topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Friday March 29, 2024, 12:30 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: [Article] Software Below The Poverty Line  (Read 6067 times)

NetRunner

• Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • default avatar
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
[Article] Software Below The Poverty Line
« on: June 20, 2019, 06:09 AM »
Most people believe that open source sustainability is a difficult problem to solve. As an open source developer myself, my own perspective to this problem was more optimistic: I believe in the donation model, for its simplicity and possibility to scale.

I decided to collect data from OpenCollective and GitHub, and take a more scientific sample of the situation. The results I found were shocking: there were two clearly sustainable open source projects, but the majority (more than 80%) of projects that we usually consider sustainable are actually receiving income below industry standards or even below the poverty threshold.

https://staltz.com/s...he-poverty-line.html

mouser

• First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: [Article] Software Below The Poverty Line
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2019, 06:33 AM »
Thanks for sharing this.  We are living in interesting times.  It would be impossible for me to recommend a donation-based funding approach for software developers who are hoping to receive enough money to make it their full time job, as that is a road paved with disappointment for almost everyone.