topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 18, 2018, 10:22 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 13 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Show name of printer in popup box  (Read 1942 times)

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Show name of printer in popup box
« on: November 01, 2017, 03:14 PM »
I believe I had contacted you about this earlier.
I requested that the print image window have the name of the active printer on it.
I have printed to the wrong printer so many times since it remembers the previous printer.

Are you planning on showing the name of the active printer in the print image window?

Please let me know.  If not, is there a way to keep the default printer each time a capture is done?

If not, I will need to get another capture program that shows the printer, as much as I love yours.  Thanks.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 38,793
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2017, 09:27 PM »
If I can display the active printer on the print preview dialog i will (that's what we're talking about right, the print preview dialog shown before printing?)

If not, is there a way to keep the default printer each time a capture is done?
Can you explain what you mean -- do you mean that you want to be able to change the printer used for the current print, but then have it revert to default printer for next time?

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2017, 06:43 AM »
Two things...
1.  Show the current printer in the print image window...this is the much preferred option!, or
2.  Have a preference to use the system default printer.  In this way, each time the system default printer will be used, and the user can change it by going to the print setup box if desired.
Of course, both would be optimal!  Thank you.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 38,793
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2017, 06:46 AM »
Have a preference to use the system default printer.
Does it not already work this way?

Or are you saying that you occasionally change the system configured default printer, and SC does not change when that changes?

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2017, 06:50 AM »
No.  SC remembers the last printer used.  This is the entire basis of my inquiry.  Almost all of my printouts are with my default b&w laser printer, so that is what I would like to keep as default for your program.
If I print to my color laser, your program remembers it and prints to it next time unless I specifically change it back to my default printer in the print setup dialog box.

This is why I requested these two things...

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 38,793
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2017, 07:10 AM »
Ok I understand now -- you occasionally print to your color printer in SC, and then in the future when you print from SC, you want it to remind you that it's now set to print to color printer so you can change that.  Or alternatively always reset back to default printer after each print.

Let me see what I can do.

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2017, 07:13 AM »
Yes!  or both...

Thank you for being so responsive!

Let me know if an when you have made these improvements...

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2018, 02:06 PM »
Is there any chance you will put the printer name in the popup box?
You latest update does not include it.
I have not looked for another screenshot program because yours is better than the others, but you also recommended I look for another.
Does this mean you have no intention of putting the active printer name in the popup box?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 38,793
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2018, 02:21 PM »
Sorry it's taken me so long, I will try to add it asap.

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2018, 02:27 PM »
Thanks!  Please message me when it happens!  :)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 11,290
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2018, 05:23 PM »
Thanks!  Please message me when it happens!  :)
I cant speak for mouser, but always think that's a bit of a foolish approach, hoping someone will not only do something for you, but then also go out of their way to contact you about it. I know it's commonly seen: but I suspect the people making that request have little success.

One solution would be to subscribe to the thread, you will get notification of new posts -- either make a new post, click 'Preview', (or edit your post), and tick 'Notify of replies' below the text field.
Or just get Screenshot Captor to check for updates on Startup (preferences).
Tom

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #11 on: March 21, 2018, 05:55 PM »
Well, mr tomos,
I apologize if what I posted offended you.
I make no assumptions of replies.
Mouser happens to be very prompt with his replies and is very respectful of his followers.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 38,793
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #12 on: March 21, 2018, 05:56 PM »
It's not a problem BUT tomos advice is much better -- to click NOTIFY on this thread so you will automatically be notified by mail if I reply to this thread with an update.

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #13 on: March 21, 2018, 07:21 PM »
I've done that previously!
As I told him, sometimes I forget I'm in a forum because you are always so responsive.
Looking forward to the update.
Thank you,
omega

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #14 on: April 03, 2018, 07:26 PM »
Hi.  Just updated.  I thought I saw in the update window that you included my request but I do not see it.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 38,793
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #15 on: April 03, 2018, 07:44 PM »
Not yet..

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #16 on: August 12, 2018, 11:53 AM »
I realize I have asked you this for months now, and you have added numerous improvements to your program, but not this simple request.
Is there any way to either:
1.  show the name of the current printer in the popup box, or
2.  add an option when printing any capture, the windows printer box opens so I can choose the printer.
As I explained before, I use numerous printers and have often printed captures to the wrong printer, wasting time, expensive paper and ink.
You recommended a dozen other screenshot programs, and I have tried most of them.
They don't hold the proverbial candle to yours, but several of them allow choice of printer in a popup box.
Please let me know if you are able to add this minor addition.
Thank you.

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #17 on: August 12, 2018, 11:54 AM »
On 11/2017, you stated:

Ok I understand now -- you occasionally print to your color printer in SC, and then in the future when you print from SC, you want it to remind you that it's now set to print to color printer so you can change that.  Or alternatively always reset back to default printer after each print.  Let me see what I can do.

I would truly appreciate this.

KodeZwerg

  • Member
  • Joined in 2018
  • **
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #18 on: August 12, 2018, 02:43 PM »
Your problem belongs to Microsoft not to Mouser. It calls standard Windows Print Dialog, not a selfmade one.
I suggest you install a Printer-Driver that show an Notification Icon to switch default device.

omegadoc

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #19 on: August 12, 2018, 05:10 PM »
KodeZwerg,
I do not think yuu understand my request.  Mouser is aware but has not implemented it yet.
I am simply inquiring when he is likely (or not) to do so.
thank you for your reply,
Omegadoc

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 38,793
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Show name of printer in popup box
« Reply #20 on: August 12, 2018, 06:05 PM »
Yeah it's my issue -- I worked on it a bit but stopped when it wasn't super easy, but I will still add it.