Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 10:08:46 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Formatted lists  (Read 4662 times)

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,925
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Formatted lists
« on: July 11, 2006, 05:04:56 AM »
Please, how do I make formatted lists?

Is there an area, or a separate how-to file, that lists how to use features like [color=, [url=, etc.?

Thanks...


Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Formatted lists
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2006, 05:26:51 AM »
http://www.donationc...ndex.php?action=help

For bulletin board code (not including some of the extensions mouser has added) try:
http://www.donationc...elp;page=post#bbcref

There is actually a help button (next to Forum Home) for SMF forums but the Help button on the button bar has been removed (Mouser ???)
« Last Edit: July 11, 2006, 05:28:39 AM by Carol Haynes »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Formatted lists
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2006, 05:30:59 AM »
there is a button in the post form that looks like dots and dashes - this is the list button.
i've actually modified it to make it far easier to use - just write some items, each on their own line, then select them all and hit this button to create a formatted list.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Formatted lists
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2006, 05:35:53 AM »
I have added a new sticky topic with the original SMF help pages onto the Help & Guidance forum here.

By the way the list button doesn't work properly for me ...

I typed:

item
item
item

Selected all three lines and hit the button and it produced:

[list]
[li]item
item
item[/li]
[/list]

which yields

  • item
    item
    item
« Last Edit: July 11, 2006, 05:39:55 AM by Carol Haynes »

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,925
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Formatted lists
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2006, 06:20:14 AM »
  • OK.
  • Thanks Mouser
  • Thanks CarolHaynes!

Looks like the "dot-dash" button method doesn't work on it's own, and probably it can't because it can't know how many items there are in the list?  You have to bracket each line with (li) and (/li) to get bullets (using round brackets instead of square ones so it doesn't think that's a list as well).

I see you can get two-tier bullets too, but I think I'll have to read the manual for that.


Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Formatted lists
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2006, 07:23:09 AM »
It's strange becaue the list button used to work.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2006, 07:25:15 AM by Carol Haynes »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Formatted lists
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2006, 08:41:35 AM »
it works on ie - looks like a firefox problem.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Formatted lists
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2006, 09:33:06 AM »
Yep it works for me on IE - but I am also getting a lot of scripting errors in IE (status bar bottom left shows warning triangles on most pages).

  • item
  • item
  • item

Any idea how to fix this for Firefox

Does it work for nesting?

  • item level 1
    • item level 2
    • item level 2
  • item level 1
  • item level 1

YEP here's the code for a nested list ...

[list]
[li]item level 1[list][li]item level 2[/li][li]item level 2[/li][/list][/li]
[li]item level 1[/li]
[li]item level 1[/li]
[/list]

Note the indented (level 2) items are entirely within the 'li' tags for the first item in the top level list.

Here it is again, modified to empahsize the structure:

[list]
  [li]
    item level 1
      [list]
        [li]
          item level 2
        [/li]

        [li]
          item level 2
        [/li]
      [/list]
  [/li]

  [li]
    item level 1
  [/li]

  [li]
    item level 1
  [/li]
[/list]
« Last Edit: July 11, 2006, 09:38:25 AM by Carol Haynes »

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,925
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Formatted lists
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2006, 10:44:09 AM »
I was looking at it with Firefox, too...

I take it the (code)(/code) tags force literal rendering?  (looks like it from here)