Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 08:52:16 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Force kill after XX seconds  (Read 4019 times)

aignes

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
    • WebSite-Watcher
    • Donate to Member
Force kill after XX seconds
« on: September 21, 2006, 03:07:20 AM »
I think I read it also in another thread, but the only thing I really miss in your excellent ProcessTamer tool is the explicit rule:

Force kill after XX seconds

XX could also be a static value (for example 30 seconds or something like that).

In one of the tools I use for batch processing when I'm not in front of my PC, the CPU often goes up to 100% for a few seconds what is OK, but sometimes it hangs in an endless loop. In that case it would be very helpful to kill it after 30 seconds or so...
- Martin Aignesberger,  author of WebSite-Watcher

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,959
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Force kill after XX seconds
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2006, 03:18:01 AM »
my next plan for process tamer is to allow some flexible rules, i will make sure to add one like this:
kill app X app if its cpu use is over Y for Z minutes.

(am i understanding this right, that its a specific process you want to specify for killing?)

aignes

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
    • WebSite-Watcher
    • Donate to Member
Re: Force kill after XX seconds
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2006, 03:54:31 AM »
Quote
my next plan for process tamer is to allow some flexible rules, i will make sure to add one like this:
kill app X app if its cpu use is over Y for Z minutes.

wow, great :)

Quote
(am i understanding this right, that its a specific process you want to specify for killing?)

it's a single application.

In the current ProcessTamer version I can use the explicit rule "Force kill", but I would need a "Force kill after 30 seconds of >90% CPU usage" or something like that.

So your mentioned "kill app X if its cpu use is over Y for Z minutes" will exactly do what I need. Thanks :)
- Martin Aignesberger,  author of WebSite-Watcher