Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 04:42:39 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Process Tamer and Svchost  (Read 5991 times)

jcmn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Process Tamer and Svchost
« on: September 24, 2006, 05:47:24 AM »
Hello

I'm new here and I just begun using process tamer.
It seems that PT doesn't adjust priority of SVCHOST. In my PC it usually hogs resources for 1-2 minutes when Microsoft Updates launch. How to change this?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer and Svchost
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2006, 06:05:07 AM »
are you using the latest beta (v2.06 beta)?

One of the things that was changed with that version was to give pt the ability to tame stuff it couldn't beforehand, like svchost.

jcmn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer and Svchost
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2006, 06:08:27 AM »
Nope
I'm using 2.05.02 Where can I download the beta version?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer and Svchost
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2006, 07:00:15 AM »
http://www.donationc...proctamer/index.html

it's the *second* download on the left sidebar.

jcmn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer and Svchost
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2006, 07:04:00 AM »
Thanks

I'll see if this version is able to control Microsoft Updates and SVCHOST. I'll tell something back.

jcmn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer and Svchost
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2006, 01:32:18 PM »
Coming back..

After a normal boot SVCHOST loads Microsoft Update and it begins readings in disk taking all the CPU for 1-2 minutes. PT "tells" me that SVCHOST level was lowered but unfortunately it didn't get results. Any ideas?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer and Svchost
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2006, 01:37:26 PM »
Quote
unfortunately it didn't get results
Do you mean to say that it didn't change the priority, or that it changed the priority but it didn't really help your system performance?

jcmn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer and Svchost
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2006, 01:39:48 PM »
I mean it changed priority but with no visible results.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer and Svchost
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2006, 04:36:05 PM »
If it's doing heavy disk I/O, changing it's priority won't help that much.

Sounds like something is wrong with your system anyway, you shouldn't have that heavy disk activity for that long at startup. Do you have any heavy antivirus package? Do you have antivirus at all? Is your disk in DMA or PIO mode?
- carpe noctem

jcmn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer and Svchost
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2006, 12:39:11 PM »
Hello again

I have only for 1-2 minutes this heavy burden on CPU while Microsoft Update is reading in disk. If this is usuall I don't know.
I have an antivirus but it is very light.
To what relates to disk it is in DMA mode.

I think this has to do with what is installed by Microsoft mainly related with OS copy validation ( windows genuine validation(?)). But this is my opinion. I'm not an expert.


f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer and Svchost
« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2006, 04:58:14 PM »
Quote
To what relates to disk it is in DMA mode.
If your disk is in PIO mode, disk I/O will be very CPU heavy. Windows XP will revert a disk from DMA to PIO if it senses errors, which usually means your disk is dying (or that you have a faulty optical drive on the same IDE cable).

Quote
I think this has to do with what is installed by Microsoft mainly related with OS copy validation ( windows genuine validation(?)). But this is my opinion. I'm not an expert.
The copy validation, silly as it is, should still be pretty light. You might want to use Process Explorer to find the svchost process that has high CPU load, then find which thread it responsible, and see which executable file this thread belongs to...
- carpe noctem

jcmn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Process Tamer and Svchost
« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2006, 01:34:36 PM »
I use Process Explorer from Sysinternals (it's one of the best), to track this kind of issues or malware running etc..

I began to have this CPU picks after install of the Windows Genuine Advantage tool.
Anyway it is not quite a big issue because it doesn't happen everyday and with the same extent.
For example, I had today an update, I think, related with the last VML exploit.

About my disk it is two months old only, it is in fact the newer part of my PC. The oldest is the motherboard and processor (Athlon XP 1.3).

Thanks for your ideas about this. If something goes odd I will open a new post.