Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 26, 2014, 03:34:34 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Comments on ScreenshotCaptor - Beta Version - 2.12.01 to 2.24.01  (Read 11317 times)
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: September 10, 2006, 03:52:02 PM »

damn i thought abterix was going to love this feature  Cry

let me make clear this is a totally optional dialog.  in the OnCapture options tab (and now also from manu) you can tell it what to do when a new screenshot is taken (restore main window, dont restore main window, and now this quick popup dialog).

so if you like taking long series of pics without using this, nothing will have changed for you.

this is an additional option for those people who like to take a pic, then decide whether to keep it or not.  it's as simple as that.

when you use this dialog, it comes up before the file is ever saved to disk, so it comes up much faster, and discarding an image results in no wasted disk activity or clowdown.

i probably need to add something to that dialog that lets you choose not to diplay it any more since i'm afraid new users will conclude that the dialog is mandatory.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: September 10, 2006, 04:02:47 PM »

Quote
have the preview respond to ESC for discard and ENTER for keep
I'll be adding Esc to cancel to the next version; Enter will rechoose the last selected action.
Logged
AbteriX
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 1,052


Member #520

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: September 10, 2006, 04:50:30 PM »

damn i thought abterix was going to love this feature  Cry
Grin i do love the preview and the discard button!
But i didn't see the benefit of see this new window then SCwindow itself!
I only see an another step if i choose to work farther on with this current capture.
And if i want to drop this shot i can do this in SCwindow directly.

The only good (for me) is the part that you not immediately save the capture to disk.
But the preview i (i !) like to have in the SCwindow, where i can crop or zoom it
and see than if i wanna keep it.


Quote
let me make clear this is a totally optional dialog.  in the OnCapture options tab (and
now also from manu) you can tell it what to do when a new screenshot is taken (restore
main window, dont restore main window, and now this quick popup dialog).
yes, i have seen this option.

So allow me again my older question
"why you didn't use SC to preview the capture bevor the user choose to save it?"

My old request is still an option "[X]Auto save Capture" in [On capture - General]
which i would let disabled most of the time.
Sorry i have to went offline soon (23:45)cheesy

But it seams most of the other user like this new dialog, so it's fine too (for the moment:)
Logged

Greetings, Stefan.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: September 10, 2006, 09:31:00 PM »

you can zoom in the preview window with mouse wheel and left+right click, as long as you turn off the auto fit checkbox.

there are advantages to the mini window:
1) its faster to display because its simpler and doesnt user thumbnail explorer browser.
2) nice and small (if you resize it small) so it dont disturb your other work.
3) you can just hit quick keys for keep, discard, print.
4) doesnt autosave.. i might still add this to main sc.
Logged
AbteriX
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 1,052


Member #520

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: September 11, 2006, 01:05:25 AM »

.
I love SC!, so here i am again, sorry  Sad

you can zoom in the preview window with mouse wheel and left+right click, as long as you turn off the auto fit checkbox.

there are advantages to the mini window:
1) its faster to display because its simpler and doesnt user thumbnail explorer browser.
Thumbnails never was an problem, even with manys of them.  cheesy
The time problem was every the time needed to save the shot, till i can work with him. (~1GHz,500MB and ~700Hz,750MB)

Quote
2) nice and small (if you resize it small)
If i resize it small, the capture preview is also small and useless cheesy

Quote
so it dont disturb your other work.
Every extra click... cheesy
Quote
3) you can just hit quick keys for keep, discard, print.
In SC main window too  cheesy
Quote
4) doesnt autosave.. i might still add this to main sc.
If you find time... thanks. cheesy
Logged

Greetings, Stefan.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: September 11, 2006, 01:19:59 AM »

i do see your point, at least for advanced users who know how to do everything..
i will try to add a non-automatic save feature to the main sc window next time.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: September 11, 2006, 02:44:50 AM »

new minor update to 2.20.02 with minor tweaks.
Logged
Cavalcader
Charter Member
***
Posts: 192


Live Long & Prosper

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: September 12, 2006, 12:10:35 PM »

Got a bug report: Captor seems to capture all "multimedia keyboard" buttons as if they're PrtScn keystrokes.

Also, have you considered a way to do a drop-shadow inside an image? For example, I wanted to highlight an area to look like this:


But,



As you can see, the highlighting rectangle/circle affects the contrast of the image. Sometimes that's a good effect, but if the contrast of the highlight could be adjustable (and maybe the size of the drop-shadow) that seems like it'd do the trick.

Here's a feature suggestion that would make a huge difference in cranking out fancy results: it'd be awesome to have a way to chain effects. I dunno if a whole scripting language would be necessary -- maybe just a panel where you'd have the effect list on the left and buttons to copy left to right for an "event" list (alongside buttons to move the events up or down in the sequence). Is that too elaborate?

Here's an example. Say I capture a rectangular area of the desktop:



Then add a drop-shadow:


Use the option to blur/grey/dim the outside of a rectangular selection on the capture:



And finally, drop-shadow again:


If this were a stand-alone effect, you could call the effect ''plaque'' since it kinda looks like one of those formal plaques you sometimes see as achievement awards or dedications. Here's another example using the object from the first item:

« Last Edit: September 12, 2006, 12:16:45 PM by Cavalcader » Logged

My Linguistic Profile:
  40% General American English
  30% Yankee
  20% Dixie

What Kind of American English Do You Speak?
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: September 12, 2006, 12:16:22 PM »

i like the plaque idea; adding it to todo list.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #34 on: September 12, 2006, 12:18:31 PM »

i'll look into the multimedia key problem, that is indeed a bug that seems painfull.
i may have to do a few tests with your help to figure out exactly what is going wrong.
Logged
Cavalcader
Charter Member
***
Posts: 192


Live Long & Prosper

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #35 on: September 12, 2006, 12:23:31 PM »

Sounds good to me! It's the Microsoft "digital media pro" keyboard if that helps any -- it uses the Intellitype driver(s), and probably makes use of the HID Input service in XP.

I really love Captor's creative features -- here's an example of that highlight selection used to better effect.

Shoreline drive:




Shoreline derived:


Logged

My Linguistic Profile:
  40% General American English
  30% Yankee
  20% Dixie

What Kind of American English Do You Speak?
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #36 on: September 12, 2006, 12:29:37 PM »

Don't forget that there are some good paint/image manipulation programs out there, and Screenshot Captor is designed to work well with them! Take the time to configure Paint.net or Paintshop Pro, or Photoshop,etc. as the graphic editor or as a TOOL in screenshot captor and you can very easily edit images with your graphics editor and have SC automatically detect changes and load them back in without losing any objects (text, arrows).
Logged
Cavalcader
Charter Member
***
Posts: 192


Live Long & Prosper

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #37 on: September 12, 2006, 02:43:18 PM »

Definitely! I've already got IrfanView set up in the Tools menu, and I'm still gonna add GIMP and maybe MS Paint. Cool
(Whoops, never mind on Paint, I forgot I've already got IrfanView set up to spawn Paint as the external editor.)

BTW, did you ever figure out a way to grab non-rect windows?
« Last Edit: September 12, 2006, 06:59:35 PM by Cavalcader » Logged

My Linguistic Profile:
  40% General American English
  30% Yankee
  20% Dixie

What Kind of American English Do You Speak?
Cavalcader
Charter Member
***
Posts: 192


Live Long & Prosper

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #38 on: September 12, 2006, 07:02:10 PM »

I had to show you one more. You remember the "torn paper" mask you include with Captor? I copied it to the Frames dir and used both at the same time after a drop-shadow with (I think) pretty cool results.  Cool

« Last Edit: September 12, 2006, 07:04:34 PM by Cavalcader » Logged

My Linguistic Profile:
  40% General American English
  30% Yankee
  20% Dixie

What Kind of American English Do You Speak?
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #39 on: September 12, 2006, 07:06:24 PM »

btw one of the things at the top of my todo list for screenshot captor is improved frames for things like torn edge effects, etc.

as for non-rectangular regions, im still working on that.
Logged
Cavalcader
Charter Member
***
Posts: 192


Live Long & Prosper

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #40 on: September 12, 2006, 07:13:36 PM »

btw one of the things at the top of my todo list for screenshot captor is improved frames for things like torn edge effects, etc.

as for non-rectangular regions, im still working on that.
Both excellent news. Thanks, man!   Thmbsup
Logged

My Linguistic Profile:
  40% General American English
  30% Yankee
  20% Dixie

What Kind of American English Do You Speak?
OGroeger
Charter Member
***
Posts: 76


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #41 on: September 13, 2006, 12:31:04 AM »

btw one of the things at the top of my todo list for screenshot captor is improved frames for things like torn edge effects, etc.

as for non-rectangular regions, im still working on that.

Excellent. Thanks, mouser.
Logged
wr975
Charter Member
***
Posts: 369



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #42 on: September 16, 2006, 05:37:30 AM »

I really like the new "Popup Choice" feature. Big thumbs up! Thmbsup But if I capture something and select "Save Image As", the program isn't applying any "On Capture - Effects" like 'Add Border To Image'.

Perhaps there can be an option to apply "On Capture - Effects" before the Popup Choice appears?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #43 on: September 19, 2006, 06:35:52 AM »

v2.21.02 BETA released.

This version has the long requests non-automatic save option (See On Capture tab).
This is still a bit experimental so use with caution:
when you enable this option, each new capture will not automatically be saved (unless you modify it), so new images will overwrite old until you save.

It should speed up captures significantly, but you have to be careful you dont take 10 captures in a row in this mode without saving and then open up the window to find only your last capture has been kept.

I look forward to hearing your impressions of this new mode and whether you find it useful.

(note: i've started locking the update threads so please post impressions on a separate thread).
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #44 on: October 08, 2006, 08:05:46 AM »

i've made the last beta the new stable version, and this now includes the ability to specify exactly where you want your settings file stored.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.036s | Server load: 0.19 ]