Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • May 26, 2017, 10:03:43 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: The Keybase Filesystem  (Read 5082 times)

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,671
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Keybase Filesystem
« Reply #25 on: February 17, 2017, 05:52:43 PM »
Keybase updated itself today and now I'm stuck on the loading screen again...

Mine did also, but it worked flawlessly.  I'm going to try on my other machine, because it didn't autoupdate, and see if I get the same results.

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,902
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Keybase Filesystem
« Reply #26 on: March 03, 2017, 01:17:50 AM »
Keybase updated itself today and now I'm stuck on the loading screen again...

Mine did also, but it worked flawlessly.  I'm going to try on my other machine, because it didn't autoupdate, and see if I get the same results.

Mine wasn't as easily solved as last time. In fact, it's still unresolved after completely uninstalling Keybase and deleting all the folders it stores data in and rebooting before reinstalling it.

More details here: https://github.com/k...e/client/issues/5917

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,170
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Keybase Filesystem
« Reply #27 on: March 03, 2017, 05:43:47 AM »
No problems here with auto-update here either (Win 10). After reading the GitHub thread, how do you uninstall? While a lot of software does uninstall itself relatively well, most software doesn't, even when using the 'Programs and Features' in the control panel.

Seriously, use a tool like Revo Uninstaller Pro (free an commercial license available, can be used as a portable app) or similar software and see for yourself how badly most software uninstalls itself. I started to use this type of software after unsuccessfully trying to re-install Oracle (XE) software for hours. One time uninstalling it with Revo (in my case) and re-install worked the first time around. Since then, the portable app version of Revo has been part of my toolkit since and don't even bother trying to uninstall any software without it anymore.

The Revo software creates a system restore point first, then starts the official uninstaller that comes with the software and when that is finished, it asks you how extensively it should look for remainders in registry and file-system. Personally, I always use the most extensive option. After a while (depending on size of your registry and available computer resources) the registry is searched through and you get a list of entries that can be removed safely, then a similar procedure starts for the file-system. Only then you have properly uninstalled software and you have seen for yourself how badly software behaves with their standard uninstaller.

Just saying.

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,671
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Keybase Filesystem
« Reply #28 on: March 03, 2017, 10:38:39 AM »
No problem with the auto-update on either of my machines (both Windows 10).

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,902
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Keybase Filesystem
« Reply #29 on: March 03, 2017, 04:04:26 PM »
Seriously, use a tool like Revo Uninstaller Pro

I just tried using Revo. After the uninstaller finished, there were 3 remaining entries in the registry, and the two directories I had previously manually deleted the last time I tried it. So while it certainly did leave something behind, I wouldn't exactly call that badly behaved uninstaller, especially since with something like Keybase where private keys are concerned, you wouldn't want the uninstaller to delete those.

I rebooted and reinstalled Keybase. Same loading screen problem. :(
« Last Edit: March 03, 2017, 04:09:35 PM by Deozaan »

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,170
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Keybase Filesystem
« Reply #30 on: March 03, 2017, 06:18:06 PM »
How are those keys generated in keybase?  It could be the case that such keys can be regenerated if the persons behind keybase use the unique values that occur in your system, such as the code of how the HD registers itself in Windows (not type/model number, it is quite a long and unique code), MAC address(es) of your NIC(s), user account that is used for installation, your keybase username/password etc. 

All of those are indicators that you are still you and you are using the same system, so the base of trust is still there. With that in mind I can imagine keys could be regenerated. Though it would be better that you ask the people behind keybase if keys can be regenerated. Or perhaps their FAQ will tell you.

Myself, I am a proponent of wiping everything clean when removing software using Revo. Usually, the bigger the name of the software suite you want to remove, the amount of registry entries and files they leave behind is bigger too. That Oracle XE story, Revo removed over 100 file and entries. Adobe and MS Office are also messy.

After seeing that I began to use and appreciate portable software so much more...

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,902
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Keybase Filesystem
« Reply #31 on: March 03, 2017, 09:03:00 PM »
I think I was unclear: I already made a backup of my Keybase keys, so I had Revo get rid of everything that was left behind by the uninstaller. But Keybase still isn't working for me after reinstalling. :(

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,170
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Keybase Filesystem
« Reply #32 on: March 04, 2017, 07:13:28 AM »
Assuming that Keybase is showing you the loading screen while it tries to establish the connection in the background...perhaps the train of thought is too simple, but did you install something lately that might conflict with the port Keybase uses to establish the connection?

For example: if I want to start a test web server on my Windows machine, I need to kill Skype first, because it hogs either port 80 or port 443. After the test server started up, I can start Skype back up again and both tools work without any problems.

Something similar could happen on your system.

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,902
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Keybase Filesystem
« Reply #33 on: March 04, 2017, 01:38:03 PM »
I've wondered if maybe there is a connection being blocked by my ad blocker. But according to the Github issue I linked earlier, it seems to be a lack of write access to the directory that is causing the problems.

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,671
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Keybase Filesystem
« Reply #34 on: March 04, 2017, 02:42:29 PM »
I've wondered if maybe there is a connection being blocked by my ad blocker. But according to the Github issue I linked earlier, it seems to be a lack of write access to the directory that is causing the problems.


Do you know the directory in question?

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,902
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Keybase Filesystem
« Reply #35 on: March 04, 2017, 03:26:12 PM »
I've wondered if maybe there is a connection being blocked by my ad blocker. But according to the Github issue I linked earlier, it seems to be a lack of write access to the directory that is causing the problems.
Do you know the directory in question?

Yes. All the details are there in the Github issue I linked. It's my AppData/Local/Keybase folder.

And actually I probably misspoke. It doesn't have a problem writing other files to that directory. In fact there were over 50k files written to that directory, because every time it tried to write to a specific file in that folder, and it couldn't, it would instead write it to a unique temporary file. So I guess it's not a lack of directory write access, but it seems to be having trouble reading/writing one (or a few) specific file(s).

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,170
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Keybase Filesystem
« Reply #36 on: March 04, 2017, 09:04:31 PM »
The reason I mentioned ports being blocked, I now have the same problem as you do. And the only thing that happened between a working keybase system and the current situation is a power failure. I leave that system running at night as it performing a time-consuming task, but in the morning I found it was off. Rebooting the PC wasn't a problem, but it looks like it isn't able to log into keybase. After I checked back in 15-20 minutes or so, the loading screen was gone.

Trying to login again using the tray icon results in the same loading screen, which takes the same amount of time to disappear again.

This is what the keybase application log looks like on my system:
Clipboard01.pngThe Keybase Filesystem

And these entries look more like connection problems to me.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2017, 09:16:24 PM by Shades »