Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 03:52:40 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: Want to play a game without putting the CD in place  (Read 4764 times)

manoamano

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: Want to play a game without putting the CD in place
« on: June 05, 2006, 05:36:31 AM »
I would appreciate a utility to fool my PC into thinking that A DRIVE NAME THAT I PROVIDE ( OR A MAPPED NETWORK DRIVE ) is actually my CD or DVD drive...
« Last Edit: June 06, 2006, 10:07:26 AM by brotherS »

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,969
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Want to play a game without putting the CD in place
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2006, 05:53:56 AM »
There are plenty of CD 'virtual' devices (eg. Nero's ImageDrive) where you can copy a CD to your hard disc (or network drive) and then mount the image so that it appears like a standard CD-ROM. I have used this effectively with programs that need the CD present - just make sure you install the software from the virtual CD so that it can easily find it in future.

There are a lot listed here http://www.google.co...amp;q=Virtual+CD-ROM some of which are free (though I haven't tried them).
« Last Edit: June 05, 2006, 05:55:37 AM by Carol Haynes »

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,969
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Want to play a game without putting the CD in place
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2006, 05:59:38 AM »
This one looks particulalry good - and answers my request for a virtual burner !!

http://www.virtualcd...ew/v8detail.cfm?lg=0

It does however cost 40 dollars/euro

wr975

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Want to play a game without putting the CD in place
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2006, 07:18:45 AM »
Quote
I would appreciate a utility to fool my PC into thinking that A DRIVE NAME THAT I PROVIDE ( OR A MAPPED NETWORK DRIVE ) is actually my CD or DVD drive...

For games this won't work. You can't copy the CD/DVD protection on your HDD. You'd have to create a image of this game cd/dvd using a tool like Alcohol 120% and mount it, but most new games won't start if they detect a virtual cd emulator installed, no matter if you actually mounted an image or not.

If you own the game, you can go to GameCopyWorld and download a "patch". That's what I do, because I don't like to insert DVDs just to start a game.

Eóin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,401
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Want to play a game without putting the CD in place
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2006, 07:51:14 AM »
There's always Daemon Tools.

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 711
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Donate to Member
Re: Want to play a game without putting the CD in place
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2006, 12:04:56 PM »
ooh ooh ooh, pick me, pick me!! Go ter cd free gaming powered by game jackal and download that bad boy, then when u install it, just right click on a shortcut to your game on ur desktop, and click turn into gamejackal profile, stick in ur cd, and omfg I'm playin my game with out a cd as soon as it creates the image in like (insert time required to load ur game and exit it, and pull out your cd and do what ever with it)...ok ill stop now, but if u want a good prog. game jackal is your cd free gaming choice. its like woah check it out man im copying me cd with me achohol 120%(how do u spell it)...your copying ur cd..yeah, it makes it easyer than actualy puting in the cd and scratching it...shoot i dont do that...u use ur cd's?...lol, no...how are u doing it than?...I use me handy dandy game jackal...well forget this big ol' cd image gimmie that der game jackal...ok gamejackal.com...sweet...sorry still hyper. ;D
[Insert really cool signature here]
« Last Edit: June 05, 2006, 12:10:54 PM by nite_monkey »

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Want to play a game without putting the CD in place
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2006, 01:08:20 PM »
gamejackal sounds great - will try with my next game. thanks for the link, nite_monkey.

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 711
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Want to play a game without putting the CD in place
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2006, 08:35:41 PM »
gamejackel is awsome, but you do have the problem wiht some games now working right, but a ton of games do
[Insert really cool signature here]

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 7,038
    • View Profile
    • Just for mouser.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Want to play a game without putting the CD in place
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2006, 11:39:44 PM »
If GameJackal doesn't work, GameCopyWorld.com should.


f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Want to play a game without putting the CD in place
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2006, 05:06:48 AM »
If GameJackal doesn't work, GameCopyWorld.com should.
Too bad you're then doing an illegal action in order to be able to play your games >_<
(I do that myself for the games I purchase, though - no way I'll allow starforce or securom drivers on my system).
- carpe noctem