Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 04:27:51 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax  (Read 4064 times)

jo17000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« on: May 07, 2015, 03:32:53 PM »
Hi everybody
Even after reading posts about the syntax to apply to have Frameless open fullscreen, or with coordonates, ...
I still can't write correctly the parameters I wish... Yes, it is some kind of shame... as this seem so simple.
So please forgive my question, and if someone could explain it to me just like to his (her) grandpa (who I am)
it would be great.
Usually, when there is some parameters... they are meant to be written ar the end of the target line in the properties of the shortcut to the programm, in windows.
I DID try with quotes, without quotes... nothing is working ! Always errors syntax : ARGUMENT... Array...
Are those parameters aplyable only for a single picture (file) ?
In my mind, it was rather for the programm itself, to tell him how to manage the file...
I do like the spirit of this programm, but I'm not aprogrammer (!), no computing studies... and it's a real shame for me not to be able to manage simple things !
So... please help !
JO
« Last Edit: May 07, 2015, 05:51:38 PM by mouser, Reason: changed subject »

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,778
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2015, 04:02:16 PM »
What have you tried so far, that didn't work? (examples please)

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,713
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2015, 04:06:35 PM »
And please let us know which program you're talking about.

EDIT: I think he's talking about Frameless.

Website here: http://skwire.dcmemb...ftware/frameless.php

Maybe this will help:

The command needs to be all on the same line:

"C:\Documents and Settings\Pilgrim\My Documents\Received Files\Frameless\Frameless.exe" "C:\Documents and Settings\Pilgrim\My Documents\Received Files\001_screenshot_1.jpg" 100 100


jo17000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2015, 04:14:18 PM »
Well... as usually (not often and not enough obviously) I opened the properties of the shortcut to the programm Frameless,
and modified the line "target", adding the parameters I wish, as described in the Help, like : fullscreen=yes.
My syntax is like that :
C:\Portable\Frameless\Frameless.exe fullscreen=yes
With quotes or not, it doesn't work here under my fingers ;-)
Thanks for your attention.

jo17000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2015, 04:20:02 PM »
And please let us know which program you're talking about.

EDIT: I think he's talking about Frameless.

Website here: http://skwire.dcmemb...ftware/frameless.php

Maybe this will help:

The command needs to be all on the same line:

"C:\Documents and Settings\Pilgrim\My Documents\Received Files\Frameless\Frameless.exe" "C:\Documents and Settings\Pilgrim\My Documents\Received Files\001_screenshot_1.jpg" 100 100
Yes, it's about Frameless, I realized that my question could be about any programm...
Thank you for the command you show.
It seems to be about the parameters for only one file, but I am trying to give good parameters to the programm itself, to open whatever file with always the same parameters... for each file opened.
Hoping to be clear enough, I thank you for helping.

jo17000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2015, 04:32:35 PM »
What have you tried so far, that didn't work? (examples please)
Sorry, I didn't quote your question... but I did answer !
Thanks for helping... I know I just miss something simple, basic.

jo17000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2015, 05:37:49 PM »
Thanks for your interest  :-\

jo17000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2015, 05:13:33 AM »
First attempt to post images:

This is what I tried:

1.png

And this is what I get :

2.png

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,277
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2015, 06:02:54 AM »
Thanks for your interest  :-\


What Windows are you running and what GPU do you have?

(I ask because if it is Windows 7 it is noted for being uncooperative for full screen.  One solution I saw was for Intel graphics to set scaling setting to "full screen." )

jo17000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2015, 07:36:18 AM »
Thanks for your interest  :-\


What Windows are you running and what GPU do you have?

(I ask because if it is Windows 7 it is noted for being uncooperative for full screen.  One solution I saw was for Intel graphics to set scaling setting to "full screen." )

Win seven 64 with ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3650 (Toshiba) Video Adapter.
But what I have tried was not to have fullscreen.

jo17000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2015, 06:45:20 AM »
Nobody here to tell me what am I doing wrong ?  :huh:

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,778
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2015, 07:18:14 AM »
Assuming you are using the latest version, we'll have to await Skwire's response as he has the sourcecode. So far I can't see you've done anything wrong in that command-line.

Possible external causes:
- The png file could be malformed or in-use by another program (preview?)
- Your AV is interfering with frameless
- There could be a permission issue with either the exe or the png file

jo17000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2015, 07:35:30 AM »
Assuming you are using the latest version, we'll have to await Skwire's response as he has the sourcecode. So far I can't see you've done anything wrong in that command-line.

Possible external causes:
- The png file could be malformed or in-use by another program (preview?)
- Your AV is interfering with frameless
- There could be a permission issue with either the exe or the png file

Thanks for helping...
... but yes, I have the last v1.1.7
... I have no AV running (firewall yes!)
... the UAC is disabled
... and the png not in use elswhere and completly "regular" (i also tried this with a jpg)  :'(

The good point is that my line of parameters appears to be ok  ;)
Hope Skwire will be able to help !


skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,664
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2015, 07:39:47 AM »
Hi, jo17000.  I tested out your parameters string and it works fine for me.  As a test, what happens if you drag and drop that Flower.png onto the Frameless.exe file?

jo17000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2015, 08:10:07 AM »
Everything works fine when a picture is dropped on the sortcut (without parameters !) or on the programm itself:
the picture is nicely displayed without frame, very classy !

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,664
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2015, 08:40:39 AM »
Okay, that's good.  Now, create a shortcut and add the parameters, one at a time, starting with the path to the Flower.png file.  If the path has spaces, make sure to use double-quotes around the entire path.  Try to avoid copy/pasting as it can introduce stray characters such as tabs, carriage returns, and linefeeds.

jo17000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2015, 08:58:46 AM »
Okay, that's good.  Now, create a shortcut and add the parameters, one at a time, starting with the path to the Flower.png file.  If the path has spaces, make sure to use double-quotes around the entire path.  Try to avoid copy/pasting as it can introduce stray characters such as tabs, carriage returns, and linefeeds.
This is where I needed a deeper help...
But I think I understood !
After having added the path to my image on the frameless shortcut, I have to dble-click the shortcut and NOT drop the image on the shortcut ! (what I did before) Waooo !
So far, I can open my image this way... I have now to try all those parameters !
(at least, one is working : duration=hh:mm:ss  :P )
I don't know how you did... but you managed me to find the solution almost by my way. That's teaching !
Thank you for the help and for your nice programm !
Jo

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,664
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2015, 10:08:04 AM »
But I think I understood !
After having added the path to my image on the frameless shortcut, I have to dble-click the shortcut and NOT drop the image on the shortcut !

Yep, you understand it perfectly now.   :Thmbsup:

Thank you for the help and for your nice programm !

You're very welcome.  I'm glad we were able to figure it out.   :)

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,778
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2015, 11:08:15 AM »
I have to dble-click the shortcut and NOT drop the image on the shortcut ! (what I did before) Waooo !
I didn't see that one coming :o you never talked about drag&drop of an image file in this thread...

jo17000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2015, 11:46:50 AM »
I have to dble-click the shortcut and NOT drop the image on the shortcut ! (what I did before) Waooo !
I didn't see that one coming :o you never talked about drag&drop of an image file in this thread...
That's true, but this is the main use of this programm (except if you want to use some parameters) isn't it ?  :tellme:
If you want to use it "right of the box", well, drag and drop is the only way... It's not an editor that you open first (to browse or edit your pictures).
It was obvious for me to use Frameless the same way with or without parameters... I was wrong  :D
Thanks to all.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,277
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Frameless.exe: program usage syntax
« Reply #20 on: May 10, 2015, 01:30:52 PM »
I believe if you want to use a program via SendTo or OpenWith that opens a file from the command line you need to put the filename param as the last one.  Windows will stick "%1" after a space at the end of the shortcut target line and replace it with the file path right clicked.  That is if you want to fill in an unknown number of switches in the shortcut target line.