Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 29, 2014, 03:41:54 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: What does enable/disable updating in Locate32 actually do?  (Read 2854 times)
treefrog
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: September 10, 2006, 04:36:21 PM »

Locate32 indexes the files on a PC.

In the options pane there are loads of choices.

One which flummoxes me is the Enable Updating/Disable Updating.

Can anyone explain this.  I am hoping it will get rid of entries in the results list (with brown icons) for files I have moved or deleted.

Thank you.
Logged
brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2006, 04:46:29 PM »

Hi and welcome to the site!

Maybe you didn't fully grasp the concept of Locate? Since it's so blazing fast because it accesses databases of your files those databases need to be updated. Check the screenshot of the "Auto Update" tab in http://www.donationcoder....um/index.php?topic=1385.0 (last screenshot in my posting). If you didn't add any scheduled updates there, just do that.

Enjoy! smiley
Logged

Thank you.
treefrog
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2006, 03:49:02 PM »

Hi and welcome to the site!

Maybe you didn't fully grasp the concept of Locate? Since it's so blazing fast because it accesses databases of your files those databases need to be updated. Check the screenshot of the "Auto Update" tab in http://www.donationcoder....um/index.php?topic=1385.0 (last screenshot in my posting). If you didn't add any scheduled updates there, just do that.

Hello brotherS.

Thank you for the reply.  I didn't misunderstand how Locate32 works but maybe I didn't make it clear enough (I just said it indexes the files on a PC).

However I am not referring to updating Locate's indexes by using scans.

Instead, I am referring to the settings which are under UPDATE RESULTS.  I can either:
(a)  disable updating (file info from database)
(b)  enable updating (info corresponds files) 

If I choose (b) then I can select from:

(i) do not track file system changes
(ii) track file system changes
(iii) track file system changes (old method).

--------

It is these settings which confuse me.  I have no idea what they are trying to do or how they do it!

Can you or anyone else help me out.

As I said, I half-hope they can reduce the number of "old/moved" hits which Locate32 comes across as I have no need to see those at all!

Thanks for any help.

Logged
brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2006, 04:05:32 AM »

Oh, I see. The main purpose of disabling updating for a database is if you would like Locate to search the database of a disconnected drive, for example a USB backup HD. That way you can search for its contents while it's not connected.

If Locate is updating its regular databases for all local files every few hours you should only rarely see "old/moved" files as results.
Logged

Thank you.
treefrog
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2006, 05:45:52 AM »

Oh, I see. The main purpose of disabling updating for a database is if you would like Locate to search the database of a disconnected drive, for example a USB backup HD. That way you can search for its contents while it's not connected.

If Locate is updating its regular databases for all local files every few hours you should only rarely see "old/moved" files as results.


You still misunderstand me!

What am I saying wrong?
Or is this a wind up?   cheesy

I really can not exlain it more clearly than I have done.

I am not really referring to the database selection.  No offense but could I trouble you, good sir, to check back and see exactly what part of Explore32 I am referring to.

Thanks!
Treefroggy

.
Logged
brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2006, 06:02:55 AM »

Oh my...  Grin

I think now it's YOUR turn to post screenshots, where you highlight stuff or use arrows and numbers etc. smiley Screenshot Captor is a good tool for that.  Cool
Logged

Thank you.
jmj
Charter Member
***
Posts: 42


Author of Locate32

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2006, 11:55:12 PM »

However I am not referring to updating Locate's indexes by using scans.

Instead, I am referring to the settings which are under UPDATE RESULTS.  I can either:
(a)  disable updating (file info from database)
(b)  enable updating (info corresponds files) 

If I choose (b) then I can select from:

(i) do not track file system changes
(ii) track file system changes
(iii) track file system changes (old method).

--------

It is these settings which confuse me.  I have no idea what they are trying to do or how they do it!

Maybe I'll try to explain this.

If you have set "Enable updating (info corresponds files)" option, then after a search, Locate will read file information (file size, dates, ...) again from file system (not from database). If "disable updating (file info from database)" is set, then Locate does not do that and shown file size, modification date, etc... are from database. Then shown information may be wrong if you files have changed after databases are updated. The purpose of these options is following: if you have file in the result list contained in drive which is currently offline, then if this you have enabled updating, this file will be seen as deleted file and you can't see any information from filesize, modification date, etc.

And here is an exmple how "track file system changes" option works:
Select one file in the result list and choose "Open containing folder" from File menu/context menu so that Explorer window will appear. Select same file in Explorer and try, for example, rename file. If tracking is enabled, at the same time when you have renamed file, Locate will change the state of that file to "Deleted file" in the result list. And if you change file somehow, locate will show new file size and modication time in the result list immediately.

 

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.038s | Server load: 0.05 ]