Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 01:53:50 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Using FARR to open website in different locations?  (Read 1313 times)

You4eea

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Using FARR to open website in different locations?
« on: November 11, 2015, 01:39:53 PM »
I have websites that I access at different URL's and different pages on those URL's all the time.
For example: (I will use a wordpress site as my example.)
www.example.com - Homepage
www.example.com/wp-login.php - login page

What I would like to be able to do the following:

1) hit the [break] key -> then start typing "clients" [space] example.com [space] home

and for the login page

2) hit the [break] key -> then start typing "clients" [space] example.com [space] login

Is this possible?

I have figured out how to do just the "clients" [space] example.com
But not how to add the login or home part.

Thanks.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Using FARR to open website in different locations?
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2015, 01:57:32 PM »
You can do it fairly easily, in several different ways.

Am I correct in assuming you purposefully want to be able to type whatever url pattern you want for the "example.com" and have it work on any such site, and you plan to have dozens of them?

In that case you could make one regex aliases that matched on like "clients (.*) (.*)"

So for example:
Screenshot - 11_11_2015 , 1_56_15 PM.png

That will work because the second phrase you type will filter out the result you want.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Using FARR to open website in different locations?
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2015, 01:58:33 PM »
Now another way you could do it is create TWO aliases, one matching regex "clients (.+) home" and one matching "clients (.+) login"
each containing one of the two results i've listed in the previous alias.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Using FARR to open website in different locations?
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2015, 02:02:25 PM »
And yet another way if you only have only a handful of such sites and dont need it to work on arbitrary urls, would be to make one alias called simply "clients" with no regex and in that alias put all of the urls of all of your sites, like:
Screenshot - 11_11_2015 , 2_00_41 PM.png

Now when you type "clients" you would see a list of ALL urls, but as you typed more you would filter/restrict the list, so if you typed "clients examp" you would see the two example links, and if you typed "clients ex log" you would see only the clients examples.com login result:
Screenshot - 11_11_2015 , 2_04_04 PM.png
Screenshot - 11_11_2015 , 2_04_29 PM.png

This works because farr will automatically filter multiple results based on what you type.

You4eea

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Using FARR to open website in different locations?
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2015, 10:06:42 PM »
WOW... Mouser... You are a god!...

That is awesome... Thanks! I'll give it a try and report back.

You4eea

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Using FARR to open website in different locations?
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2015, 10:21:16 PM »
Both work, is it possible to do the following, please excuse my bad explanation.

When using the last suggestion, were just putting them all in as such:
www.example.com
www.example.com/wp-login.php
www.donationcoder.com
www.donationcoder.com/wp-login.php
and letter FARR filter.

When I start typing the word cli and hit [tab] it fills in the rest of the word, but not when I start typing the domain name, if I start typing exa and hit [tab] FARR blinks and I am left with just the term "clients" in FARR. I would like to do tab complete for the domain name, and then type home or login and hit tab to complete the term and hit enter. much like a linux terminal..

is this possible?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Using FARR to open website in different locations?
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2015, 03:54:12 AM »
Quote
When I start typing the word cli and hit [tab] it fills in the rest of the word, but not when I start typing the domain name, if I start typing exa and hit [tab] FARR blinks and I am left with just the term "clients" in FARR. I would like to do tab complete for the domain name, and then type home or login and hit tab to complete the term and hit enter. much like a linux terminal..
...is this possible?

it's not currently possible to do what you want -- FARR doesn't use tab to autocomplete like that -- though it's an interesting idea to consider.

however, in your example the important thing to note is that there is no need to autocomplete at all, instead just type:
"cli[tab] exa log"

that works because farr is filtering as you type on each partial word typed after the alias name.  there is no need to autocomplete the domain name or other words.

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,139
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Using FARR to open website in different locations?
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2015, 09:09:47 AM »
Not sure whether this is precisely what is required, but I thought I should mention that one can generally do this sort of thing with the Awesome Bar in Firefox, after setting it to look in Bookmarks and History.
The Awesome Bar will search for URLs with any relevant terms, Bookmarks and Keywords you throw at it.
For example:

Firefox Awesome Bar - search for URLs with terms, Bookmarks and Keyword.png

You4eea

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Using FARR to open website in different locations?
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2015, 11:40:32 AM »
Thanks Mouser, that works as well.. thanks
That keeps is simple and easy to manage.. My regex skills are very weak, so this works perfectly.

Thanks