Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 24, 2014, 02:04:28 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2013! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: extra window functions  (Read 7001 times)
Edvard
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 2,356



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 27, 2005, 12:43:24 PM »

You know when you right click the button of a running task or the little titlebar icon and you get a dropdown that says Restore, Move, Size, etc? I want to add functions to that menu, specifically Move to Center (for those annoying times when I get a window half-off the *$%@#&% screen, and 'Move' doesn't %&$#@ work, BTW) but perhaps add calls to those third-party programs that do roll-up or vertical/horizontal maximize and other fancy window tricks. I realize that there probably is a prog that does this but I've not been able to find it.
Logged

All children left unattended will be given a mocha and a puppy.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2005, 01:46:28 PM »

i use this freeware tool called "Discover" to move windows off screen back on screen:
http://www.geocities.com/...y/3532/main/freeware.html

i used it for my laptop a lot. simple easy.

but now back to your idea-
i have started investigating the possibility of making a program that can add items to windows menus and stuff - part of a larger utility.  it's not going to be for a while though, but i hope you'll be around when we get it done to make suggestions.
Logged
Edvard
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 2,356



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2005, 03:43:49 PM »

Thanks for the link, although I must say Powerpro does the same (and about 2 million other things...) and since it is always running, that's what I use. I am excited to hear you've got something in the works, I think a lot of folks will find it useful. Out of curiosity, is this a long-running bug with Windows (author of Discover says it's peculiar to NT/95) or does it still occur with 'modern' Windows? I suppose it could happen by 'user error' (dragging something off-screen accidentally or when changing position of taskbar) and so still needs addressed now and then, but thought I'd ask. I know I ALWAYS have to use it when I run VirtuaWin and run the 'options'... the options window is the lower right-hand corner sticking out of the NW corner of my screen. (and I'm on NT4...)
Logged

All children left unattended will be given a mocha and a puppy.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2005, 04:19:34 PM »

do you have multimonitor?

it's a common problem with apps not designed for multimonitor that when they try to display a dialog centered on screen it ends up half off.

other times it happens is when the last time it was on screen you had a different resolution.
Logged
Edvard
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 2,356



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2005, 12:00:47 PM »

Nope and Nope. One monitor and I haven't changed resolutions since the boss got me a flat screen smiley
I just found out that Powerpro's Gui control allows me to right-click drag from any piece of the window. So as long as I have one corner, I can move that bugger... (I fear I am becoming highly dependent on PowerPro, but that may be a good thing...)
Logged

All children left unattended will be given a mocha and a puppy.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2005, 12:32:43 PM »

who was it that was going to write up a little something on Powerpro?

our new mini-user-review section of the forum would be an ideal place for it
http://www.donationcoder....orum/index.php?board=42.0
Logged
Scott
Resident Googler
Charter Member
***
Posts: 377


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2005, 01:07:47 PM »

 
Does anyone actually search before posting here?  Do I need to give lessons on how to search?  (I am not being sarcastic, I am serious.  It does take practice.)

Here are some existing utilities that do exactly what was requested:

http://www.actualtools.com/

The big boy of the collection is Actual Window Manager, but there are a few freeware offerings that do bits and pieces of its functionality.
 
Logged

« Next Edit: Tomorrow at 12:13:47 AM by Scott »
Edvard
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 2,356



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2005, 04:55:25 PM »

Quote
who was it that was going to write up a little something on Powerpro?
I don't recall,
Quote
our new mini-user-review section of the forum would be an ideal place for it
http://www.donationcoder....orum/index.php?board=42.0
but I put one up anyways.
Actualtools looks really very useful, but I couldn't find any freeware bits mentioned. 'sides, Powerpro does a lot of those things except the titlebar buttons, although it can 'paint' bar buttons on the title bar. They look a tad out-of-place but get the job done.
Logged

All children left unattended will be given a mocha and a puppy.
Scott
Resident Googler
Charter Member
***
Posts: 377


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2005, 06:01:56 PM »

Ugh geez, that thing again?

I was just referring you to software that accomplished what you want.  Actual Window Manager does all that.  It's not free, though.
Logged

« Next Edit: Tomorrow at 12:13:47 AM by Scott »
vegas
Charter Member
***
Posts: 352


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: June 30, 2005, 09:55:38 PM »

I purchased Actual Window Manager about 4 months ago. It is a great, reliable app. Be careful if you do decide to purchase it as I had to get the author to guaruntee me updates for 6 months. Their policy for software upgrades are, if you buy at version 3.6 and the next major version is 4.0 (three months later), there is an upgrade fee. I find this to be unforgivable with software developers. The nice thing for Actual Tools software is that I am allowed to use a copy on my main PC, HTPC and my laptop (it's like the license for ONE USER approach, which is the way it should be for people who have many PC's they use). I was a former customer of Calendarscope (among other softwares), which wanted an upgrade fee every year, but they rarely do much in the way of consistent development, so I said no thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.029s | Server load: 0.09 ]