Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 04, 2015, 11:37:33 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Startup Speed  (Read 5005 times)

matt_man22

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Startup Speed
« on: October 02, 2006, 03:20:15 PM »
I am using the latest v1.10.02.  Whenever I press the hotkey, like Ctrl+Space, and start typing to find something, there is a slight delay and it skips the first letter.  So if I was searching for "notepad," it would come out "otepad" and open something else.  I really would like it to be faster, so I can type right away.

It's only searching the start-menu and quicklaunch, nothing else.  I noticed previously you could keep it in memory.  Anything I can do to speed up the display?

I'm on a 1.8ghz Pentium core duo with 1 gig of ram.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,012
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Startup Speed
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2006, 03:32:16 PM »
i have another idea how i might fix this.. i'll try to have an update this week.

matt_man22

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Startup Speed
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2006, 03:37:21 PM »
Thanks for the quick response.  It's a great piece of software and I'm still finding out all the little tweaks I can do.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,012
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Startup Speed
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2006, 06:44:04 PM »
i've posted a new beta (v1.11.01) that should tackle some of these issues, please give it a try and let me know what you think.

matt_man22

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Startup Speed
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2006, 01:10:55 AM »
I really appreciate the update so quickly.  However, I'm still having the same issue.

While I realize this is separate from Explorer, hitting Windows Key + R and then typing will catch all letters, without delay.  I don't think it's a problem of not catching the first letter (this works well once the window is displayed), but rather still a loading delay of the window.  I'm noticing about a .5 delay until the window appears, while the Explorer run dialog displays instantaneously.  It might be a limitation of Windows.  I'll try some of my own tests with some basic hotkey programs in Delphi/VB.

matt_man22

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Startup Speed
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2006, 01:25:03 AM »
I created a small Delphi application that only serves to set a hotkey and move to focus for typing.  I set the hotkey to the same (for reaction time) and then tried typing a normal shortcut.

It always caught the first letter even with a quicker typing pace.  However, it also appeared right away.  Obviously this program did not have to hide in the system tray and was only set to a background window.  It also did not have to load any other controls or access the hard drive.  But my main thought is that the window show time is what causes the first letter to get cut off.  Not sure what can be done, but I thought this might help you out.

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 483
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Startup Speed
« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2006, 12:19:17 PM »
Hi mouser,

i'm still having the same issue as matt_man22 with the new beta release

i reported that problem some time ago, i still have FARR installed, but i use launchy in my everyday work

Don't get me wrong, i do love FARR, but it would be so much better (for me), if there was not this startup problem

Keep up the good work ;)

PS: i'm missing 2 or 3 keys ... not just one

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,012
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Startup Speed
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2006, 04:35:21 PM »
can you guys double check that you are using v 1.11.01 or later.
i have another thing im going to try as well, i should have another update later this week.

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 483
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Startup Speed
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2006, 01:13:56 PM »
Hi mouser,

i've just downloaded 1.13.1
still missing 2 or 3 keys ...

nontroppo

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 649
  • spinning top
    • View Profile
    • nontroppo.org
    • Donate to Member
Re: Startup Speed
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2006, 05:20:22 AM »
nitrix-ud - how many search folders - are any network drives? do you start showing history?

also, do you have file monitor from sysinternals[1] - if so how many operations is FARR performing on start?


----
[1] http://www.sysintern...ilities/Filemon.html
FARR Wishes: Performance TweaksTask ControlAdaptive History
[url=http://opera.com/]

nitrix-ud

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 483
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Startup Speed
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2006, 12:34:39 PM »
@nontroppo
Some answers ;)

> how many search folders - are any network drives? do you start showing history?

6 search folders (default ones mainly) no network drive, no history

i tried to keep it as light as possible

nontroppo

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 649
  • spinning top
    • View Profile
    • nontroppo.org
    • Donate to Member
Re: Startup Speed
« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2006, 04:52:10 AM »
If you don't show history at start, then FARR should be fast to start (it makes almost no file access, everything is in memory). I can only get it to miss MAX one character when I turn history off...
FARR Wishes: Performance TweaksTask ControlAdaptive History
[url=http://opera.com/]