Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 29, 2016, 10:15:46 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??  (Read 2826 times)

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« on: November 16, 2014, 08:18:30 PM »
So MBAM...good program.  But lately, it keeps auto-starting with Windows, and I have all the auto-start options turned off:
In MBAM settings, i have the start with windows UNCHECKED.
I checked with Winpatrol, and there are no MBAM entries in startup or otherwise.

How is it able to keep auto-starting??

TaoPhoenix

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 4,548
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2014, 08:51:49 PM »

Heh ironically, unexplained behavior is not something you want a malware fighting program doing!


ilikefree09

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
    • Free Software And Guides
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2014, 02:24:23 AM »
Did you forget to uncheck the option to try the pro version when you installed it. That runs on windows start and is the last window you see when installing
shit doesn't just happen there's always an arsehole involved

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2014, 09:53:30 AM »
Did you forget to uncheck the option to try the pro version when you installed it. That runs on windows start and is the last window you see when installing
I have no idea.  I guess I have to uninstall/reinstall.  Not cool MBAM!!  :down:

TaoPhoenix

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 4,548
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2014, 10:45:09 AM »
Did you forget to uncheck the option to try the pro version when you installed it. That runs on windows start and is the last window you see when installing
I have no idea.  I guess I have to uninstall/reinstall.  Not cool MBAM!!  :down:

Heh

(Douglas Hofstadter) Does it list itself as Malware? (/Douglas Hofstadter)
:P

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,251
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2014, 11:21:38 AM »
Why not make contact with the source?
Tom

TaoPhoenix

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 4,548
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2014, 11:44:31 AM »
Why not make contact with the source?

Heh it was just a silly joke. An Anti-Malware program that lists itself as Malware ...  So if it is  ... why should it exist?

:P

Douglas H. is the guy into self referential stuff : )


tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,251
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2014, 11:48:11 AM »
Why not make contact with the source?

Heh it was just a silly joke. An Anti-Malware program that lists itself as Malware ...  :P

Douglas H. is the guy into self referential stuff : )

might not be the first time even :D
but note that my comment was for Superboyac - that he ask MBAM directly (I could have made that clearer ;-])
Tom

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2014, 12:17:41 PM »
Why not make contact with the source?

Heh it was just a silly joke. An Anti-Malware program that lists itself as Malware ...  :P

Douglas H. is the guy into self referential stuff : )

might not be the first time even :D
but note that my comment was for Superboyac - that he ask MBAM directly (I could have made that clearer ;-])
MBAM told me she did it on purpose because I was flirting with SAS.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,251
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2014, 12:20:21 PM »
^ that's what you get (ya boyo) :p
Tom

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,163
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2014, 12:20:47 PM »
You could use AutoRuns or WinPatrol to find where it's being launched during startup.


AutoRuns is more comprehensive.  WinPatrol is easier and catches most of the startup stuff, but not all.


MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,163
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2014, 12:22:16 PM »

MBAM told me she did it on purpose because I was flirting with SAS.

It's okay to flirt with SAS.  just don't flirt with disaster.  :)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,251
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2014, 12:34:25 PM »
well under Windows 7 I'm still using Codestuff Starter for startup stuff (hasnt been updated in a while) -
it doesnt allow me to disable MBAM,
but it does show 3 x mbam exe's under Processes:

gui
scheduler
service


Then under Services there's the

Scheduler
Service
Tom

40hz

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 11,763
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: MBAM: how is it starting automatically with windows??
« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2014, 02:29:22 PM »
Malwarebytes suggests the following:

Quote
Posted 08 April 2014 - 04:21 AM

If you've disabled Malwarebytes Anti-Malware from starting with Windows but it still starts up please try the following.

Delete Autostart Entries Using Autoruns:

    Please download Sysinternals Autoruns from here and save it to your desktop.

 

If using the paid PREMIUM version of the product please make sure you also disable Self Protection.

    
  • Make sure you disable the program Self Protection if you've enabled it.
  • From Settings -> Advanced Settings -> uncheck the "Enable self-protection module" and close the program

    
  • On Windows Vista or Windows 7/8 Right-click over Autoruns.exe and select "Run as administrator"
  • On Windows XP Double-click Autoruns.exe to run it.
  • Now, in Autoruns, click on the Logon tab and look for any Malwarebytes Anti-Malware entries.
  • If you find one, right-click on it and select Delete then click Yes when asked to confirm. Once that is done, reboot your computer and see if Malwarebytes Anti-Malware still starts when you've set it not to do so.

For those curious, this happens because the old start-up entry for Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.75 is sometimes left behind in the registry after it has been uninstalled. Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0 does not use the registry to start with Windows, but this old entry may cause it to start.

Looks like Miles earlier suggestion to try to hunt it down with Autoruns is a good place to start. :Thmbsup: