Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 31, 2014, 01:14:48 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2011! Download 30+ custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE: make fullscreen games windowed  (Read 6995 times)
nite_monkey
Member
**
Posts: 695


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: August 02, 2006, 01:42:04 AM »

Ok so I was playing a game the other day, and I needed to go back to my internet browser alot, but the game wont let me minimize it, and it doesn't have the ability to make it windowed in the options, or with the -window command. I was wondering if any one knew of a program that would either let me make fullscreen games/programs run windowed, or have a window that I could like run the game inside that would make the game become windowed... let me give an example

(click on that image to make it bigger) As you can see in the picture, calc.exe is inside the notepad, pretend notepad is the program I'm talking about, and calc is a fullscreen game, well you run notepad(the windowed maker) and when you open you hit a button and a box opens, and you goto the .exe of the fullscreen game, and double click on it. The game now loads inside of the notepad(windowed maker program). I hope I am not confusing anyone.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2006, 07:21:32 AM by brotherS » Logged

[Insert really cool signature here]
kimmchii
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 360


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2006, 05:06:36 AM »

when in full screen (or anywhere in windows), you can press alt+tab to switch to the program you like.
Logged

If you find a good solution and become attached to it, the solution may become your next problem.
~Robert Anthony
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2006, 01:08:05 PM »

Unfortunately, some games block alt+tab, and other games just crash when you tab back to them.

Adding windowed support to existing games might not be the easiest thing on the world. First you'd have to cope with OpenGL vs. DirectX (probably not DirectDraw vs. Direct3D though). Then, at least for DX, there's the problem that some features only work in fullscreen mode - so if the game does error checking on API calls, it might abort.
Logged

- carpe noctem
nite_monkey
Member
**
Posts: 695


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2006, 12:37:22 AM »

@Kimmchii, notice I said it wouldn't let me minimize
@f0dder If I make certain games windowed and they do error checking they would abort? So I wouldn't be able to fix my problem? that stinks, well thanks anyways
Logged

[Insert really cool signature here]
imtrobin
Charter Member
***
Posts: 120

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2006, 02:00:21 AM »

Run in wmware
Logged
koncool
Charter Member
***
Posts: 29


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2006, 05:41:42 AM »

why not try 3D Analyser? it allows you to change various graphic-related settings, including forced windowed mode

http://www.tommti-systems...m/main-Dateien/files.html
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2006, 07:15:41 AM »

why not try 3D Analyser? it allows you to change various graphic-related settings, including forced windowed mode

http://www.tommti-systems...m/main-Dateien/files.html
Interesting - I wonder how many things it works with / breaks on smiley
Logged

- carpe noctem
koncool
Charter Member
***
Posts: 29


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2006, 09:53:25 AM »

allowed me to play few 2005 games when i was still on geforce 2 smiley
Logged
nite_monkey
Member
**
Posts: 695


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2006, 08:06:41 PM »

oh excuse me, I fogot to mention, 3d analizer doesnt work for me either, and with vmware, I am still fixing that up, so I cant use it.
Logged

[Insert really cool signature here]
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.029s | Server load: 0.17 ]