Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 28, 2016, 05:16:08 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Is there a way to get start menu program sub tasks to appear at FARR?  (Read 941 times)

yogaf

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member

Windows-7-Start-Menu.jpgIs there a way to get  start menu program sub tasks to appear at FARR?
like the recent/frequnet on the image
It's more useful with other programs like chrome - show recent web pages and winscp - stored sessions

zircle

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is there a way to get start menu program sub tasks to appear at FARR?
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2015, 03:06:47 AM »
Yes, this is somewhat doable... at least I think. I'll see if I have time over the holidays to whip up something magical.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,262
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is there a way to get start menu program sub tasks to appear at FARR?
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2015, 03:12:24 AM »
Zircle, I'm not 100% sure what you are asking, but your latest reply sounds intriguing!  Tell us what you have in mind (or email me directly, mouser@donationcoder.com).  Perhaps you are considering a FARR plugin/alias that could be a NANY 2016 release? http://www.donationc...ndex.php?board=323.0

yogaf

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is there a way to get start menu program sub tasks to appear at FARR?
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2015, 03:20:50 AM »
That's awesome, glad I brought it up.
BTW for NANY nothing can beat bible command line   ;D ;D ;D

zircle

  • Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is there a way to get start menu program sub tasks to appear at FARR?
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2015, 05:05:01 PM »
Turns out someone beat me to it 7 years ago. It has exactly the features you are looking for:

http://www.donationc....msg119153#msg119153

yogaf

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is there a way to get start menu program sub tasks to appear at FARR?
« Reply #5 on: December 25, 2015, 01:22:15 AM »
Thank you for taking the time and looking into it zircle, but MRU is not what I'm looking for.
MRU plugin just showing most recent files but I think it was created before windows 7 launched and before the "custom" start menu actions were out.
I'm looking for a way to show the Application specific "custom" actions.
I'll add some screenshots to illustrate. 

yogaf

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Is there a way to get start menu program sub tasks to appear at FARR?
« Reply #6 on: December 25, 2015, 01:29:58 AM »
Oh, finally found the term I was looking for - "Jump lists" http://www.techrepub...s-7-with-these-tips/
I want to display apps jump lists in FAAR