Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 25, 2014, 01:11:20 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: How to add shortcuts?  (Read 5535 times)
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,338

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: October 29, 2006, 04:44:58 AM »

I have started out somewhat carefully, because I really am an IT anaphabet and don't understand IT-English.

This is my first LaunchBar:

The tree is showing the content of (Win2K) Start > Programs, and Start > Programs > Aux. (:'Tilbehør'), and Start > Programs > Aux > System Tools.

Start > Programs is okay; all the programs are listed.
Start > Programs > Aux. > System Tools, is okay too.
But Start > Programs > Aux is most certainly not okay!

Notice how all these 11 shortcuts are missing from (Win2K) Start > Programs > Aux.:
LauncBar Commander (!!!), PopUp Wisdom (!!), URLSnooper2 (!!), BrowserTraySwitch (!!), MySoftwareFactory (4 programs), ZIPGenius6 (3 programs), GIMP, Paint, Calculator (‘Lommeregner’), Games (‘Spil’) and Communication (Netmeeting, HyperTerminal, etc.).

(As you know, the darker grey (left) is Win, and the lighter (right) is LaunchBarCmd):

- and, no, they are not listed in ‘Programs’ or 'System Tools' either.

Can I add these shortcuts myself?
 
« Last Edit: October 29, 2006, 04:54:09 AM by Curt » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2006, 04:56:47 AM »

i know the problem - it has to do with windows keeping multiple start menu folders, one for the user, and one for all users.

ok so, here is what you should do:
first, as a temporary measure, create a new folder contents menu in the tree and select "StartMenu" from the drop down folder contents list, instead of "AllStartMenu".

now you will have 2 start menu buttons, which combine to show you what you see on your normal start menu.

then in the coming week or so i will correct the behavior to show all from BOTH the all start menu and user start menu, which i thought i already did.


Logged
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,338

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2006, 05:04:08 AM »

then in the coming week or so i will correct the behavior to show all from BOTH the all start menu and user start menu,

"in the coming week" !!! Wow; That is fast!  'they' usally say 'maybe at next update...'
Thmbsup  Thmbsup  Thmbsup
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2006, 05:13:38 AM »

let me pre-empt the reply by someone on the forum and offer this caveat:
one week usually means two weeks
one month usually means five months
one year usually means when the sun burns out

 embarassed

but i do try my best!!
Logged
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,338

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2006, 05:18:12 AM »

i know the problem - it has to do with windows keeping multiple start menu folders, one for the user, and one for all users.

ok so, here is what you should do:
first, as a temporary measure, create a new folder contents menu in the tree and select "StartMenu" from the drop down folder contents list, instead of "AllStartMenu".

now you will have 2 start menu buttons, which combine to show you what you see on your normal start menu.

then in the coming week or so i will correct the behavior to show all from BOTH the all start menu and user start menu, which i thought i already did.

"which i thought i already did."
- well, maybe you did.
I did not follow the manual 100%; I did not choose StartMenu or AllStartMenu from the drop down folder contents list, but I directed the "Root Folder to Display" to  C:\Documents and Settings\Curt\Menuen Start\Programmer\Tilbehør
- so maybe there is nothing for you to correct (except me)??
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2006, 05:25:09 AM »

ah!
maybe!
try it, try choosing the special AllStartMenu folder contents, and see if it displays.

another advantage of using the special folders choices, is that Launchbar Commander is designed to work on a USB stick, and will auto grab the proper directories in this case.
Logged
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,338

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2006, 05:50:27 AM »

try choosing the special AllStartMenu folder contents, and see if it displays.

Oops! "No items to display"!!??
Logged
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,338

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2006, 06:34:29 AM »

I changed User ('Curt') to All Users, but ...


- notice that 'Tilbehør' (Aux.) is displaying nothing

This is really confusing me - I do not understand what I did wrong this time.
??
« Last Edit: October 29, 2006, 06:38:12 AM by Curt » Logged
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,338

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2006, 06:49:34 AM »

- and why did Commander suddenly give me this greeting:
At this point of time the program had been working well for hours.

This was before I changed the path from User to All Users.

Could there be something wrong?
« Last Edit: October 29, 2006, 06:56:31 AM by Curt » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2006, 08:46:12 AM »

1. the menus arent updated until you close the tree configurator.
2. you might want to make a backup of your configuration launchbar files while you are experimenting, just in case.
3. AllStartMenu is not working for you?  what windows operating system version are you using?
Logged
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,338

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2006, 09:20:35 AM »

1. the menus arent updated until you close the tree configurator.
"At this point of time the program had been working well for hours"
-and, I could add, working well after re-boot as well.

2. you might want to make a backup of your configuration launchbar files while you are experimenting, just in case.
I will do that when I install the program again.

3. AllStartMenu is not working for you?  what windows operating system version are you using?
Win2K Pro - version 5, SP4, Danish.

--

Most likely there is nothing wrong with your program, but during this 'studycase' of LaunchBar Commander my PC began to be unstable. After re-boot several icons did not display in SysTray as normal. After 15 (FIFTEEN) re-boots and a lot of trying this and trying that, it now seems to work almost normally again, but two icons are still missing. I guess I'll have to re-install / repair Windows, but I don't have the installation-CD anymore, so for now I'll just have to accept things as they are.

I think I will install your program again tonight,
but right now I wanna see some ball being played.  Wink
- it's late afternoon here in Denmark.
Logged
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,338

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: November 06, 2006, 05:53:25 PM »

3. AllStartMenu is not working for you? 

I never got the program to show all shortcuts, so now I have removed it from my PC, and will await an update, if so will be.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,597



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: November 06, 2006, 06:14:55 PM »

i'll be looking into it - there's no reason it shouldnt be fixed soon.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.032s | Server load: 0.05 ]