Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 10:23:27 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Taskbar and windows 8.1  (Read 3565 times)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Taskbar and windows 8.1
« on: July 14, 2015, 01:34:40 PM »
I am having problems with this :
I use a three heights taskbar usually and some apps windows appear in part under the taskbar doing difficult select options.

And the worst for me . I am not being able to diminished the size of that window.

What can i do to solve this ?

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2015, 01:43:51 PM »
This utility should do it for you:
http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=41216.0

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2015, 01:48:29 PM »
Or without installing anything.. if you have Snap enabled press Winkey Left Arrow.  That should put the window inside the work area on the left half of the screen.  Then you can get the mouse to the corner.

Alternatively set Taskbar AutoHide to enabled(which I don't like either.  But it's an option.)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2015, 02:10:03 PM »
Set the taskbar to autohide?


EDIT// I see Miles has that covered already :up:
Tom

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2015, 02:51:18 PM »
Set the taskbar to autohide?


EDIT// I see Miles has that covered already :up:

Great minds think alike.  :)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2015, 03:05:41 PM »
Or without installing anything.. if you have Snap enabled press Winkey Left Arrow.  That should put the window inside the work area on the left half of the screen.  Then you can get the mouse to the corner.

Alternatively set Taskbar AutoHide to enabled(which I don't like either.  But it's an option.)


During years I don't like to autohide the tasbar. But I am doing now.
The window in my monitor don't redimension with winkey+left arrow or similar
I have tried too window tracer, but really don't understand the script.
How can i do with the program.
Even i can't understand the video in the link

Best Regards

Any other tool ?

 :-[

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2015, 03:06:42 PM »
Set the taskbar to autohide?


EDIT// I see Miles has that covered already :up:

I am obliged to use the option autohide, but i would like other answers

Best Regards
 :-\

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2015, 03:08:54 PM »
I can't understand this :
"
How it works: This script operates on the active window. Hold down the configured modifier key (default: xbutton1, the "back" button on many mice) and click the left mouse button. While still holding both the left mouse button and the modifier down, move your mouse anywhere, and let go of the left mouse button, then the modifier. The point at which you clicked the left mouse button is the new top left coordinate of the active window, and the point you let go of the button is the new bottom right coordinate (or the other way around, depending on which way you moved the mouse relative to the window's previous coordinates). In short- you both resize and move the window in one swift action. Trace windows into empty spaces of your desktop! Have a lot of windows open across multiple monitors and you can't easily tell where the window you just alt tabbed to is? Trace it into view!"


My mouse have two buttons and a wheel
Pressing the wheel is assigned to othe task at the present moment....


Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2015, 03:19:11 PM »
It's terrible. Even some windows when are maximized don't allow the taskbar to return.....

 :o

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2015, 03:21:35 PM »

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2015, 03:23:52 PM »
Maybe not install new programs for this just yet. Your taskbar looks like shit, and you say WinKey+Left_Arrow doesn't work. I think you should fix these two problems, before you do anything else.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2015, 03:40:05 PM »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2015, 03:40:18 PM »
lol, ^ that's^ a bit harsh Curt, even if I wouldnt go for that style of taskbar myself either...


@Contro,
trying to use a taskbar of that height, on a laptop with 1366x768 is not realistic, in my opinion. I think it would be impossible to avoid problems with it.
Would you consider putting your taskbar on the side, if you really want to have it always on display (I havent done this myself so dont know how well it works on Windows 8).
Tom

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #13 on: July 14, 2015, 04:19:33 PM »
@Contro,
trying to use a taskbar of that height, on a laptop with 1366x768 is not realistic, in my opinion. I think it would be impossible to avoid problems with it.
Would you consider putting your taskbar on the side, if you really want to have it always on display (I havent done this myself so dont know how well it works on Windows 8).

I am using a triple height taskbar myself.  Works fine.  The issue I could see would be programs with a non-sizable window that expect to have more height to work with.  But I haven't run into one of those in some time.

In fact MoveIt should get the window small enough to get at the edges to resize it.  I changed it so you can hold down the middle mouse button anywhere on a window.  It does not have to be on caption bar anymore.

Contro get the newest MoveIt and hold down middle mouse button on a window and press the letter 'c' to resize inside the Work Area.  Disable Taskbar AutoHide is needed for MoveIt to get the work area size(which is what you use anyway like me.)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #14 on: July 14, 2015, 04:35:39 PM »
Maybe not install new programs for this just yet. Your taskbar looks like shit, and you say WinKey+Left_Arrow doesn't work. I think you should fix these two problems, before you do anything else.


Oh so. My system is new. The portatile is new. Under windows 7 in my old portatile no problem with the taskbar size 3

At least one time i have a fucking shit problem with such conditions....

Best Regards
 ;D

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #15 on: July 14, 2015, 04:42:10 PM »
lol, ^ that's^ a bit harsh Curt, even if I wouldnt go for that style of taskbar myself either...


@Contro,
trying to use a taskbar of that height, on a laptop with 1366x768 is not realistic, in my opinion. I think it would be impossible to avoid problems with it.
Would you consider putting your taskbar on the side, if you really want to have it always on display (I havent done this myself so dont know how well it works on Windows 8).

I am trying to adapt to the new situation with a sliding taskbar appearing and dissapearing.

I use several programs with this window problem. Acronis and autocad have problems.
 :-\


Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #16 on: July 14, 2015, 04:44:14 PM »
@Contro,
trying to use a taskbar of that height, on a laptop with 1366x768 is not realistic, in my opinion. I think it would be impossible to avoid problems with it.
Would you consider putting your taskbar on the side, if you really want to have it always on display (I havent done this myself so dont know how well it works on Windows 8).

I am using a triple height taskbar myself.  Works fine.  The issue I could see would be programs with a non-sizable window that expect to have more height to work with.  But I haven't run into one of those in some time.

In fact MoveIt should get the window small enough to get at the edges to resize it.  I changed it so you can hold down the middle mouse button anywhere on a window.  It does not have to be on caption bar anymore.

Contro get the newest MoveIt and hold down middle mouse button on a window and press the letter 'c' to resize inside the Work Area.  Disable Taskbar AutoHide is needed for MoveIt to get the work area size(which is what you use anyway like me.)


Thanks a lot Miles.

But the central wheel pressure is for launch my main program : Goldmine.

Sure is configurable, but I would like to know if these windows are scalable because seems only prepared for one size and not sizeable.

Best Regards
 :-*

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #17 on: July 14, 2015, 04:48:25 PM »
Sure is configurable, but I would like to know if these windows are scalable because seems only prepared for one size and not sizeable.

You can also Winkey left click, then press a letter such as 'c' anywhere on the window.
Click on the MoveIt tray icon once for About Box with the hotkeys.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #18 on: July 14, 2015, 04:52:15 PM »
Miles I don't see clear.
Is able moveit of re-scale a window ?
Because the problem is with windows than in the selected resolution are very big i think...

 :-[

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #19 on: July 14, 2015, 05:03:32 PM »
Miles I don't see clear.
Is able moveit of re-scale a window ?
Because the problem is with windows than in the selected resolution are very big i think...

 :-[

Please just try Winkey click l on a window and see if it snaps to the left half of the desktop.  If not then it doesn't work. If yes then you can manually resize it.  You can click anywhere on the window to change the size if the window is resizable.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #20 on: July 14, 2015, 06:37:07 PM »
With acronis seems difficult...

I apply winkey+left click+c and the windows change

the screenshots

Finally i fix the taskbar , but then i lose the head of the acronis window

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #21 on: July 14, 2015, 06:48:05 PM »
It's an option Miles
I can control that window minimizing all or something
I have not a keen eye, so this configuration is worst for me... I say minimal icons in the taskbar....
 :-[
« Last Edit: July 14, 2015, 06:55:14 PM by Contro »

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #22 on: July 14, 2015, 06:59:40 PM »
With small buttons works fine.
Is more sthetical too, but i prefer see well. So I will mantain probably the big ones.
In windows 7 i have three lines, but with small icons...
Some icons don't help me to give good appearance.... simple letters to remember , animals icons....
I know i know, but .....
 :tellme:

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #23 on: July 15, 2015, 06:58:13 AM »
With small buttons works fine.
Is more sthetical too, but i prefer see well. So I will mantain probably the big ones.
In windows 7 i have three lines, but with small icons...
Some icons don't help me to give good appearance.... simple letters to remember , animals icons....
I know i know, but .....
 :tellme:

On Windows 7 you could try 7Stacks

I made categories of shortcuts.  You can have the stack expand as a curved line or as a rectangle.  The only issue I had was sometimes an icon would turn to a plain paper icon.  This is a Windows 7 problem.  But I got around it by storing a custom icon in a folder and selecting it for Custom Icon in the stack.

The original web site is not responding right now.  But you can still download it from softpedia using their link.

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Taskbar and windows 8.1
« Reply #24 on: July 21, 2015, 08:01:15 PM »
Miles, 7stacks works even better in windows 8.1
I am using from windows 7.
Several of my icons are groups : M multimeda , O Office, T Tech, etc.
 :-*