Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 01:18:22 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: prt sc not working  (Read 920 times)

wallee

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
prt sc not working
« on: March 23, 2016, 07:23:15 AM »
Hey Mouser

Have been using latest version 4.16.1 for a while - no issues. Today the print screen button stopped working with SC.  I tested the button by opening paint and using control V the capture is working. Shift + print screen works so I changed the setting. Using win 10 ASUS laptop.

Any idea what would do this or how to fix it?
Wallee
"Give a person a fish and you feed them for a day; teach that person to use the Internet and they won't bother you for weeks."

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,429
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: prt sc not working
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2016, 11:50:07 AM »
It's probably another program that is stealing the PrtScr hotkey.  Do you have dropbox running? It has a default option to capture the PrtScr hotkey.

wallee

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: prt sc not working
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2016, 01:00:08 PM »
I have looked everywhere for the dropbox setting  for prt sc  cannot find it.. maybe it's on the upgrade version.. I'm basic.   both Screenshot Captor and Dropbox have been on my machine since day one.. never any issues. I did see a post about one drive grabbing it but I disabled it and still have the issue.  I use SC  just about every day.. this is the first issue I think I've had - ever.

Dropbox updated on the 19th but I used SC  after that without issue.
Wallee
"Give a person a fish and you feed them for a day; teach that person to use the Internet and they won't bother you for weeks."

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,429
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: prt sc not working
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2016, 01:14:52 PM »
see http://www.donationc....msg392939#msg392939

that thread suggests to go to dropbox options and enable prtscr then disable it.

maybe a reboot would help too?

Sangatster

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2016
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: prt sc not working
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2016, 11:08:53 AM »
Quick note about this problem.  I started seeing this in Windows 10 fairly recently (today 2016.08.26).

Some of Microsoft's Office 365 apps are trapping all keystrokes and telling the OS that the keypress event has been handled, so the global handler doesn't get it.  I see this on some web sites too.

In Win32 at least, shouldn't be different in Win64, the only time an app should flag a keystroke event as handled is if it is an app-specific keystroke and the window is active.  Otherwise the app is supposed to tell the OS effectively "OK I'm done with it, pass it on" and not "eat" the keyboard message.

Anyway, one thing to try is to make sure you're running Screenshot Captor as administrator.  This appears to be required in order for global hotkeys to work as they used to.  My workplace has strict policies and I think their restrictions have sometimes caused this to happen.  It's not happening since I forced the app to load with administrator privs (I only have "local admin" privs on this workstation, incidentally).

You can also try setting the "compatibility mode" option in the properties dialog for the shortcut.  If you don't use a shortcut to start SSC, create one.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: prt sc not working
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2016, 12:04:23 PM »
^ thanks,
PrtScr stopped working with SC on my Win.7 x64 desktop this week -- it does take a screenshot to the clipboard, but this screenshot was not saved in SC. (I checked SC settings and it should be automatically saved.)
=> not on desktop now, so unable to check if (possibly) related to windows updates -- will report back when I get chance to check.
Tom

Sangatster

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2016
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: prt sc not working
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2016, 12:20:48 PM »
I had issues with Windows 7 but have had lots more with Windows 10.  I'm now using Startup Delayer, a free startup launcher that can load things when I boot up after everything else has loaded to launch Screenshot Captor, as well as several other apps.  I get the impression that when Windows processes autoruns it hasn't loaded all the credentials yet.  On two occasions, the *.INI setting files for portable apps like Screenshot Captor got reset to factory defaults, as if the system didn't think the app should have rights to the folder it's in.  After several hours of research I finally gave up and went with the startup delay app because nothing else worked consistently for everything.

Simple things, like the Startups folder under the Start menu just flat don't do anything anymore.  Stuff I put in there had no effect.  Some of this could also be due to corporate IT policies, I don't know, but it's a great waste of time trying to resolve things like this.

<rant>
I have tinkered with Linux on several occasions but at this rate, and especially as Microsoft migrates to a monthly fee licensing model, Linux is looking better all the time.
</rant>