topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Tuesday April 16, 2024, 2:38 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: running program on different resolutions  (Read 4894 times)

Blaster

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
running program on different resolutions
« on: July 19, 2006, 08:33 AM »
Admin, if this is not the place to ask these kind of questions, please move it to some other place on this forum, but PLEASE send me a private message to tell me where you moved it...


Lets say you made a program on 1280 X 1024 resolution.

Of course when you run this program on a 800 X 600 or 1024 X 768 or some other (smaller) resolution, this program will not look as it should!
You probably won't even be possible to see it entirely...

What do you do with it to make it look the same (make it entirely visible) on any resolution?? Is there a solution for this?

Thank you..
« Last Edit: July 19, 2006, 08:37 AM by Blaster »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 40,900
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: running program on different resolutions
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2006, 09:01 AM »
in general, most programs should be designed to resize gracefully to some minimal size, like 800x600.

different gui libraries have different facilities for doing this.

for example, if you use delphi or c++ builder, you can set "anchors" on most of your controls which control the way the resize.

i am a big fan of non-fixed-sizes applications that can be resized.  some programs like winamp, are skinned and are not meant to be resized.

ps. this should be in developers section, so im moving it there.

Blaster

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: running program on different resolutions
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2006, 12:00 PM »
for example, if you use delphi or c++ builder, you can set "anchors" on most of your controls which control the way the resize.

yes, i know about the anchors, i just thought that there is also another way of doing this...


ps. this should be in developers section, so im moving it there.

OK!