Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 06:15:31 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8  (Read 3019 times)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« on: May 08, 2016, 02:32:22 PM »
Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8

I would a script to modify the task bar and use according to my needs quickly

ASUS - 08_05_2016 , 20_18_52.pngScript to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8

Usually occupy four bars. I would like to select between see the four or only one.
Best Regards

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,325
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2016, 03:22:15 PM »
... almost as scary as app's 'scary taskbar' :) :p
Tom

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2016, 03:54:15 PM »
... almost as scary as app's 'scary taskbar' :) :p
It seems like FARR or an application launcher.
But my problem is slightly different. I use the auto hide taskbar, but sometimes don't hides....
In the above screenshot I usually manage the taskbar with the mouse and is not blocked.
Sometimes, when i need to search something inside the website i can't because the taskbar not autohide and the search box is in its area....
Yo can see in the screenshot I attach above.
 :-*

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2016, 07:01:20 PM »
Seems a difficult script . I am trying but don't get anything.

I am applying a little idea sometimes is useful when is a hidden window . With Alt-double arrow lets me select the hidden window.
 :P

Perhaps is possible to propose the search window in firefox not at the bottom of the page, but the beginning....
Do you know how ?
 :-*

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2016, 07:56:01 PM »
Other solution is mantain height one bar for a while, specially when the auto hide disfunction in windows 8 is present. Close session or reinitiate solves the problem.
 ;D

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,474
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2016, 09:01:54 PM »
The auto-hide disfunction is normally caused by one, (or more), of the icons in the Notification Area having displayed a message and then cleared it - you, having missed it, think the taskbar has gone wacko.

Exactly the same problem exists under Win10 - I have it constantly on a system I RDP into and until I click on the usual culprits in the Notification Area the taskbar will not hide, (luckily there is only 2 or 3 icons which are the cause of this effect, so a single LMB click on each will get the taskbar to hide again).

You could find out which ones are the cause of the problem on your computer and turn off notifications for them.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2016, 06:57:45 AM »
wacko
Ejem 4wd. I am going to see the meaning of :
wacko
RDP
LMB
 ;D

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2016, 07:03:10 AM »
Done !!!!!

Now I have no problem. But I will be alert and if I fail I will communicate inmediately
 :tellme:

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,283
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2016, 08:16:28 AM »
wacko
Ejem 4wd. I am going to see the meaning of :
wacko
RDP
LMB
 ;D

It is that town in Texas where they quarantine all the crazies.  The F.B.I. keeps a close eye on 'em.  :)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,325
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2016, 12:23:05 PM »
Contro, would mouser's Launchbar Commander be a better solution for you than all those quick-launch icons?


[I think they are all quick launch icons (?)]
Tom

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2016, 08:37:58 AM »
wacko
Ejem 4wd. I am going to see the meaning of :
wacko
RDP
LMB
 ;D

It is that town in Texas where they quarantine all the crazies.  The F.B.I. keeps a close eye on 'em.  :)

;D :tellme:

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #11 on: May 11, 2016, 08:38:28 AM »
Contro, would mouser's Launchbar Commander be a better solution for you than all those quick-launch icons?


[I think they are all quick launch icons (?)]
mmmm. I can try of course.
 :-[

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #12 on: May 11, 2016, 08:39:05 AM »
The auto-hide disfunction is normally caused by one, (or more), of the icons in the Notification Area having displayed a message and then cleared it - you, having missed it, think the taskbar has gone wacko.

Exactly the same problem exists under Win10 - I have it constantly on a system I RDP into and until I click on the usual culprits in the Notification Area the taskbar will not hide, (luckily there is only 2 or 3 icons which are the cause of this effect, so a single LMB click on each will get the taskbar to hide again).

You could find out which ones are the cause of the problem on your computer and turn off notifications for them.

Four Wheel Drive I think a possible cause is Phrase Express
 :-*

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2016, 08:44:03 AM »
mouser's Launchbar Commander

in 2008 i wrote :
"*** JOSE ***  September 30, 2008 at  4:00am
coloca una barra superior simple. No me gusta. "
I can try again. Mouser deserves it.
 :-*

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,325
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #14 on: May 11, 2016, 09:15:38 AM »
well, I dont even use it myself :-[  (I use FARR)
but you still look like you need it ;)

Try this thread:
http://www.donationc...x.php?topic=18759.25
and this post from Vurbal for ideas on how to do it (and video links in the next post)
http://www.donationc....msg339702#msg339702
Tom

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2016, 07:34:26 AM »
well, I dont even use it myself :-[  (I use FARR)
but you still look like you need it ;)

Try this thread:
http://www.donationc...x.php?topic=18759.25
and this post from Vurbal for ideas on how to do it (and video links in the next post)
http://www.donationc....msg339702#msg339702
Running to try
Best Regards
 :-*

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2016, 07:42:44 AM »
well, I dont even use it myself :-[  (I use FARR)
but you still look like you need it ;)

Try this thread:
http://www.donationc...x.php?topic=18759.25
and this post from Vurbal for ideas on how to do it (and video links in the next post)
http://www.donationc....msg339702#msg339702
i am using some time ago 7stacks
As a matter of fact many of the unkown icons in my task bar are menu launchers from the task bar. 7stacks is a little bit slow in my laptop. I am using really ocasionally because my universal launcher is my CRM Goldmine 5.5 .
I'll take a good look to LaunchBar Commander to see if can replace to 7stacks.
 :-\

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2016, 07:46:28 AM »
well, I dont even use it myself :-[  (I use FARR)
but you still look like you need it ;)

Try this thread:
http://www.donationc...x.php?topic=18759.25
and this post from Vurbal for ideas on how to do it (and video links in the next post)
http://www.donationc....msg339702#msg339702
I have as portable FARR too , but under windows 8 give me message abnormal terminal. Sure my update is out of date.
But I am using FARR less and less. I don't know why. Perhaps I have solved the problem with so many icons from the task bar.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2016, 07:53:52 AM »
I have recently install LaunchBar Commander from Mouser.
I will give a try in the next months. Specially if observ is faster than 7Stacks.
Best Regards

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,325
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2016, 03:30:02 PM »
I have recently install LaunchBar Commander from Mouser.
I will give a try in the next months. Specially if observ is faster than 7Stacks.
Best Regards

let us know how you get on :up:
Tom

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #20 on: May 13, 2016, 09:40:37 AM »
Nice charming all
 ;D

Mouser is the very best !!!!!.
Of course.
In any way you have to understand that , in any way, I will always prefer a software from donationcoder.com
 ;D :-* :P

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #21 on: May 14, 2016, 02:01:15 AM »
Other conflictive program seems to be Ditto.
But I am so fond to this programa that I am unable to use anyone else.
Even with its fails sometimes with the clips Ditto is wonderful.
 :-*

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,325
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #22 on: May 14, 2016, 11:16:11 AM »
Other conflictive program seems to be Ditto.
But I am so fond to this programa that I am unable to use anyone else.
Even with its fails sometimes with the clips Ditto is wonderful.
 :-*

have you ever tried Tranglos's Ethervane Echo? It's based on Ditto.
I love it: works well on Win.7 anyways, dont know about 8 etc.

[...] some of (what I think are) Ditto's shortcomings were irking me more and more. Excruciatingly slow delete and purge operations. Minuscule, non-configurable font in the search box, which at #over40 I can hardly read. Lack of privacy features. When I wrote down all that was giving me pain in Ditto, I listed about a dozen items. It was time to improve on it.
(follow quote link for more info/ download link)
Tom

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #23 on: May 14, 2016, 05:48:57 PM »
Other conflictive program seems to be Ditto.
But I am so fond to this programa that I am unable to use anyone else.
Even with its fails sometimes with the clips Ditto is wonderful.
 :-*

have you ever tried Tranglos's Ethervane Echo? It's based on Ditto.
I love it: works well on Win.7 anyways, dont know about 8 etc.

[...] some of (what I think are) Ditto's shortcomings were irking me more and more. Excruciatingly slow delete and purge operations. Minuscule, non-configurable font in the search box, which at #over40 I can hardly read. Lack of privacy features. When I wrote down all that was giving me pain in Ditto, I listed about a dozen items. It was time to improve on it.
(follow quote link for more info/ download link)
I am trying. I am coming back from the support in DC just because don't have movements from the last 360 days.
Where is Tranglos ?
Can I redefine the fast keys combinations ? Can I configure the shortkeys combinations ?
 :-*

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,325
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Script to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8
« Reply #24 on: May 15, 2016, 04:49:44 PM »
Menu: Tools >Preferences
or [F5]

Screenshot - 2016-05-15 , 23_49_18.pngScript to vary the hight of the task bar in windows 8

tbh, I only use the first (Ctrl+Win+Insert) one -- to open the UI (so other hotkeys are a bit of a mess in screenshot)

Tom