Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 30, 2016, 08:27:29 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: how to add FARR to file explorer context menu  (Read 1128 times)

wjamoe

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
how to add FARR to file explorer context menu
« on: November 28, 2015, 09:45:29 AM »
Would you like to be able to start FARR from the context menu (right-mouse click) within a file explorer like TotalCommander/xyplorer/...

For advanced users !

1. run regedit (XP)
2. find HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\ in regedit
3. add key called FARR folder
4. within FARR add a key called command
5. then modify the standard field of command into the string below **please read remark below**

     "c:\filemngr\farr portable\findandrunrobot.exe" -search "%1"

     REMARK replace  c:\filemngr\farr portable\ with the path on your computer where you installed find and run robot
6. close regedit.
7. right click on a folder in for instance TotalCommander and select FARR folder option
8. FARR will appear with the name of the folder in the search field.

---
Alternatively
1. you can create a textfile with a registry entry e.g. folder_farr_context.reg containing:

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\FARR folder\command]
@="\"c:\\filemngr\\farr portable\\findandrunrobot.exe\" -search \"%1\""


Please note remark above. Extra warning use double back slashes.
2. then double click on the .reg file

--- update 1
Similar context menu for files instead of folders

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\FARR file\command]
@="\"c:\\filemngr\\farr portable\\FindAndRunRobot.exe\" -search \"%1\""

--- update 2
You can add a space at the end "%1 " instead of "%1" to replicate farr's behaviour when pressing cursor right in directory searching mode.
----
There might be shorter ways to do this, if so please leave your comments below.
----
enjoy :D
« Last Edit: December 12, 2015, 07:42:00 AM by wjamoe »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,270
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to add FARR to file explorer context menu
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2015, 09:56:13 AM »
thanks for sharing that!!

wjamoe

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to add FARR to file explorer context menu
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2015, 12:42:07 PM »
Mouser,

something is in error, functionality worked almost as described however

1. the folder appears in a second farr window?

any ideas?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,270
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to add FARR to file explorer context menu
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2015, 01:34:19 PM »
are you saying 2 copies of farr end up running?

are you sure both copies are FARR are located in same directory?

wjamoe

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to add FARR to file explorer context menu
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2015, 01:55:00 PM »
Yes, they are from the same folder
See also below in the screendump
both FARRs running fdebug (from another post)

farrdir variable value is equal to the other FARR's value

two farrs same folder.jpghow to add FARR to file explorer context menu

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,270
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to add FARR to file explorer context menu
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2015, 01:55:38 PM »
ok let me look into it and try to fix it, there's no reason it should be launching a second copy.
remind me what OS you are using.

wjamoe

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to add FARR to file explorer context menu
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2015, 02:23:48 PM »
Mouser, thanks for looking into it.

Above is on XP SP3, but it also happens on Win8. I can also check on my Win10 laptop if you want.

Some additional info:
- when invoking FARR multiple times using the new context menu item the total number of FARR's remains at 2.
- when you press a toolbar button on the 2nd/newest FARR, the other (older) FARR will popup and execute the selected command.
- I tried adding -exitifnotrunning to the command in the registry, but then FARR with the folder name stays open for less than a second :(
« Last Edit: November 29, 2015, 01:42:21 PM by wjamoe »

wjamoe

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: how to add FARR to file explorer context menu
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2015, 02:30:51 PM »
If you want FARR file in the context menu for every type of file (*)
then add the following 2 keys/nodes to the registry

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\Farr file\command]
@="\"c:\\filemngr\\farr portable\\FindAndRunRobot.exe\" -search \"%1\""

For more detailed instructions see first post  ;)
« Last Edit: November 28, 2015, 03:07:36 PM by wjamoe »