Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:52:01 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Anyone using Blackbird?  (Read 9145 times)

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Anyone using Blackbird?
« Reply #50 on: May 05, 2016, 12:47:06 AM »
I have noticed that every time Explorer now has this freezing problem, I can find "Windows Shell -Experience Host" running. Because all this is during startup, I don't know if it also was running before the freeze (but it never did before Blackbird) - if it was the trigger, or being triggered.

C:\Windows\SystemApps\ShellExperienceHost_cw5n1h2txyewy\ShellExperienceHost.exe (Path) = "C:\Windows\SystemApps\ShellExperienceHost_cw5n1h2txyewy\ShellExperienceHost.exe" -ServerName:App.AppXtk181tbxbce2qsex02s8tw7hfxa9xb3t.mca (Command Line)

CPU-0%, Memory,, -40 MB, Pagefile,, -17 MB, Disk-0 K/s,, Resources usage   
676 - svchost.exe,, Parent Process   
 :tellme:

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Anyone using Blackbird?
« Reply #51 on: May 06, 2016, 03:45:42 PM »
Finally I have found the culprit. After the big Windows update previous week, my Win 10 soon failed to function properly. Because I ran Blackbird very shortly after this update, I expected the problems had been caused by Blackbird not being adapted to the new, updated Windows. So I commanded Blackbird -r, and rebooted. The problems were still there!! Actually, they even got worse and worse, so I was forced to update or remove various programs, in order to narrow the list of usual suspects. Luckily I didn't have to say goodbye to anyone at all; ALL the problems went away when I replaced Outpost 9.2 for Outpost 9.3 of April 28'th.

Problem solved. Blackbird is okay   :up:
and so is Outpost 9.3

----
PS:

It seems your Blackbird doesn't disable Runtime Broker. I think it should, because it's contacting Microsoft Store.
Maybe read our thread: What is Runtime Broker, and Why is it working so pathetically bad?
« Last Edit: May 27, 2016, 02:53:07 AM by Curt »

Blackbird Dev

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Get Blackbird
    • Donate to Member
Re: Anyone using Blackbird?
« Reply #52 on: May 07, 2016, 04:53:18 PM »
Happy you got everything working!  :)
Was just about to release a new version but this Runtime Broker business piqued my interest.
Seems to be a core part of Metro/UWP apps but I could make a switch in Blackbird to turn it off.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Anyone using Blackbird?
« Reply #53 on: May 08, 2016, 02:55:21 PM »
For this reason I do not install updates to the OS unless I have a specific problem and find an update that fixes it.  The only exception I make is service packs.  At least there is some effort to test after installing the service pack to see that all the fixes play together nicely.  With weekly bundles of updates there's no time for testing.
I can understand what leads people to do this - but missing out on security fixes? Ugh.
- carpe noctem

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Anyone using Blackbird?
« Reply #54 on: May 09, 2016, 07:00:35 AM »
For this reason I do not install updates to the OS unless I have a specific problem and find an update that fixes it.  The only exception I make is service packs.  At least there is some effort to test after installing the service pack to see that all the fixes play together nicely.  With weekly bundles of updates there's no time for testing.
I can understand what leads people to do this - but missing out on security fixes? Ugh.

I don't feel very secure if my system is broken and I have to waste several days tracking down the permutations.  Also trying to read the update descriptions, unless they changed something, is the biggest pita imaginable.  It seems to be designed to discourage knowing what you are putting on.  They want to do the thinking for you these days.

-

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Anyone using Blackbird?
« Reply #55 on: September 30, 2016, 04:51:45 AM »
..., all the MS culprits are back:

Quote from: blackbird 0.9.95
Blackbird does not currently support Redstone builds.


So, @Blackbird Dev, will there be the needed update?  :tellme:

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Anyone using Blackbird?
« Reply #56 on: October 13, 2016, 08:39:01 AM »
..., all the MS culprits are back:
Quote from: blackbird 0.9.95
Blackbird does not currently support Redstone builds.
So, @Blackbird Dev, will there be the needed update?

Quote from: info-at-getblackbird.net aka Blackbird Dev, Oct 13, 2016 10:34
Working on it daily. I'd say a week until release if everything goes as planned.
:up:

n8wachT

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2015
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • LinkList
    • Donate to Member
Re: Anyone using Blackbird?
« Reply #57 on: October 13, 2016, 12:59:26 PM »
BlackBird.

It would also have been a perfect name for a Twitter-client  8)

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Anyone using Blackbird?
« Reply #58 on: October 13, 2016, 04:03:28 PM »
or maybe a female nightwatch...

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,408
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Anyone using Blackbird?
« Reply #59 on: October 13, 2016, 06:41:57 PM »
BlackBird.

It would also have been a perfect name for a Twitter-client  8)

I think Cockatoo would be more on point.

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,477
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Anyone using Blackbird?
« Reply #60 on: October 13, 2016, 07:13:10 PM »
BlackBird.

It would also have been a perfect name for a Twitter-client  8)

I think Cockatoo would be more on point.

More like Galah  :P