how all these 11 shortcuts are missing from (Win2K) Start > Programs > Aux.:
LauncBar Commander (!!!), PopUp Wisdom (!!), URLSnooper2 (!!), BrowserTraySwitch (!!), MySoftwareFactory (4 programs), ZIPGenius6 (3 programs), GIMP, Paint, Calculator (‘Lommeregner’), Games (‘Spil’) and Communication (Netmeeting, HyperTerminal, etc.).

(As you know, the darker grey (left) is Win, and the lighter (right) is LaunchBarCmd):
Aux_StartProgs.jpg Aux_LaunchBarCmd.jpg
- and, no, they are not listed in ‘Programs’ or 'System Tools' either.

Can I add these shortcuts myself?
 
« Last Edit: October 29, 2006, 04:54:09 AM by Curt »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,003
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to add shortcuts?
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2006, 04:56:47 AM »
i know the problem - it has to do with windows keeping multiple start menu folders, one for the user, and one for all users.

ok so, here is what you should do:
first, as a temporary measure, create a new folder contents menu in the tree and select "StartMenu" from the drop down folder contents list, instead of "AllStartMenu".

now you will have 2 start menu buttons, which combine to show you what you see on your normal start menu.

then in the coming week or so i will correct the behavior to show all from BOTH the all start menu and user start menu, which i thought i already did.



Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 6,763
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to add shortcuts?
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2006, 05:04:08 AM »
then in the coming week or so i will correct the behavior to show all from BOTH the all start menu and user start menu,

"in the coming week" !!! Wow; That is fast!  'they' usally say 'maybe at next update...'
:Thmbsup:  :Thmbsup:  :Thmbsup:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,003
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to add shortcuts?
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2006, 05:13:38 AM »
let me pre-empt the reply by someone on the forum and offer this caveat:
one week usually means two weeks
one month usually means five months
one year usually means when the sun burns out

 :-[

but i do try my best!!

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 6,763
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to add shortcuts?
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2006, 05:18:12 AM »
i know the problem - it has to do with windows keeping multiple start menu folders, one for the user, and one for all users.

ok so, here is what you should do:
first, as a temporary measure, create a new folder contents menu in the tree and select "StartMenu" from the drop down folder contents list, instead of "AllStartMenu".

now you will have 2 start menu buttons, which combine to show you what you see on your normal start menu.

then in the coming week or so i will correct the behavior to show all from BOTH the all start menu and user start menu, which i thought i already did.

"which i thought i already did."
- well, maybe you did.
I did not follow the manual 100%; I did not choose StartMenu or AllStartMenu from the drop down folder contents list, but I directed the "Root Folder to Display" to  C:\Documents and Settings\Curt\Menuen Start\Programmer\Tilbehør
- so maybe there is nothing for you to correct (except me)??

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,003
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to add shortcuts?
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2006, 05:25:09 AM »
ah!
maybe!
try it, try choosing the special AllStartMenu folder contents, and see if it displays.

another advantage of using the special folders choices, is that Launchbar Commander is designed to work on a USB stick, and will auto grab the proper directories in this case.

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 6,763
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to add shortcuts?
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2006, 05:50:27 AM »
try choosing the special AllStartMenu folder contents, and see if it displays.

Oops! "No items to display"!!??

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 6,763
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to add shortcuts?
« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2006, 06:34:29 AM »
I changed User ('Curt') to All Users, but ...

AllUsers1.jpg
- notice that 'Tilbehør' (Aux.) is displaying nothing

This is really confusing me - I do not understand what I did wrong this time.
??
« Last Edit: October 29, 2006, 06:38:12 AM by Curt »

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 6,763
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to add shortcuts?
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2006, 06:49:34 AM »
- and why did Commander suddenly give me this greeting:
capture_29102006_122137.jpg At this point of time the program had been working well for hours.

This was before I changed the path from User to All Users.

Could there be something wrong?
« Last Edit: October 29, 2006, 06:56:31 AM by Curt »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,003
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to add shortcuts?
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2006, 08:46:12 AM »
1. the menus arent updated until you close the tree configurator.
2. you might want to make a backup of your configuration launchbar files while you are experimenting, just in case.
3. AllStartMenu is not working for you?  what windows operating system version are you using?

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 6,763
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to add shortcuts?
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2006, 09:20:35 AM »
1. the menus arent updated until you close the tree configurator.
"At this point of time the program had been working well for hours"
-and, I could add, working well after re-boot as well.

2. you might want to make a backup of your configuration launchbar files while you are experimenting, just in case.
I will do that when I install the program again.

3. AllStartMenu is not working for you?  what windows operating system version are you using?
Win2K Pro - version 5, SP4, Danish.

--

Most likely there is nothing wrong with your program, but during this 'studycase' of LaunchBar Commander my PC began to be unstable. After re-boot several icons did not display in SysTray as normal. After 15 (FIFTEEN) re-boots and a lot of trying this and trying that, it now seems to work almost normally again, but two icons are still missing. I guess I'll have to re-install / repair Windows, but I don't have the installation-CD anymore, so for now I'll just have to accept things as they are.

I think I will install your program again tonight,
but right now I wanna see some ball being played.  ;)
- it's late afternoon here in Denmark.

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 6,763
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to add shortcuts?
« Reply #11 on: November 06, 2006, 05:53:25 PM »
3. AllStartMenu is not working for you? 

I never got the program to show all shortcuts, so now I have removed it from my PC, and will await an update, if so will be.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,003
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to add shortcuts?
« Reply #12 on: November 06, 2006, 06:14:55 PM »
i'll be looking into it - there's no reason it shouldnt be fixed soon.