topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 3:44 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.  (Read 12137 times)

rogeraongjr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« on: March 06, 2018, 01:26 PM »
Hi Mouser / All,

Do you have idea how to stop the error of minicap.exe?
Im trying to make a batch file that captures every 1 seconds. But when i press more that 1x per seconds?
it prompts error (see attached image). I want to disable the message error prompt.
Any ideas?

Here is my code for command prompt:
minicap.exe -capturedesktop -cursor -compress 5 -exit -save "C:\MINICAP\%COMPUTERNAME%\%USERNAME%\ $dt:%Y %B %d  %H-%M-%S$.jpg"


Thank you

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2018, 01:49 PM »
Looks like it's a conflict with trying to write to the same filename simultaneously by multiple process at the same time.  Let me reproduce it and then add a few different ways to fix it.

But try this in the meantime: Add $uniquenum$ to your filename, such as:

minicap.exe -capturedesktop -cursor -compress 5 -exit -save "C:\MINICAP\%COMPUTERNAME%\%USERNAME%\ $dt:%Y %B %d  %H-%M-%S$ $uniquenum$.jpg"

I'm not sure that will solve it, because the problem may be that the file is being created by another process between the time it checks for an existing file and the time it tries to save it, but give it a try and let me know.




rogeraongjr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2018, 01:57 PM »
Hi Mouser,

Thank you for your quick response! It works fine without error. But we need the file name to be exact as this  "$dt:%Y %B %d  %H-%M-%S$"  "2018 March 07  03-50-11"
I will wait. I hope and i pray you can fix my problem. Thank you very much :)

rogeraongjr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2018, 04:55 PM »
Hi All / Mouser,

I just want to let you know. the error still occur even when i put $uniquenum$ . :(

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11,186
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2018, 07:43 PM »
Can you post the source for your batchfile?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2018, 08:30 PM »
But we need the file name to be exact as this  "$dt:%Y %B %d  %H-%M-%S$"  "2018 March 07  03-50-11"

It can't be EXACTLY like that because that filename is not unique if you launch this several times within one second. We could add milliseconds to the time value though, so like "2018 March 07  03-50-11-01"

Unless you are saying that if the file already exists it should just exit and not save the file.  It would be very easy to add an option for this, to simply suppress the error and not save the file if a file already exists with that name.  Is that what you'd prefer?

rogeraongjr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2018, 02:05 PM »
Hi Mouser,

Unless you are saying that if the file already exists it should just exit and not save the file.  It would be very easy to add an option for this, to simply suppress the error and not save the file if a file already exists with that name.  Is that what you'd prefer?>>  Yes exactly =)  ! Please let us try and add this option to suppress that message box error. :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2018, 02:08 PM »
That's easy enough.. give me a day or two.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2018, 03:16 PM »
Can you try this beta:


You can try passing the -noerr commandline parameter.
More importantly, the -stderr option that you tried in the past which did not work should now work properly in this case.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2018, 03:42 PM »
Well?

rogeraongjr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2018, 03:45 PM »
Hi Mouser,

Thank you for the effort. My apologies for the late reply. Im going to test again and i will let you know.  BTW, Do you have idea if i can integrate minicap.exe to VB.NET visual basic codes?

Thanks!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #11 on: March 09, 2018, 04:02 PM »
Do you have idea if i can integrate minicap.exe to VB.NET visual basic codes?
I'm not a vb coder but it should be very easy (just 1 line of code to a ShellExecuteEx type function) to launch minicap with a set of commandline parameters.

rogeraongjr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2018, 05:41 PM »
Hi Mouser,  Sorry for the very late response. I got very sick and just came back. It works perfectly   :) :) :).   But i notice a bug when i capture thousand of image and running for the long time.
Can this be fixed by Run only one instance? And also can you give me sample for the shell script that you mentioned.  Thank you.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,896
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2018, 05:43 PM »
But i notice a bug when i capture thousand of image and running for the long time.
Can you explain if these instances are just living for a short period -- or are you saying they are stuck and won't exit even if you stop making requests?
If the latter, then that is a bug I need to fix.  If the former, we can think about a better solution.

(Btw have you tried my Automatic Screenshotter instead of minicap?).

rogeraongjr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #14 on: April 06, 2018, 01:09 PM »
it stuck and won't exit even if you stop making requests but i only encounter this twice. What about automatic screenshoter?
Can you explain it to me?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 11,959
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #15 on: April 06, 2018, 01:39 PM »
Automatic Screenshotter
here's it's page:
https://www.donation...omatic-screenshotter
Tom

rogeraongjr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #16 on: April 06, 2018, 01:40 PM »
I already read about Automatic screenshot and it looks great!

I have some question's?
1.Can this be run as windows service and stealth that normal user cant turn it off? that only admin can turn it off?
2. Can this be install on "ALL USERS" mode?
3.Can the screenshot save to network drive and if the network drive is down it should save to local pc where the app is installed ?
4.Is there screenshot quality compression from 1-10 like minicap?
5.Can it automatically create folders and sub folders and save as \\DATETODAY\COMPUTERNAME\USER\HRS-MINS-SEC.JPG like minicap?
6.Can it capture the mouse cursor like minicap?
7. Finally does it have console only like minicap?

---------'
Im going to give you a summariez preview of what im tyring to do.
Im using VB.NET , MYSQL and MINICAP .   My goal is to capture and monitor my students on everything they do in computer lab (dual and tripple monitor) with 1 or 5 sec interval.
The computer lab or workstation setup is within the domain environment.
I use the MYSQL for Settings so that i can fully control the settings of minicap. the sample below are my TBL_SETTINGS

Laboratory         | Computer Name        | Compression      | Interval        |         Server path                      | Status      |
Laborarory 1           Lab101-PC                  2                       2sec                     \\LABSERV\MONTORING        ON - OFF



I use VB.net to create Windows service and call all the settings and use timers to turn it on or off and for the Screenshot interval.
VB.net will call all the setting and then combined with windows command prompt then fired as a service so that any user logging in or switch users can capture.


What do you think is the best? minicap or automatic screenshot.





rogeraongjr

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2018
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MINICAP - HOW TO DISABLED ERROR MESSAGE BOX.
« Reply #17 on: April 06, 2018, 02:19 PM »
I'm not a vb coder but it should be very easy (just 1 line of code to a ShellExecuteEx type function) to launch minicap with a set of commandline parameters. >>
ALSO Please give me example of shellExecute type function. Thank you mouser!