Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • June 28, 2017, 09:11:28 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Invalid database  (Read 853 times)

chambersss

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2017
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Invalid database
« on: January 26, 2017, 01:57:46 AM »
Hi all.

I need help with Microsoft Access 2013.  I can not open the Access document cause of the following message: "Invalid database ". Any ideas what might be causing this? Please advise me how to repair Access.

I have created this document on Windows 8. Now I am using Windows 10

x16wda

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 697
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid database
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2017, 05:29:48 AM »
Is that the full error message? I didn't see any hits with just "invalid database" in a search, they were all invalid database object reference, or unrecognized database format or something.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,492
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid database
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2017, 08:18:21 AM »
I am not Access savvy, but generally if it is saying the whole database is invalid it sounds like a corrupted file.  Do you have a backup?

chambersss

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2017
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid database
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2017, 09:36:18 AM »
x16wda, This is a full error message

MilesAhead I don't

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,186
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid database
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2017, 10:24:56 AM »
Then you will have to fall back to software similar to this: http://www.accessfilerepair.net/

Access is know to corrupt easily as it uses by default a single file containing all database logic you added and the data you put into it. Single point of failure if you will. This makes it also easy to create a backup. But as you don't have a backup, I must assume that your access database isn't of much value to you.

In that case, isn't it an option to start over from scratch? And make backups afterwards?

Febr9

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2017
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid database
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2017, 04:24:49 AM »
You can try to upload your file to this service https://onlinefile.repair/en/access.html and this will automatically scan the file

chambersss

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2017
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Invalid database
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2017, 02:37:00 PM »
Thanks for answers friends