Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 02, 2016, 06:25:16 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: what happened to the ascii packet window?  (Read 6675 times)

compn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
what happened to the ascii packet window?
« on: August 27, 2006, 08:27:12 AM »
i liked the packet dump at the bottom of url snooper, was it slowing things down?

it was useful to see other info in the packets.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: what happened to the ascii packet window?
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2006, 12:13:56 PM »
it's still there of course :)
just make sure you are in advanced mode and then slide it up from bottom
(by default it may be collapsed and sorta hidden all the way to bottom of the status bar).

compn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: what happened to the ascii packet window?
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2006, 03:15:41 PM »
doh, i'm blind.

compn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: what happened to the ascii packet window?
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2013, 01:33:44 PM »
now with view raw packet contents feature, its impossible to view raw packets of urls while the sniffer is on.

have to pause or stop sniffing. kind of annoying.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: what happened to the ascii packet window?
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2013, 01:40:21 PM »
Quote
its impossible to view raw packets of urls while the sniffer is on.

this is not true -- i haven't changed anything in this regard -- you can still view packets live.

you can use the Pause/Resume/Parse button in upper right to pause and step through packets.

or am i missing something?

compn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: what happened to the ascii packet window?
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2013, 02:22:15 PM »
i mean, when you click on a url that urlsnooper found, in the old pre-february version, you would see that raw packet.

but in newest version, and march version, if the sniffer is running, the raw capture box updates, even when clicking on url results.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: what happened to the ascii packet window?
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2013, 02:26:55 PM »
ah i see.. you can get around that by PAUSING the parsing of packets, then click on found packets to see them, then click RESUME.

i can add an option to go back to previous behavior and not show new packets when you click on an old one.

compn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: what happened to the ascii packet window?
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2013, 02:37:16 PM »
an extra option would be fine. thanks! :)

that raw packet realtime view is crazy if you have any kind of download going in the background.
i guess i multitask too much for it to be useful for me.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: what happened to the ascii packet window?
« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2013, 02:44:27 PM »
it's true, having it flash by live is not very useful -- it goes too fast to make sense of i must admit.

colin1951uk

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: what happened to the ascii packet window?
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2014, 11:01:02 AM »
Did you ever add that extra option as per Reply #6 Mouser?

I don't see it in the latest version and this flashing by of packets drives me nuts, I really can't see the point of it.

I've lost my old versions and I'd like to go back to one where I can click and view the packets as per the original poster said in Reply #5.

Is there an archive of older releases anywhere on this site that could help me out?

Cheers...Colin

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: what happened to the ascii packet window?
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2014, 06:38:24 PM »

colin1951uk

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: what happened to the ascii packet window?
« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2014, 02:15:23 PM »
Now that's great, that extra option of checking/unchecking Auto Show New Packets makes all the difference in the world.

Thanks for putting it in Mouser  :Thmbsup:

Cheers...Colin

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: what happened to the ascii packet window?
« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2014, 08:12:01 AM »
Great! Thanks for your patience and testing.  :up: