Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 09:59:56 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: reply from simplemachines about search issues on the forum  (Read 5171 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
reply from simplemachines about search issues on the forum
« on: July 13, 2006, 04:08:09 PM »
Quote
There are some bugs in the SMF search in 1.1 RC2. These will be fixed in RC3 which is being released very soon

exciting  :-*

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: reply from simplemachines about search issues on the forum
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2006, 04:54:28 PM »
And hard work for you given the number of mods and tweaks you have set up !

By the way where has the search button gone from the button bar?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: reply from simplemachines about search issues on the forum
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2006, 04:57:36 PM »
Quote
And hard work for you given the number of mods and tweaks you have set up !
you said it - going to be many  hours of work and testing..  :(

Quote
By the way where has the search button gone from the button bar?
oops - i thought i was removing something redundant because of the search magnifying glass button at top which does same thing - but i realized you are probably going to tell me that some of you collapse the top info panel and so dont see it.. i guessi need to put back the search tab.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: reply from simplemachines about search issues on the forum
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2006, 05:58:57 PM »
Oh, at last the search function will work? Cool!  :Thmbsup:

I didn't even notice the button wasn't there, i have a custom search defined in opera, for DC ;)

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: reply from simplemachines about search issues on the forum
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2006, 11:37:47 PM »
i have a custom search defined in opera, for DC ;)
now that there is a search plugin for firefox. your opera custom search would look cool beside it. 8)
so, how about uploading it to DC?

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: reply from simplemachines about search issues on the forum
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2006, 07:18:35 AM »
now that there is a search plugin for firefox. your opera custom search would look cool beside it. 8)
so, how about uploading it to DC?
Sorry, but i have no idea on how to do it, i just opened the search page, right-clicked the search field and selected "create search" :D

allen

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,192
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: reply from simplemachines about search issues on the forum
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2006, 01:56:30 PM »
now that there is a search plugin for firefox. your opera custom search would look cool beside it. 8)
so, how about uploading it to DC?
Sorry, but i have no idea on how to do it, i just opened the search page, right-clicked the search field and selected "create search" :D

Much easier than making a moz custom search plugin -- so easy, it doesn't warrant a link :) Maybe a little Opera icon and a blurb that says "If you're using Opera, as everyone should be, just right click in the search box and select 'Create Search'" :P

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: reply from simplemachines about search issues on the forum
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2006, 08:29:43 PM »
ok, i see. i'm not an Opera user. but from the method you described, it sounds much like Firefox's Smart Keywords.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: reply from simplemachines about search issues on the forum
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2006, 03:09:57 AM »
lanux: it is, but as opera's search is application-wide, when you add a new search, you can add a "smart keyword" for it.