topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 16, 2018, 11:58 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 13 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Help with DC IRC Chat Server please, Thank you. [solved]  (Read 1766 times)

KodeZwerg

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Help with DC IRC Chat Server please, Thank you. [solved]
« on: September 30, 2018, 05:58 AM »
...i hope i am in the right place to post this...

Hello fellas,

today i've tried to use DC-Chat feature, was unsuccessful, Browser (https) always close the chat window.
So i've tried installing IRC Client (nettalk i've picked), entered "freenode.net" as server on port "6667".
Tried with and without UTF-8 encoding, but cannot build up a connection to server "freenode.net".

So my question, is that server running at all and does your channel still exist?



Best regards,

KodeZwerg
sorry bad english and Delphi are my hobby ;)
politeness is not one of my strengths in writing, just because it sounds rough doesn't mean that I mean it rough.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2018, 03:34 PM by KodeZwerg, Reason: thread closed »

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,095
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: current DC IRC Chat Server?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2018, 07:42 AM »
Try chat.freenode.net.

KodeZwerg

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: current DC IRC Chat Server?
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2018, 08:10 AM »
Try chat.freenode.net.
Thank you Tuxman, that Server exists and i am connected.
Screenshot - 30_09.jpgHelp with DC IRC Chat Server please, Thank you. [solved] the displayed servername is wrong. Or it might be my unexperience with it.
sorry bad english and Delphi are my hobby ;)
politeness is not one of my strengths in writing, just because it sounds rough doesn't mean that I mean it rough.

KodeZwerg

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: current DC IRC Chat Server?
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2018, 08:18 AM »
I guess i am doing something wrong, but unable to find out what.
Screenshot - 30_09 002.jpgHelp with DC IRC Chat Server please, Thank you. [solved]
Does someone have a clue for me IRC beginner?


edit
BTW, what you see; i've just entered text and hit enter, do i need to type a command infront of text so its going into chat?
sorry bad english and Delphi are my hobby ;)
politeness is not one of my strengths in writing, just because it sounds rough doesn't mean that I mean it rough.

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,095
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: current DC IRC Chat Server?
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2018, 08:21 AM »
the displayed servername is wrong.

It is not. chat.freenode.net is the entry point for the various servers in the network named freenode.net.

KodeZwerg

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: current DC IRC Chat Server?
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2018, 09:00 AM »
That sound plausible, still a bit confusing if you start with given server and nothing happen, just a "failed to connect".
Your "chat." prefix works for me very good, it chooses during connect another server, at least i can connect.
Now i need to figure out how i can send a message in that room, registered to that network i am.
sorry bad english and Delphi are my hobby ;)
politeness is not one of my strengths in writing, just because it sounds rough doesn't mean that I mean it rough.

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,095
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: current DC IRC Chat Server?
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2018, 09:06 AM »
do i need to type a command infront of text so its going into chat?

No. :)

KodeZwerg

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: current DC IRC Chat Server?
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2018, 09:12 AM »
ATM i am more than helpless. I keep getting - Cannot send to nick/channel (#donationcoder), whatever i type.
I am in nettalk client in room #donationcoder, a ChanServ whispered me on entering, at that point i cant do anything.
By looking connected People, i see that there are Admins with @ symbol, Users with + sign and me where just name is shown.

Do i need to register somewhere else to be able to actually write something?
sorry bad english and Delphi are my hobby ;)
politeness is not one of my strengths in writing, just because it sounds rough doesn't mean that I mean it rough.

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,095
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: current DC IRC Chat Server?
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2018, 09:24 AM »
I haven't checked lately, but it might be that you need + in the channel to speak.

KodeZwerg

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: current DC IRC Chat Server?
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2018, 09:35 AM »
I haven't checked lately, but it might be that you need + in the channel to speak.
If i just would know how to gain or see legends of what what means. Or what rights i currently have in that room.
So many questions if youre interested new to that materia and things dont selfexplain itself enough, at least the error line is nice red displayed even if useless if you dont know what you've done wrong at that point.

Thank you for your time and trying to help me!
sorry bad english and Delphi are my hobby ;)
politeness is not one of my strengths in writing, just because it sounds rough doesn't mean that I mean it rough.

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,095
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Help with DC IRC Chat Server please, Thank you.
« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2018, 09:53 AM »
On freenode, it is easy: You can have voice (+, the flag is "v"), be an operator (@, includes voice, the flag is "o") or a channel owner (which you would know).  :D

KodeZwerg

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Help with DC IRC Chat Server please, Thank you.
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2018, 10:02 AM »
On freenode, it is easy: You can have voice (+, the flag is "v"), be an operator (@, includes voice, the flag is "o") or a channel owner (which you would know).  :D
Thank you for voice hint, by reading IRC commands, i ended up here "/mode #donationcoder +v KodeZwerg" with red "You're not a channel operator (#donationcoder)" answer.
I guess i cant do anything on my own, or any advice what i should do from point "connected to server -> joined room"?
sorry bad english and Delphi are my hobby ;)
politeness is not one of my strengths in writing, just because it sounds rough doesn't mean that I mean it rough.

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,095
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Help with DC IRC Chat Server please, Thank you.
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2018, 10:21 AM »
Indeed, you cannot voice yourself. That would be ridiculous, wouldn't it?

KodeZwerg

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Help with DC IRC Chat Server please, Thank you.
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2018, 10:27 AM »
Ofcourse, thats why i asked for advice / next step to be actually able to say "Hello World".

Or is solution just sit and wait?
sorry bad english and Delphi are my hobby ;)
politeness is not one of my strengths in writing, just because it sounds rough doesn't mean that I mean it rough.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,678
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Help with DC IRC Chat Server please, Thank you.
« Reply #14 on: September 30, 2018, 10:28 AM »
you cannot voice yourself. That would be ridiculous, wouldn't it?
I do it all the timeā€¦ and I don't even need a computer.  :-[

KodeZwerg

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 370
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Help with DC IRC Chat Server please, Thank you.
« Reply #15 on: September 30, 2018, 03:36 PM »
Or is solution just sit and wait?

To all interested, that was the solution, thank you mouser for +v on me whats urgently needed to text anything.


Best Regards,

KodeZwerg.
sorry bad english and Delphi are my hobby ;)
politeness is not one of my strengths in writing, just because it sounds rough doesn't mean that I mean it rough.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 39,027
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Help with DC IRC Chat Server please, Thank you. [solved]
« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2018, 03:53 PM »
yep, we currently have the channel on a setting that requires us to manually enable their ability to speak.
good to have new blood in the chat room!

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,095
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Help with DC IRC Chat Server please, Thank you. [solved]
« Reply #17 on: September 30, 2018, 04:08 PM »
Old blood is usually scared off by people who "earned" operator rights in the DC channel.